Friday the 13th

In keeping with the theme of Friday the 13th, I thought it would only be appropriate to share something terrifying with you all. Sorry, I can’t help you with which really cheesy horror movie debut you should attend. And I can’t list the best and worst Friday the 13th movies in order. Mostly, it’s because I hate scary movies. Otherwise, it’s because the film industry and its sad attempt to instill fear in us through red dye, loud noises, and sudden movements has all but failed. At least it has since the original Exorcist, in my opinion.

Exorcist

Don’t give up yet on thrill of shock and terror you all desire today. There’s something out there that actually follows through on frightening us to the point of curling up in the fetal position and sleeping under the covers all night. What is this atrocious thing that can scare even the manliest of men, you ask? The food industry. And I’ll gladly be the first to say that it has done just a terrific job at scaring the shit out of me (and you) by being one of the major causes of diabetes, obesity, hypertension, cancer and a slew of other preventable epidemic diseases. And it has done so in the most deliberately gradual and sneakiest of ways – like giving candy to a baby. Literally.

chubbybaby

So, unlike that two hour waste of time that was simply the brainchild of some demented writer with too much suppressed adolescent anger, this shit is real life scary and its impact lasts longer than a mere two hours. It makes me cringe. It makes me want to cover my face with my hands and watch life happen by peeping through the cracks between my fingers. Believe me, I’d much rather watch some actors kill each other quickly, at least attempting to stay alive and all for the purpose of entertainment (I think?), than witness everyone around me slowly kill themselves, welcoming the media, the food industry, and the FDA each to twist the knife a little deeper.

Misleading-food-labels

Luckily, there are a great many people who make informed decisions about what they eat and who choose to be active on a daily basis, reversing the damage done before their current state of awareness. Unfortunately, this is NOT the majority. Unfortunately, we have too many followers in this country (and the media is the main culprit in the position of leader). Unfortunately, laziness is further promoted with each new technological advance (as is Frankenfood). Unfortunately, this small informed population had to inform themselves. Unfortunately, not much is changing for the better.

Here are some statistics that make me want to burn down a McDonald’s:

  • More than 1 billion people worldwide are overweight
  • 2/3 of Americans over the age of 20 are overweight
  • Worldwide obesity is nearly double what it was in 1980
  • The U.S. has the highest obesity statistics (out of 22 industrialized countries)
  • More than 1/3 of Americans over the age of 20 are obese
    • The estimated medical cost of obesity in 2008 was $147 billion
    • No state has an obesity rate less than 20% – Some states have rates up to 35% (GA is at 29%)
  • Childhood obesity in America has nearly doubled in the last 20 years
    • 12% of 2-5 year olds are obese
    • 18% of 6-19 year olds are obese

As your weight increases to the level of overweight (BMI between 25 and 29.9) or obese (BMI higher than 30), so does your risk for the following preventable diseases:

(Calculate your BMI here)

  • Heart disease
  • Hypertension (high blood pressure)
  • Stroke
  • High cholesterol
  • Cancer
  • Liver/Gallbladder disease
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes accounts for roughly 85% of all diabetes in America. 90% of people with Type 2 diabetes are overweight. Almost 60% of children with Type 2 Diabetes are obese.

I hope everyone realizes that the media ploys you see on a daily basis at the grocery store, on TV, in magazines, etc. advertising unhealthy foods as heart healthy, low fat, no fat, sugar free, no sugar added, low carb, made with real this, real that, so on and so forth, is nothing but real bull shit. After you read their lies on the front of the box, laugh, then turn it over and read the ingredients. Then laugh again and put it back on the shelf, knowing that you’re smarter than they are and that you’re not going to fall victim to their weak attempts to have you give them money in exchange for lifelong health issues.

I know this is an extreme way to think about this, but I honestly believe that all the players (media, food corporations, FDA, etc.) that have contributed to the extreme rise in obesity, and the diseases that go along with it, should be held responsible for murder. Approximately 300,000 deaths each year may be attributed to obesity. That’s criminal. In my opinion.

Don’t think that I’m solely blaming those responsible for producing the brightly colored packaging and smooth talking ads we’re all deceived to believe. We don’t have to believe them. We choose to, either because we’re not informed (no wonder there!) or because it’s easier to be lazy and/or ignorant about our health, chowin’ down at Olive Garden screamin’ YOLO. To me, this is suicide. A slow, agonizing, self-inflicted death that is completely preventable.

too-much-food-yolo

People need to be saved from themselves. Again, maybe extreme, but I think there should be fitness and nutrition rehabilitation centers for the obese. I think you should be able to intervention style check someone in until they reach a healthier weight and are educated enough to maintain it.

Enough of my tangent. I could go on forever, in a million different directions, but I’ll save that for another rant post.

There are ways to begin reversing the detrimental effects of the shit food this country feeds us. There are ways to get healthier, get informed, and prevent the untimely death that even your doctors might have you believe is inevitable.

Understand that no one else can do it for you. Don’t blame anyone but yourself. You are accountable for your decisions, so make them good ones.

  • Eat right
    • Inform yourself about what is actually healthy, not what is advertised as healthy
    • Make a grocery list – shop on the perimeter of the store
    • Make a list of healthy recipes
    • Control your portions
    • Avoid eating out
    • Write down what you’re eating
  • Be active
    • Inform yourself about what kind of activities you need to be doing to reach your goals
    • Just move – even if it’s just going for a walk
    • Do it every day – make it a habit
    • Strive to be better every day – walk farther than yesterday
    • Write down your activities daily
  • Find a weight loss program or support group
    • It’s easier to stick with it when you have guidelines and friends who are going through the same thing
  • Research!
    • We have access to literally everything through the internet, so use it to educate yourself

I wish more people understood that food can create cancer, IBS, celiac disease, hypertension, diabetes, and other chronic diseases. I wish those same people would understand that food can prevent and/or reverse those same diseases. Poison or medicine? It’s your choice.

food is healthcare

Eat clean and move! It’s really just that simple.

