WLC and What I’m Eating

So, we’re almost at the end of week 2 of the Whole Life Challenge. So far, it’s going swimmingly. For the past 10 days, I’ve eaten strict Paleo, no sweeteners (except a little Stevia), and no artificial ingredients of any kind. I feel great and can already see my hard work paying off, which is great because it provides me with that much more motivation to keep at it.

As I’m sure you all can tell, I never take pictures of my workouts anymore. I’m at the gym every day – usually lifting weights – but the combination of trying to get my workout in without distractions and not trying to draw any attention to myself has me failing in the picture department. Sorry. Kinda. I mean, attempting to do a squat and holding it, while reaching down to grab my phone and snap a quick pic isn’t the easiest thing to do. Sounds like a good way to get hurt.

Reminds me of this:

why_emergency_rooms_exist-183935

Hahahahahaha, people are stupid.

Anyway, I’ll probably take progress photos at some point. That is, if I feel like I have progress to show.

Here’s some stuff I’ve been eating (I didn’t edit any of these, so I’m sorry for the shit quality – I promise it’s no reflection on how I feel about you).

I’ve been attempting to prep my food for the week.

20130908_212426

20130917_223400

20130917_222256

20130918_131248

Mmm…smoothies.

20130912_082435

20130917_215900

Random shit from my fridge.

20130912_232104

20130909_225751

20130913_200846

My food is really simple and really boring lately. But it’s yummy and healthy. It’s like that guy who isn’t all that cute but you keep him around because he has a great personality.

20130914_210401

20130919_085144

PANCAKES!!! (I added strawberries. Solid call.)

20130914_122846

20130914_123110

20130914_123941

Avocado egg cups. Too legit <—that word always cracks me up.

20130915_113406

20130915_120757

Organic Pink Lady apple (Meredith, I thought about you when I ate this – is that weird??) Eat your entire apple, children! You’ll grow up big and strong, and you won’t be a wasteful little brat either 🙂

20130918_171228

Ok so now that the previous boring-ass photo dump is over, you can all get back to your much more exciting lives that exist outside of this blog post.

In other news, I’m boring and have no life. I do nothing but go to work, watch Law and Order: SVU marathons, cook, and sit at Caribou Coffee reading Practical Paleo while I wait for everyone to leave the gym so by the time I get there I won’t have elbow my way through a sea of roided out man tank tops just to wait in line for a bench. Thanks but no thanks.

Obviously I wasn’t going to let you get back to your exciting lives before I left you with a super awesome run-on sentence about mine. I’m not selfish; it just seems like it.

What are you doing this weekend? Is it fun? Can I come?

I can’t believe it’s almost time for cold weather clothes again! That’s not a question.

– Rebekah

30 thoughts on “WLC and What I’m Eating

  1. hahaha you crack me up. glad the challenge is going well and you are seeing results!! woohoo. i also am boring and have no life. SVU marathons for the win always. i can’t believe it’s fall either- i was just starting to wrap my head around the fact that it really was summer, man.

  2. Hah I loved this. Great eats! I’ve cut wayyyy back on meat and dairy and I am loving how good I feel. But also really wanting a cupcake.

    • Glad you’re feeling good! Dairy can make you feel so blah. I’m glad I don’t eat it (except grass fed butter :)). Get me one too!

  3. wow all your food looks so good!! i love that simple stuff- not only can i make it, its just so yummy, and i feel better afterwards than i would after a big plate ‘o grease. and i cant believe its time for cold weather clothes either! ive needed my patagonia vest every morning for the past week and i feel like i JUST put it away at the end of spring. man oh man. “winter is coming”.

    • Thanks dude. Agreed on all counts. I can’t cook for shit, but I can make that crap you just looked at. I need to buy sweaters. Thanks for the reminder 🙂 Winter is coming – Radical Face. I think I’ll listen to that now. Thanks for that too!

  4. THAT FOOD NEEDS TO GET IN MY BELLY!!

    i hear you on the lack of selfies during workouts. i’m not sure if it’s because i’ve moved from “weightloss” mode to “maintenance’ mode or the fact that i’m miserable doing anything other than running trails.

    your reasons why you wait for the gym to clear out is the reason why i prefer to workout at home! i don’t need anyone trying to talk to me at the gym, give me looks or make me wait for shit because when i’m working out, i’m in the zone and you don’t exist (not you but the idiots at the gym)

    • Hahaha. You’re absurd and I love it. I wish I could work out at home! I wish my apt gym had all the shit I needed for an adequate workout but it’s shit so I can’t rely on that. I need to get into the habit of getting up and working out in the morning. I just struggle like a mother with waking up. Plus, working out so late means I go to bed super late and can’t wake up. Meghan wakes me up most days lately, which is sad. She’s my mom so it’s ok.

