Eat and Run!

Well that about sums up my weekend โ€“ so no need to elaborate!

All I did was eat like crazy and run like crazy! But for you guys, I think I just might elaborate. ๐Ÿ™‚

Friday began with a HOT, HOT, HOT run. Like, ouch. It was definitely not one of my favorite runs but I was happy to knock it out nonetheless.

20130920_151613

Even the pup had some choice feelings for that runโ€ฆ

20130920_151626

Ainโ€™t nobody got time for that is the attitude I received from him.

Later that night, we celebrated a friendโ€™s birthday over some amazing Chinese food. No one was shy about ordering โ€“ there were leftovers for days!

20130920_211232 

Saturday began with a 5K with the boyfriend and his family. When I sign up for 5Kโ€™s, I acknowledge that they are going toward a cause, but this 5K in particular was a cause that I was happy to contribute to. ๐Ÿ™‚ Itโ€™s definitely a 5K that means the most to my boyfriend. The course was super hilly but it was a great way to start the day (before the monsoons came through Atlanta โ€“ what the heck?!).

1239641_10202114399406119_1097151456_n 

I was planning on doing my long run afterward, but it was just too rainy. I can handle some light rain, but starting my run in a storm is definitely not something Iโ€™ll ever do. Instead, surprise, I ATE! ๐Ÿ™‚

I made some yummy Paleo pancakes and I didnโ€™t follow a recipe but I used very ripe bananas, coconut flour, eggs and cinnamon. They turned out tasting like banana bread and I will certainly make them again in the future!

20130921_104557

Oh yes, PS, they arenโ€™t very pretty. Next time Iโ€™ll work on that. Nope, wait, no, I wonโ€™t. Itโ€™s a miracle the house is still intact after I cooked so weโ€™ll leave it at that.

And yesterday I set out to knock out my long run per my loose training plan. It was a gorgeous day and Iโ€™m so glad I didnโ€™t try to do it in the nasty rain. Yesterdayโ€™s weather was running perfection.

20130922_101718

I donโ€™t normally take my talents into Mother Nature, but I thought with the weather as beautiful as it was โ€“ itโ€™d be a shame otherwise. ๐Ÿ™‚

 20130922_101723

Though my Garmin was being feisty at first, everything ended up just fine and we made it a full 15 miles together. I stupidly chose a hilly route for 6 of the 15 miles and paid severely for that choice at the end of my run but otherwise, I felt great! Iโ€™m looking forward to this mileage thing increasing as training picks up. I was surprised at my pace because of said hills and was super proud of what I finished with!

20130922_114912

I followed that run with a trip to Sweet Tomatoes, a buffet restaurant (which was not wise) and ate my weight in salad and bread! It was amazing in the worst way possible! ๐Ÿ™‚ #YOLOOOOO!!!

What a great weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

Whatโ€™d you do this weekend?

Do you like Chinese food as much as my friends and I do? I love noodles and veggies (of any cuisine) so Chinese food is right up my alley. ๐Ÿ™‚

Have you run a race because of what the cause was? This was my first time! It was definitely more than inspiring.

-Meghan

27 thoughts on “Eat and Run!

  1. I run a lot of races for the cause and I think it gives it such a special meaning ๐Ÿ™‚ Your paces are incredible! I have been seriously slacking on pushing my pace. I need to get some of your mojo over here!

  2. Ahhh super jealous of all the running in this post!! I gave everyone on the treadmills at the gym yesterday the stink eye 1) because they were running and I couldn’t and 2) because it was the most gorgeous running day imaginable outside so neither joe nor myself could understand why there was anyone on the treadmills at all. Go run outside! Jiminy it’s a good thing i was cleared to run this morning! My mood couldn’t take another forced week off!

  3. For that run being in the heat, you still had a great pace!!!! Ummmm I think those pancakes look pretty! Any pancake looks pretty, they are PANCAKES, can’t make them look bad ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve never ran a race that had a meaning, I really should though. I know there’s one in December “run to feed the hungry” but man is it a packed race!! I watch it every year on the tv and get anxiety just thinking about it haha. 15 miles…..I’m a bit jealous of this, but completely happy for you!!!! This is awesome Lady!!! You’re going to do great at the marathon!!! I’m getting so excited for it ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Salad and bread… you certainly know the way to a girl’s heart ๐Ÿ˜‰ Yayyyy for an awesome long run! I love that feeling after. I made the same mistake as you this weekend in my hilly route choice, but hey, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger! And you get to feel like you deserve extra bread and pancakes ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Oh. My. Goodness. Your dog’s face. Greatest expression ever! And you’re beasting at all of your runs, girlie. Congrats on the 15-miler–that can’t be easy! The thing about growing up in a Chinese household is that it’s very hard to top the Chinese food I get at home…there are definitely a few Chinese restaurants I’m in love with, but nothing can ever beat home-cooked Chinese food. ๐Ÿ™‚ Also, eating and running essentially sounds like a fantastic weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Better to eat your weight in salad than in burgers! Don’t hate me for this but chinese food is probably the one food I don’t like! Don’t get me wrong, I will eat it if it’s in front of me but it’s probably not my first choice for eating out options.

    Congrats on the 15 miler. You’re such a champ!

  7. I’m actually trying to get myself out of the door right now to go on a run and you’re definitely playing a huge role in motivating me hahah! Great times! I also love the pup’s expression post-run. His eyes just scream “NEVER AGAIN o.o”!

    • LOL i’m looking at it now! It looks awesome, though, I can imagine it’d be super chilly in November…. hahaha

  8. You are kicking ass! That pace is amazing. I can’t believe you ran 6 miles with hills and kept going for 9 more. You earned all the food in the world ๐Ÿ™‚ Looks like a wonderful weekend!!!!!

  9. At least the rainy weather brought you a cool day for your long run. You rocked it!

    Haha, I think your pancakes are pretty. You’re hilarious saying that you’re lucky the house is still intact. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I have only ran one race that went to a cause and it does feel so much more inspiring! I want to try and do the FEED 10k at home (through an app) because I’m passionate about the cause.

  10. I love running in nature! It is the best! For the last 2 years I have ran in a local 5k because I know the mother that was the director of the race (a non profit organization) for children who were born with congenital heart defects. It was a very emotional race.
    Great job on your 15 miles!!
    I am not really a fan of “regular” Chinese food. Sorry I know I am super boring now that I am Paleo ๐Ÿ™‚ My body just cant handle the high amounts of sodium and MSG anymore ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Speak your mind!

