Oh My Goodness!

Hi!!

Rather than share my weekend festivities today, I’m honing in on one event to brag about for the entire post.

If you saw on IG, then you already know and this post might bore you to tears… But I joined the sub-2 half marathon club yesterday!!!!! When should I expect my member’s only jacket to arrive??

20140323_063503

Ash, my running bestie, and our cheer squad all met at the butt crack of dawn for the race that started at 7 am.

 20140323_063527

My boyfriend is always with me and always supporting my running. I couldn’t do it without him.

 20140323_063558

BEK!! She was so super supportive getting up before 6 to cheer us on!!

20140323_063616

Ash and her girlfriend – seriously, we have the most supportive significant others and group of friends.

At around 6:55, Ash and I said bye to our lovers and Bek and headed to our corral. Our goal was sub 2:04 – that was a huge PR for both of us. Her last official half was a 2:15 and my last official half was 2:07. Either way, we were going to crush PR city.

20140323_070125

The race is a huge one, so there was a ton of crowding and we were rebellious and didn’t go to our assigned corral. We went up ahead of our assignment to find the 2 hour pace group as a way to stay on track throughout the race. This course is known for the rolling hills. You see how that last mile is totally uphill? Ugh. 🙂

Georgia_Half_Marathon_Elevation

That didn’t phase us, at all! We breezed right through the first 10 miles like it was nothing! Our cheer team eve drove out to mile 7 and surprised us with big race signs!

 IMG_3081

We were sticking with the 2 hour pace group and I was shocked. I intentionally did not wear my Garmin because I didn’t want to know my time until the end. BUT, like all big races, there were mile markers with the digital time showing for every mile. So, at mile 10, when I saw what the time was and saw how truly attainable sub 2 was, I almost cried right then and there. But I told myself to wait. But really, I feel like the race just flew by. I didn’t start struggling until the 10 mile marker where I started to rely heavily on Ash’s pacing to keep me moving.

 20140323_091335(0)

Once I crossed that finish line, I rushed to the bathroom (!!!) and then ran to my boyfriend and friends screaming sub 2! Mollie and Nadir were my support for the full last year and they were back again this year! I don’t think I can do this race without the two of them!

IMG_3602

Ash and I got separated after we crossed but when we met back up and realized what we had just accomplished, the waterworks came out in full force. I’ve never been so proud. Yep, I cried. But so did Ash!!!!

 20140323_091344

 20140323_091708(0)

There has been no better runner’s high than this.

 IMG_3090

…obviously. 🙂

 IMG_3096

I can’t even do justice to how amazing our friends/family/significant others were. They cheered for us, they supported us and they motivated us. There is no way I could ever fully put into words how much I need the support and how grateful I am to have it. Truly.

 IMG_3108

No one wants to wake up early on a Sunday morning and it takes a truly incredible group of people to do that so selflessly.

Best.Race.Ever. It just keeps getting better and better. I cannot believe that I had this in me. I didn’t think this time was attainable for at least a few more months.

I blame Ash, my running bestie. Together we are invincible and unstoppable when it comes to running!! So damn happy and proud of us. Goodness.

What was the best part about your weekend?

What’s your favorite race distance?

Rolling hills – what do you think about them? 🙂

-Meghan

33 thoughts on “Oh My Goodness!

  1. I AM SO PROUD OF YOU! When I got your text while I was with Meg and getting her to the finish I nearly cried. I’m so inspired by you. You work so hard and completely deserve that kick ass time! Hopefully next year I’ll join you in that club!

    As for that elecation chart – I honestly don’t think there’s as many downhills as it would suggest. Every year I feel like the hills multiply. HA!

    Love you lots! ❤

  2. I don’t have much to say other than I AM SO PROUD OF YOU!! That is a huge PR and it’s incredible and I’m so happy for you! I knew you could do ittttttttt xoxoxo

  3. WAIT WHAT HOW DID I MISS THIS?!?!? HUGE CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!! THAT’S SO AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! YOU’RE SO AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!! I’M SO EXCITED FOR YOU!!!!!!!! AHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!