  5. I love the picture of your pancakes in front of “Meghan’s room” AKA the porch area. Also, those egg cups!! I have been wanting to make them, but obviously I’ve been lazy and haven’t. I have absolutely zero ideas as to what I’m doing this weekend. Maybe eating some sushi? Sleeping in and hitting up the gym. My life is also thrilling and I dream big. But please feel free to come along and grace me with your presence! I miss you Hotlanta people so much. Perhaps you should research new jobs in PA? That would make me undyingly happy. Have a great weekend, I. Gru! I heart you all the way from a bajillion miles away, pretty girl! 🙂

    • Hahahaha, thanks girl. I was sitting on the floor eating and drinking my coffee bc it was pretty out 🙂 MAKE THEM!!! They were hella good. Do it this weekend after you sleep in 🙂 Yum to the sushi – I want! We miss you too! Wahhhhh!!! Seriously, maybe I should. At least if I move up there I’ll know someone already. Igor Gru hearts you too. That was fun. Rhyming is underrated. You’re prettier. K bye!

  6. Hahaha – I am so glad I am thought of at apple time! It just need a dab of peanut butter lol…I love your reference to the food being like the guy who isn’t cute but has personality. You have me literally laughing out loud.

    • Yes yes, who else would I think of? I was in my car, so no nut butter. Plus I’ve been eating soooo many nuts/ almond butter lately that I need to ease up a bit. It’s messing with my digestion 😦 Haha, glad I could make you laugh.

    • Hahahaha, patronage too! Girl, I have a really exciting weekend planned that involves the gym, my bed, and getting new tires. Woohoo!!

    • Yummmmyyyy!!! Actually, Meghan and I were talking the other day about how we want to go to Canada to meet you and Kathy at Vodka and Soda. Haha. This weekend is kinda short notice.

    • I need to get better at it too. So far, all I’ve managed to prep for is three days. I don’t end up cooking enough for more but I’m ok with that bc I don’t want to have to freeze anything. That’s annoying. Deal!!

  7. Everything minus the mushrooms (GROSS) looks fabulous and healthy! I still cannot get over that apple core and I am eating peanut butter M&M cookies right now. make me stop.

    • I used to hate mushrooms too. And peppers. Now I can’t get enough! Hahaha, yeah well I had some time to kill in the car so I just nibbled for a while. Girl, please stop telling me about how wonderful your life is and all the amazing cookies you’re eating. Thank you. In other news: I CAN’T FUCKING WAIT TO SEE YOU!!!!

  8. Um A) I am currently sitting at home watching Law and Order:SVU B) I also have practical Paleo in front of me because I am trying to decide my next meal prep C) I as well have no life and D) Did we just become best friends?! (Hopefully you get that line…)

    • Hahaha! Girl, of course I got part D. We became best friends during parts A-C. I’m a HUGE Stepbrothers fan. So many people aren’t and it breaks my heart. I quote it often and no one ever gets it. Now I have you! Haha. I’m obsessed with Practical Paleo right now. I’m so glad you love it. Ok, so now that we’re besties, let’s make plans to do all of the above and nothing else. Sound good??

  9. Can I just say YUM!!! Boring food?? This all looks super good to me!! Or maybe I’m boring with my food haha who knows. I’m hoping to hang with an old friend that I haven’t seen in 4 years! And maybe hang with a girlfriend. But mostly I’ll be doing homework hahaha That’s my life. All I do is homework and workout. Oh so exciting.

    • Haha, thanks girl! I’m glad you think it looks appealing. How exciting!! I love that. I hope that works out and you’re able to love each other again. I understand. That used to be my life, except without the working out. I was unhealthy as shit in college.

  10. Jealous that you have a Caribou close by you! I miss that place! Glad you are doing so well on your challenge. Your food doesn’t look boring, looks good to me 🙂 I love the Practical Paleo book, its one of my favorite paleo books! No fun plans here for the weekend 😦 I guess if you consider going on a long run on Sunday counts, then yes I have fun plans 🙂

    • Caribou is wonderful for sure. And their coffee is a trillion times better than the shit-in-a-cup that starbucks sells. I like starbucks sugary drinks but their regular coffee is growdy. That’s right, growdy. Yes yes, I always think of you when I think of that book. You’re my OG Paleo blog friend 🙂 If you consider running fun, then sounds like fun! Meghan can empathize with that. Good luck with it 🙂 You’re gonna kill it!

  11. I almost spit out my coffee at the line about keeping a guy with a good personality around, SO true!! Awesome job on this challenge!! I am such a sweetoholic I really need to go some time without it, but I am so completely addicted. HA!

    • Hahaha, glad I almost caused a disaster. Thank you, ma’am. I understand – I’ve really wanted to bake some Paleo cookies just to get something sweet but have avoided it 😦 Will power I guess? Meghan is addicted too. You guys can eat a bunch of candy and cupcakes when she comes up there in December. I’m so jealous she gets to meet you!

Speak your mind!