– Rebekah

16 thoughts on “Friday the 13th

    • Also, I found this fact particularly striking:

      Childhood obesity in America has nearly doubled in the last 20 years
      12% of 2-5 year olds are obese
      18% of 6-19 year olds are obese

      The “healthy” school lunches they offer in my school district are a joke. Students have absolutely no knowledge or sense whatsoever about healthy eating and living habits. If it is taught, it is only briefly and then not implemented by schools or parents. Yesterday at carpool a 2nd grade girl burst into tears because her mom told her they had to walk home (their ride didn’t show up or something) Why are children in this country so adverse to exercise and eating right?

      Good habits can start at a young age and create happy and healthy adults! Not all families can afford to shop at whole foods or natural food stores but even Wal-Mart offers fresh produce! Rebekah I wish your passion could ignite action in not only adults but children as well. You are absolutely right that human beings need to be more informed about what they are shoving into their tube-holes ESPECIALLY KIDS.

      . . . . obviously I can go on about this too lol

    • Also, I found this fact particularly striking:

      Childhood obesity in America has nearly doubled in the last 20 years
      12% of 2-5 year olds are obese
      18% of 6-19 year olds are obese

      The “healthy” school lunches they offer in my school district are a joke. Students have absolutely no knowledge or sense whatsoever about healthy eating and living habits. If it is taught, it is only briefly and then not implemented by schools or parents. Yesterday at carpool a 2nd grade girl burst into tears because her mom told her they had to walk home (their ride didn’t show up or something) Why are children in this country so adverse to exercise and eating right?

      Good habits can start at a young age and create happy and healthy adults! Not all families can afford to shop at whole foods or natural food stores but even Wal-Mart offers fresh produce! Rebekah I wish your passion could ignite action in not only adults but children as well. You are absolutely right that human beings need to be more informed about what they are shoving into their tube-holes ESPECIALLY KIDS.

      . . . . obviously I can go on about this too lol

  1. Your blog is one of the first i always seek out when i open my feed but WHAT’S WITH THAT FREAKING PICTURE OF THE SCARIEST THING TO EVER CROSS THE SCREEN?!???? IT AIN’T HALLOWEEN YET, PUT THAT SHIT AWAY!!

    i’m home alone and now i can’t even go into the basement to hang my laundry 😦

    so. i have a lot to say about this post because i 100% agree with you. marketing companies are assholes as is the government but they do not force the population to eat garbage. sure, we’re inundated with all kinds of lying media bullshit but we choose to eat what we want just as we choose to listen to what we want. everyone has the power to educate themselves about proper health and nutrition and everyone has choices to make every day of their lives…if they choose to live a sedentary life and eat crap, then they can’t blame anyone but themselves for choosing that path. they also forget that although they may have lived a life like that, it’s never permanent UNLESS YOU DECIDE TO MAKE IT PERMANENT.

    People need to stop blaming the media about their obesity and start looking in the mirror. The media doesn’t make you gain weight — YOU make you gain weight!

  2. this post deserves a standing ovation. YES TO ALL OF IT!! way to break down the truth and just show it as it really is. whats going on when it comes to food and healthcare and preventable diseases IS scary. and more people need to be aware of it. everybody in america (and the world) should read this post!!!!

  3. LOL, I agree that picture is freaky and frankenfood is freakier! I think a lot of people are completely uninformed, but I do agree that some people just think “everything gives you cancer, so I might as well enjoy what I’m eating.” Sometimes people will start talking about different foods and their effects, but they are so misinformed and opinionated that I just keep my mouth shut and think… UGH!

  4. Totally agree…I am always busy explaining this stuff to my son in the best, kid-friendly manner as possible since he is already being fooled by the marketing ploys and then thinks I am “weird’ for not getting us fast food or buying certain brands.

  5. This is an inspiring post, sister. You are helping people to see when they look. I love you, trick.

    P.S. The picture icon for my face does not accurately depict my emotions, but I am not going to spend the time to change it. Just, don’t be fooled or taken aback by its odd expression.

  6. Also, I like your Friday-the-13th addition to the page 😉 Except it reminds me of the time you showed me a “car commercial” on the computer that really turned out to be a way to grab my innocent mind and harshly scar it with a similar image! Do you remember this moment?? Hahaha.

  7. Love this, so true!! I have definitely cut out most processed foods the past few years…now hold on and let me go feed my fat face with some organic brownies though..woof.

  8. Awesome post girl! The food industry is terrifying!!! We are slowly killing ourselves through one of the 3 things we need to survive…it truly baffles me. Governments should be making it a whole lot easier for low-income families to have access to good, clean food. More emphasis needs to be put on health education and I’m not talking pizza being a vegetable…Thanks for this!

  9. So much yes! I’m always preaching this to people! I’ve even gotten Matt to read labels and put things back on the shelve when he can’t pronounce something lol I’m shocked at what companies are allowed to put in food!!

  10. Tat pic scared me so much! (I’m such a freaking wimp) But diabetes scares me just as much, so it was kinda appropriate of you to post the pic and the content together. 🙂

Speak your mind!