    Love the pic of you jumping in mid air. It’s so cute!

    I hate hills. Hills for the most part don’t exist in Houston, which I’m thankful for… except for on my way to work, there’s an overpass and biking up that (especially when the wind is against me) is one of my least favorite things ever. I’m not a huge fan of running up hills, but sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do.

  4. I think your blog ate my comment. Boo.

    I’M SO FREAKING PROUD OF YOU!!!!!! That’s amazing, and you’re amazing, and I’M SO EXCITED FOR YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Special kudos to you in particular because those hills do NOT look fun. That’s one of my favorite things about running in Houston: hills essentially don’t exist.

  5. Congrats girl!! That is one hell of a PR and very well earned 🙂 I think my fav part of this post, though, is the awesomeness of your support team. It’s pretty amazing that they all got up that early to cheer you two on…but since awesomeness attracts awesomeness I suppose that isn’t too surprising 🙂

  6. Just reading your post I got excited for you 🙂 Congrats! I never run with a watch either I love just taking the pace I can and running as hard as I can then being surprised when I finish, best feeling in the world 🙂

  7. That is amazing!!! Way to go girl!! It makes the whole experience so much sweeter when you are surrounded and supported by friends!! well, I didn’t have as great of a weekend as you did. I just did a 9 miler yesterday and that was the highlight of my weekend 🙂 I would love to be able to join you in the sub-2 hr club! Did you do anything differently in your training? or did everything just line up perfectly for you for the race?

    • thank you so so much lindsey!!! 🙂
      i wish i had a knowledge bomb to drop on you, but honestly, it was just all aligned on race day. it definitely mattered that i ran with someone i could rely on in terms of pacing. another thing i’ve been doing lately is not running with music. the logic is that when i do get to listen to music, i pick up my pace. also, i’ve been doing a lot of cross training but i’ve been doing that for so long so i can’t credit that! 🙂

  8. Congratulations to you and Ash! That is amazing! I smiled the whole way through this post for the two of you! I love your excitement! Atlanta is nothing but rolling hills…ya gotta learn to love them (or just hunker down and defeat them!). Enjoy that runners high!!!

    • thank you so so so so so much! you are so sweet!!! it wasn’t as bad as the brookhaven allstate half but those rolling hills – you’re right, you just gotta learn to love them!!

  9. YAY!!!! I am so happy for you!!! Dude, you killed your goal. Crushed it with time to spare! I love the feeling of a PR. I never want to leave the after party and let that high go. I hope you guys camped out for awhile and basked in your glory. Proud of you, girl!!! xo

    • you are the best!! ❤ ❤ we rode that high all the way to the fattiest breakfast place in town. hellz yes.

  10. CONG-freaking-GRATS!!! oh my gosh, PR’s are just about the best feeling in the world!! you are just too cute too, both before AND afterward! so happy to see you, and your amazingly awesome support crew, definitely had a successful weekend! 🙂

  11. The thing is you SO deserve it. Every time I am on my fat ass looking at Instagram I come across a picture you uploaded of a run you did. You have come sooo far and I love that I witnessed the effort! SO PROUD OF YOU!!

  12. CONGRATS PRETTY LADY :D!!!! This is soooooo awesome and amazing!! I don’t blame you for crying, I would have been a crying fool if I got such a kick ass time! I’m so happy you’re becoming more confident in your running, I’m never kidding when I call you a beast! You are one speedy chick. Now I hope you had a mimosa to celebrate 🙂

  13. Oh my gosh you are so cute! I LOVE that you cried, you worked so hard for a sub 2 and you got it!! That’s amazing!! You have great friends and a really supportive boyfriend! I hope you are still celebrating your HUGE PR!! So inspiring!! Congratulations!

Speak your mind!

