It’s Marathon Week!!

Welp! This Saturday is it! My third marathon! I can’t wait!!! This week will be filled with nerves, excitement and mental preparation! I’ll be hydrating like crazy all week long and remaining on my best behavior! 🙂 WOO! CAN.NOT.WAIT! << I mostly can’t wait because I don’t love running in this heat that’s rapidly approaching and as soon as the marathon is over, I won’t need to run outside if I don’t want to! 🙂

So backing up a bit… This weekend was filled with lots of food and lots of activities, per the usual. Saturday morning at 5:30 am, I met up with a friend for a 10 mile run. It was POURING but we did it anyway! We saw tons of deer along the trail which was totally adorable.

20140419_070239

This is one of my favorite places to run because it’s full of rolling hills and is so majestic.

 20140419_070254

Right after I finished that, I met up with Mollz and some others with my man for a 5K in downtown.

 20140419_090308

 20140419_101714

The reward at the end was a free beer! Yep! WOOOOO!

 20140419_101747

And by then, I was starved, so naturally, I loaded up!

 20140419_110408

After resting up and running errands, my boyfriend and I went out to celebrate a special occasion and we absolutely indulged in an awesome dinner!

 20140419_202940

Yesterday was spent with more indulgences – a la Easter style! There were delicious treats everywhere and this girl didn’t hold back #yolo

 20140420_183431

 20140420_183849

What do you do to prepare during race week?

Will you run in the rain?

What’s your favorite post race meal?

24 thoughts on “It’s Marathon Week!!

  1. I love running in the rain actually! Ok not the aftermath of freezing cold and getting your house all wet but the run itself I feel invincible! I love your race outfit by the way so cute!

  2. carb loading is my favorite! my first time was before tough mudder so we ate like kings and it felt fab to eat all that food with no holds barred. good luck on the race. passports have not come yet and i’m panicking. i sent a request to the passport office for a status update; will let you guys know what’s the 411.

  3. Omg I can’t wait!!! This is so exciting, it’s finally here (well almost haha)!!! And can I just say, that jacket looks amazing on you????!!!! Love love love it!!! And that Easter cake, omg, #drooling. Looks like chocolately goodness! And I love running in the rain :D. I always find that my times are faster, I feel like it’s because I can’t feel anything haha.

  4. Totally keep up the hydration. It is so so key and throw in the hydrating fruits in addition to water. I always find that they help big time! I do run in the rain, just not windswept or torrential rains. Easter desserts look so yum!

  5. Why did I think this was your first marathon? haha ahh well, I’m a new reader can you tell? I LOVE your enthusiasm!! You are going to rock it girl!! Super excited for ya! Have a wonderful week!

  6. You cray, I melt if it’s raining. In fact I refuse to go outdoors. Made me a terrible employee since I legit only showed up when it was nice out. Okay I go outside when it’s raining but I am NOT happy about it.

    Good luck this week megsterrrrrrrr

  7. I don’t care about anything else–THOSE PRETZELS. Look so dang good. Also, I really hate running in the rain. Because then you get cold and wet and water gets into places you’ve never imagined and it’s just so uncomfortable… I’d much rather run double digits on the hamster wheel than run when it’s raining. (Which has unfortunately happened before…)

    Can’t wait to hear all about your race!!

  8. As long as it isn’t pouring rain for long periods of time, I like running in the rain. It’s refreshing 🙂 Yay for marathon week too girl!! So excited for you and can’t wait to hear how it goes! Rest up and eat lots of carbs 😀

  9. YOLO love it!! What was that cake? Looked amazing! You’re going to rock your marathon! I wish I could run in the rain, ever since I fell in the rain I am too scared. Have a great week pretty girl xoxo

  10. Your Brooks jacket is SO cute..I WANT! Also, I would be disappointed if you did hold back on those treats. I love cupcakes or any sugar after a race, I am the worst with refueling. HAHA! WHOOO SO CLOSE I can’t wait to read your recap!

  11. Ok it depends on the rain…storms, no, but light rain is amazing to run in. It’s so cleansing! Does that sound weird? haha. THAT SANDWICH. I love a good restaurant sandwich. So big, always crunchy, and 9 out of 10 times covered in cheese and served with fries. yum yum yum

  12. SATURDAY!!!!!! I am going to be thinking of you ALL MORNING LONG!! And pretty much all day because I am so curious as to what you might do after. If I were to run that long of a race, I would definitely need to EAT LOTS after – and then take a nap from eating too much! LOL! What a wayyyy to celebrate! 😉 #grandmagigi

  13. Eeep! Deer that’s so exciting to me (I’m in Australia and have never seen a deer). The scenery looks amazing! Those cupcakes do too. Have fun prepping for your marathon, and enjoy!

  14. That run looks GORGEOUS!! Like a fantasy land, I love it! You are so crazy for doing a long run and then racing a 5k!!! Superwoman!! You and your man are so cute, and that easter cake looks delicious!!!

  15. I just realized you’re doing the Country Music!! Nashville is my hometown and I’ll actually be in town this weekend for a wedding! I’ve done the RnR Country Music Half 3 times! You will LOVE the race…the first half will be hilly, but the second half is pretty flat!!

Speak your mind!

