What Marathon?

So I ran a marathon back in March of this year and immediately upon finishing had the urge to search for another one to do.

Physically, the marathon put me on the sidelines for a few weeks but mentally, I was a giddy, excited little child. This feeling, that still hasn’t subsided by the way, led me to search for another marathon to do this year to actually achieve my goal time (4:30). I didn’t come nearly close to that (4:50) and I blame the ridiculous rolling hills course with an elevation gain of 1,500 feet. Thanks, but no thanks.

Though I’ve lived in Georgia since 2001, I am originally from Washington and I never let my friends forget it! 🙂 So, naturally, I chose to sign up for the Seattle Marathon on December 1. There are, of course, many reasons to my madness in picking this race but I shan’t bore you with those reasons. Instead, here’s the plan I’m LOOSELY following:

Meghan Marathon!

I’ve already made some changes to that – and also, I am already confident that I can finish successfully, it’s just a matter of timing at this point. I don’t really care to run every single day like most plans suggest so I’ll be switching up some days for swimming or biking which is not reflected in the plan above. My first two runs have been a success this week – that’s a great way to start, right?

20130826_192012

That was Monday night… And last night my four miles average pace was 9:13. Taking last week off from running from my half was much needed and has rejuvenated my legs – I am not typically that quick so I think I’ve missed running! 🙂

I’d say someone else is enjoying these runs…

20130827_190911

He’s happy to be back at it with me, I think!

20130827_191814

So folks, there you have it. I’m planning on doing my second full marathon with as laid back of an attitude as possible. Seattle is a beautiful place and I cannot wait to enjoy a 5 hour race throughout the naturally gorgeous city (and I’m staying there for vacation a few days following the race!!). I’m quite the happy runner girl! Do you blame me?

Have you traveled for a race yet?

Do you like to follow training plans? I like to use the long runs on the weekends that plans provide but during the week, ehhhh……

Have you ever been to Seattle?

-Meghan

24 thoughts on “What Marathon?

  1. I think it’s awesome that you’re going to do another marathon! I’ve never been to Seattle, but I’ve heard that it’s a gorgeous place, so I’m sure the course will be quite scenic!

  2. God, could you and the senator get any cuter?! No, no you could not. It’s like he is smiling with you 🙂 I think you picked an awesome marathon training plan. It seems like it will be pretty easy to follow, except for those long runs on Saturdays. Those would potentially kill me. But they should be no big deal for you, Miss speedy amazing runner girl! And it’s great that you’ll be getting your bike and swim on too. You’re just one big ball of energy 🙂 Love it! The last 5k I did was down the shore…so I technically traveled to do it. But it was a 2 hour drive so I don’t think that really counts. And I have not been to Seattle! Would you like a stowaway in your suitcase? I would make an excellent marathon sidelines cheerleader 😉 Have a great day, pretty lady. Lub ya <333

  3. I’m traveling home for a race in October but I would LOVE to do a destination race like disney. Someday… Until then, I’ll have to be happy with seeing my parents. that’s okay too 😉 But anyways, I’m super excited for your marathon and I can’t wait to see what you do with it!!!

  4. Yay!!! I’m sooooo excited for you!!! I feel like if I decided to run a marathon, my running plan would be similar to yours. No way could I run everyday haha, I think I would keep my workouts the same, but the weekend runs would be my long runs too. I’ve never traveled for a race, but when I do, I’ll defiantly be looking forward to it. I just feel that traveling for it, will make it sooo much more fun, but that’s probably because I like traveling hahaha. I’ve drove through seattle, unfortunately I have yet to try their Starbucks coffee :(. Btw, I nominated you guys for the Liebster Award 🙂

  5. Awesome choice!!! I’m sure that will be a gorgeous marathon!! Though… to be honest you may not be avoiding those hills as much as you like. I was struggling just walking around with my sis a few weeks ago there. BUT – it is STUNNING…. so it will at least distract you significantly 🙂 CONGRATS on the sign up, very very exciting stuff. And Dec 1 is actually a nice time of year to do a full. Should be perfection!

  6. I hear Seattle is one of the best cities to run in! You would probably know better than most! I’ve never travelled for a race but would love to. I wouldn’t mind just travelling anywhere for any reason at this point though. Is it possible I have Cabin Fever in my own city???

  7. I have never been to Seattle but how exciting for you to get to run a marathon there! I don’t follow training plans, I like to do my own thing…Traveling to races is so fun in my opinion – I travel to Hershey for the Hershey half and get to do so again in October!

  8. My first half marathon I traveled to Disneyland!! IT makes the race SO much more fun making it a mini vacation. OMGGG YOU’RE COMING TO SEATTLE!!!! I MUST MEET YOU!

  9. I love the puppy pics! Good for you for getting back to it, this marathon looks like so much fun! I’ve never traveled for a race, but this weekend I’m headed to Virginia Beach to do the Rock n Roll half down there. I’m really excited! For the race, but especially for the nice long weekend and the beach. 🙂

  10. congrats!! thats very exciting! and thats so cool you’re from washington. i think you’re the first person i “know” from washington…im not even kidding. ive never been to seattle. btw the senator is really stealing the show in this post, he’s such a little ham! im obsessed with this dog 🙂

  11. the Seattle course is awesome from what i hear, although i’ve yet to run it. it’s a goal of mine though since i absolutely love the city. 🙂

    i’ve only traveled once for a race… well, it was in a city 3 hrs away in the same state, if that counts.

    great training plan. i’m with you on needing to have a plan.

  12. I’M SO EXCITED FOR YOU!! We can be virtual training buddies…the Houston marathon is 6 weeks after Seattle! (Although now that I think about it, 6 weeks is kind of a long time…) But I’m so excited to hear more about your training and especially your race!! You go girl!

  13. You are too cute! I’m also really excited for you and I’m already tired just by reading that you have to run 20 miles. I’m sure you’re going to nail it but to me it means I could loop the whole city of San Francisco 3 times in one run! That’s a lot!!

    I went to Seattle when I was 8, does that count? 😉

  14. Girl, you’re crazy. Haha, no I kid. That’s awesome that you’re running another marathon. I can’t imagine running for that long but I think it’s amazing that did one in that amount of time.
    I didn’t know you were from Washington! I’ve never been there but it looks like a pretty awesome place. Especially Seattle…so exciting!
    p.s. the picture of you and the senator is so adorable!

  15. Congrats on choosing your next marathon! I’m so excited for you! 🙂 I definitely agree about having some cross training in there. When I ran for my college, I loved the pool/bike days, and I remember feeling a lot fresher for the race.
    I’ve never been to Seattle but I have school friends from out there and have ALWAYS wanted to visit!!

  16. This is amazing!!! I’m so pumped for you! I also know that you will kick ass. I have never been to Seattle but it’s very high on my list of places to visit. I can’t wait to read about your training!!!!

  17. Hi, my name is Meghan and I’m a badass! Girl – you are going to blow this marathon out of the water. And Seattle – GORGEOUS! Ben spent some time there in college and I’ve always wanted to travel there. What a perfect place to run 26.2 miles and then indulge like crazy. Kisses to the Sen!

  18. Pingback: A Little Friday Inspiration… | Fit.Fun.Femme

  19. Yay!!! How exciting!! The farthest we have traveled for a race is from here to Las Vegas (about 3 hrs driving time) for my hubby’s first full marathon last December. Usually our half marathons are about one hour driving time away. I always use a training plan as a guideline and go week by week and make the appropriate changes based on how I feel.

Speak your mind!

