Banana Bread Muffins

BBM3

In keeping my IG word (not sure if that’s a real thing) to Davida The Healthy Maven, I’m posting these banana bread muffins I made last night. Here you go, girl.

Since I’ve been doing this Whole Life Challenge I have been avoiding baking anything sweet or really anything that can be construed as dessert. I’ve done this for a few different reasons:

  1. I suck at baking and literally every “cookie” (I use that term loosely) I’ve made in the past month Meghan and I have deemed “poop cookies.” It’s because they’re super delicious and we want to EAT ALL THE POOP COOKIES!
  2. I can’t have any sweeteners during this challenge (besides Stevia), which includes honey, maple syrup, agave, coconut nectar, and chocolate chips along with all the traditional sugars and sweeteners. Most recipes call for at least a little bit of honey.
  3. I’m trying to get as much out of this challenge as possible and baking high calorie treats all the time doesn’t help me reach that goal any faster. I’m trying to follow the rules. And I’m trying to avoid substituting ingredients in order to get around said rules just so I can satiate my dessert cravings – dessert cravings I didn’t really have until I made this delicious shit last night. Definitely NOT a poop cookie.

So, after all that talk, I decided I needed to make something sweet and delicious anyway, completely ignoring reasons 1-3 above. To be fair, Meghan helped me validate my decision. It’s all her fault. She made me do it. Wahhhh! I’ll shut up now.

I used this Paleo Banana Bread recipe from Elana’s Pantry to start with, but ended up substituting a couple things. Also, I made muffins instead of bread because my bread pan is bigger than hers and I didn’t want to end up with little stubby pieces of banana bread. Stubby poop bread. Yum. These are also completely Paleo 🙂

BBM

Banana Bread Muffins

  • 3 bananas (overly ripe)
  • 3 eggs
  • 4 tbsp grass fed butter (I use Kerrygold) – melted
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 packet Stevia (1 gram)
  • A little less than 2 cups almond flour (think 1 7/8 cups)
  • 1 heaping tbsp coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  1. Pre-heat your oven to 350* and line muffin pan with paper or silicone liners.
  2. Add bananas, eggs, vanilla extract, and melted butter to your food processor and blend.
  3. Blend in cinnamon, stevia, almond flour, coconut flour, salt, and baking soda.
  4. Scoop batter evenly into muffin liners – should make exactly 12 muffins.
  5. Bake for 35 – 40 minutes, or until the tops start to brown.
  6. Remove and let cool.

The bread recipe called for a 55 minute baking time, but since these were muffins it took much less time to bake. I left mine in for 35 minutes and they came out very soft and moist. If you want them a little firmer, bake a bit longer. But don’t burn them. Duh.

BBM2

You should make these. I had to use serious constraint when it came to resisting the urge to eat every. single. one. of. these. But Meghan hasn’t tried them yet, so I have to save at least one. That’ll be the true test in finding out whether or not these too go in the “poop cookie” category. Guys, guys, calm down – don’t worry, I’ll come bake poop cookies for everyone. I didn’t realize they would be so popular. Maybe there’s a market in that somewhere? Absolutely not.

I’ll stop being schizophrenic now.

Happy hump day 🙂 This week is going by fast and slow at the same time.

Does anyone want to try some poop cookies?

Does anyone actually make edible desserts? What are they? Will you make them for me?

– Rebekah

20 thoughts on “Banana Bread Muffins

  1. When I saw your Instagram pic last night, I wanted to eat your muffin through my phone. (I’m not sure how that would have worked, but stick with me here.) These look SO good! Also, poop cookies hahahaha. Poop. Tee hee hee. #somature

  2. Well, I am glad you took a break from the poop cookies to make these! lol
    Paleo baking is so tricky but these look like they’re really good. That’s crazy you can’t even have honey! I wouldn’t survive on this challenge but I bet it is making you feel great!

  3. Okay, so I’m strange, but I am not a huge banana fan. HOWEVER, this morning I had an intense craving for bananas…was it foreshadowing of this post? Perhaps. Most likely not though. Or maybe when I saw your IG pic it sent my brain cells into a banana needing craze. I guess we’ll never know. ALSO – props. Props for not eating honey, syrups, sugar and the like. That is intense but you have crap tons of willpower and totally are rockin’ this one! Hope you’re having a lovely week, pretty girl! 🙂 ❤

  4. THANK YOU!!!! So many ripe bananas in my house that need to be used up! Seriously these look amazing and thanks for not making me wait a week for the recipe like I always do to everyone because I’m rude lol. Poop cookies sound interesting…I’d down those bad boys with a tall glass of urine!

  5. I bake TOO many edible desserts…I have to force myself to stop baking because I WILL EAT THEM ALL! I have no one to share with these days so they just sit in my kitchen calling to me!

  6. Um yum!!! I want some poop cookies!! I remember when I first started Paleo (The whole life challenge and paleo are similar right??) I read an article, the one that sold me on Paleo, and she was having cravings all the time. The solution was dark chocolate!! Maybe that’ll work for you??

  7. I’m intrigued about these poop cookies you talk of!! I actually have given up on paleo desserts because I have had way too many flops! They are either way too sweet or just didn’t turn out good. These muffins do look good though, so I may have to get brave and make these. It also helps that I have 3 almost completely brown bananas on the counter too!!

  8. Pingback: A Happy Place | fitnesscrEATures

  9. hahah “poop cookies” love it!! I have to say I am guilty of just making full-sugar desserts most of the time if I bake. The reason being is I had too many fails when I tried to do healthy desserts and it was a waste of ingredients and money, so now if I bake, I just use the real thing (and then I try to give at least half of it away so that I don’t eat it all!) I’m trying to be better and not bake on a weekly basis, but it’s just so.darn.fun! Have a fun girls night, these muffins look delicious!

  10. Pingback: {MIMM} Weekend Recap 09/27-09/29 - The Healthy Maven

Speak your mind!

