More Spaghetti…and more other shit too

Super catchy title, right??

So, I’m working on a pretty in-depth post right now but it’s not nearly where I want it to be so I can’t post it today. It probably doesn’t help that I keep changing and rearranging all the content. Anywho, like Meghan, I too have been taking advantage of the spaghetti squash that has recently made its annual debut in our local grocery store produce aisles. Unlike that monstrosity that Meghan discovered the other day, the squashes I’ve been purchasing are just wittle babies. Although, it still takes 40 minutes to cook them. It’s well worth it.

spaghetti squash chicken

Spaghetti Squash

1 small spaghetti squash
1 baking sheet with lip
20oz water
  1. Preheat your oven to 425*
  2. Cut your spaghetti squash in half (or attempt – mine always ends up lopsided)
  3. Remove all seeds and innards with a spoon
  4. Pour about water into your baking sheet until you have about 1/2 inch of water
  5. Place squash face down into the water
  6. Bake for 40 minutes
  7. When taking it out of the oven be careful not to get any third degree burns by scalding your arms with hot water
  8. Use a fork to remove the spaghetti like strands from the shell

Steamed Kale

1 bunch kale stalks

* You also need an electric steamer or steamer basket

  1. Rinse kale
  2. Fold one stalk in half length-wise and cut down the edge of the stem
  3. Remove and discard the stem
  4. Repeat with the rest of the stalks
  5. Chop the leaves to your desired size
  6. Place all the leaves into your electric steamer or steamer basket over a pot of boiling water
  7. Steam for 5 minutes
  8. Remove and let cool

Spaghetti Sauce

1 small can (6 oz) tomato paste
1 medium tomato
2 cloves garlic
1/2 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp basil
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
2-4 fresh basil leaves (to garnish)
  1. Add tomato paste plus one can of water to a pot on low-medium heat
  2. Add garlic, oregano, and basil
  3. Cut tomato into small chunks and add to sauce
  4. Add salt and pepper to taste
  5. Stir frequently so the sauce doesn’t burn
  6. Cook for 20 minutes, or longer if you decide to add more ingredients and flavors
  7. Serve
  8. Julienne fresh basil leaves to garnish – or you can chop and add to your sauce a few minutes before serving

Coconut Flour Chicken

(This is kind of a spin on the Paleo Chik-fil-a I made a few weeks ago – I can’t have a couple of the ingredients right now so I kinda just winged it with this one. The chicken turned out sweet and savory. Delicious!)

1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast
1 tbsp olive oil
2 cloves garlic
1/4 tsp each salt and pepper
1 egg
1 heaping
tbsp
coconut flour
1-2 tbsp coconut oil (for cooking)
  1. Rinse and cut chicken into 1 inch pieces
  2. Add chicken, olive, garlic, salt, and pepper to a large Ziploc bag.
  3. Shake and massage to combine ingredients
  4. Let marinate in the fridge for at least an hour
  5. Whisk your egg and add it to the Ziploc bag
  6. Shake one more time to cover the chicken completely with the egg and let sit a few minutes
  7. Add about 1/4 inch of coconut oil to a large pan on medium heat
  8. Drain excess egg/liquid from the bag then pour chicken mixture into a large mixing bowl
  9. Sift coconut flour over the chicken
  10. Try to cover all sides of the chicken with the coconut flour (you can add a little more or just massage the flour into the chicken with your hands
  11. Add the chicken to your pan and cook for a few minutes, flip, then cook for a few more minutes (we all know how to cook chicken right??)

I had leftover sauce so I made another spaghetti squash meal a couple days later. I won’t bore you with recipes for sweet potato fries and Brussels sprouts, but just know that this shit was good as f**k. Carbo loading, anyone?? I did add some Italian chicken sausage to pretend like I was eating a more balanced meal. I don’t think I’ve been that full in a while. I could probably eat this every day. F’real.

spaghetti squash brussels and ff

I’m sorry, I still don’t care enough to make my pictures better for you guys. I’ll leave that up to Davida. Girlfriend has some legit shit when it comes to food pics.

I hope everyone has a great weekend! I’m going to a wedding which means I will be completely neglecting the rules of the Whole Life Challenge. I’m ok with that though.

What are you doing this weekend?

Who else takes really good food pictures? I want to look at your talent and be jealous.

Is everyone else OBSESSED with this song as much as I am?

 

I really like her other stuff too. Cutie.

– Rebekah

18 thoughts on “More Spaghetti…and more other shit too

  1. I had that song on repeat for weeks, and am finally moving onto another song to put on repeat!! Lorde is adorable and she is SO young!!! Can’t wait to read your in depth post!! Those are the best, so is spag squash! Love the title 😉

  2. can i just tell you how i love reading your posts and i love it even more because it’s littered with swear bombs?

    tell you what: how about you come over here and make all this foodgasm for me. then i will fall asleep because of all the ‘itis and wake up only to stuff my face with more flavor explosions mmmmkay? thanksbyeeeee

  3. ooooooooh can’t wait for the in-depth post to come to me. i love lorde she’s adorable and has a great voice! my food pictures are always embarrassing so i am glad we are on the same level. sweet potato fries!! i love them so much.

  4. Am I the only one who doesn’t like that song yet? lol. I bought a spaghetti squash today and thought of you girls. I got it at TJ so it is decent size but only $2.49 since they don’t go by the pound. I am so not a blog photographer lol – I use my phone and hate taking pictures.

  5. i’m obsessed with that song!! and that sweet potato fries/brussels sprouts/ italian chicken sausage/ squash meal looks amazeballs, i would eat that everyday too. and its such an amazing skill to take good food photos, or even good anytime photos. the ones that end up on my blog are the ones that dont have one of my fingers blocking half the lens. i consider that a win. so all yours look great to me!

  6. You have NO idea how much the photog compliment means to me! I have seriously cried over food pics and may or may not have taken an ativan to deal with a minor panic attack that ensued over trying to photograph a smoothie (those are damn hard to capture!!!). Your meal looks awesome though and I want that chicken!

    Also if you like Lordes then you will LOVE Haim. Their album just debuted a few days ago and I peed myself after the first listen. Here’s my fav from the album: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1TffpkE2GU4

  7. The eloquence of your post title speaks to my soul. I don’t even know what that means but it’s good. I actually made a spaghetti squash and snuck it in to a whole wheat pasta dish so Jim would unknowingly eat it. Muah ha ha! You gotta start somewhere. Every time I talk about us eating a meatless dinner he laughs at me. So I’ll take what small wins I can get.

    I love the recipe format you did with all the separating lines. You are becoming a blogging pro. Also, I am definitely intrigued by this long post you are working on. Want to text me a teaser? 😉 Have a great weekend, I. Gru! <333 Your favorite panda

  8. Okay, so I found a shortcut to the spaghetti squash cooking! Yes, it involves a microwave! I cut the squash in half and put it face down in about 1/2 cup of water in a baking dish. It only takes 10 minutes in the microwave and comes out just as good as in the oven!

    FYI, your chicken recipe looks drool-worthy! I will most definitely be trying out that one!

  9. Good eats, thanks for sharing! I am amateur night when it comes to food pics, too. I feel like I am missing something that everyone else knows about.. I blame it on the lighting.. I turned Lorde on the other day and thought the same thing! I still love it. Have a great weekend, lady!

Speak your mind!

