Friday Fun with Friends at Five

It’s a miracle, everyone. Meghan, my boyfriend, and I finally woke up at 5 am and went to the gym this morning. That’s the first time this week. And it comes after four other failed attempts. 1 outta 5 ain’t bad right?

Before this morning, this is how I felt about our efforts (or lack thereof) this week.

gymecard 

Well at least we got up and did it today. That counts for something. And I got a nice leg day out of it since I was unable to do that last night with my man. I was sick all day yesterday and had all of about zero energy. I mustered up just enough energy in order to walk around the gym aimlessly, contemplating whether or not I was going to attempt a workout. Inevitably, after walking back and forth across the weight room floor about, oh, seven times, I made my way out of the gym and went to Kroger so I could walk around there aimlessly for 25 minutes, contemplating which kind of cookies I wanted, and in the end, not buying any of them. Super successful failed attempt at…everything.

workout-ecard 

For realsville, I’m glad I didn’t work out last night. I needed to rest so I could feel better this morning and kill it on some squats and dead lifts. Which I did 🙂

workout ecard

Here’s some stuff I cooked and ate – sorry, I’m not good at using descriptive words.

Chocolate Raspberry Coconut Mug Cake

coco rasp mug cake

  • 1 banana
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp shredded coconut
  • 1 small handful fresh raspberries
  • 1 packet stevia
  1. Stir all ingredients together
  2. Pour into a large mug
  3. Microwave for 3 minutes
  4. Enjoy 🙂

Last night after the gym my guy and I made some Paleo Chik-fil-a, courtesy of Stupid Easy Paleo. Yum yum yum yum yum yum yum yum. I told you I’m not good with descriptors.

This recipe was really simple and the chicken turned out perfectly – the resulting product was true to the pictures on her site.

paleo chikfila

Side note: After sitting in the condiment aisle for way too long, reading ingredients, and weighing my options, I decided to buy the Kroger brand honey mustard. Of all the honey mustard bottles I picked up (which was all of them), the Kroger brand was the only one that didn’t have high fructose corn syrup listed as an ingredient. And it was two dollars less than the name brands. Come on French’s, what the eff is that b. shit? Moral of the story: you don’t always have to spend more to be healthy.

paleo chikfila 2

Since I can’t cook well enough to create recipes on my own, I like to follow recipes I find all over blogland. One of my biggest pet peeves is spending the time, effort, money, energy, etc. to create one of these amazing recipes and have it turn out literally nothing like it was supposed to. I’m sure some of it is because I’m not domestic in the slightest, however, most of it is because, well, I don’t know why. But I hate it so much. Why can’t they just turn out how they’re supposed to?? If anyone can help me out with answering this, I would really appreciate it. Because this shit is getting old.

Back to this morning – after the gym, we immediately went to Kroger. There was only one item on our shopping list: Birthday Cake Oreos. If you haven’t tried them, don’t. They will be the end of you.

When we got back, Meghan dunked hers in coconut milk and I expressed to her and my boyfriend that I was going to eat mine with goat milk. They were both immediately disgusted, as they detest even the sight of the carton in our fridge. My man’s reply was this: “Ugh, that stuff literally tastes like butter from a butthole.” Not sure what that means, but maybe I’m into that sort of thing. I’m not. But I also think goat milk is delicious. It’s super rich and creamy, which I love. Whole milk is my favorite and this reminds me of it. Yum yummy yummers and such.

Here’s my breakfast, complete with goat milk and oreos. I thought Meghan and my dude would appreciate this:

goat milk collage

I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend. Seriously can’t believe it’s already Friday, eek! <—Haha, so silly because I don’t “eek!”

Happy Birthday to Beth at Mangoes & Miles!!!

What is everyone doing this weekend? Date night tonight, Walk, Wag, n Run 5k tomorrow 🙂 I hope every Atlanta blogger signed up for this!

Does anyone else experience what I do when it comes to recipe results? Or are you scoffing at the mere thought because you’re just that amazing?

Am I the only one who likes goat milk?

– Rebekah

25 thoughts on “Friday Fun with Friends at Five

  1. bahahaha um where to start.

    1) allllll of the e-cards in hurr. yes. love them. my life, my hopes, my dreams.

    2) yay 5 am!! but sheesh its difficult. i was half asleep this morning when i left at 430 and put my roommates carton thing of full beer out for recycling. i guess my muscles were still asleep and didn’t note/mind how heavy it was and that maybe the beer cans inside weren’t empty? bahah.

    3) i love your gym and kroger outings yesterday. i hope you are feeling better!

    4) i’ve never had goat milk.

    5) and yes about trying blogger recipes and fail! i’ve been trying to get up the nerve to try this chia seed pudding recipe i found at choosing raw [ i think. worst blogger e-v-e-r , cant properly credit] but i’m pretty sure i’ll mess it up and it will turn me off chia seeds forever.

    6) bye. have a great weekend ladiezzz.

  2. your title is an alliteration sensation! The Ecards are hilarious hahaha. Whenever I try recipes I find online they usually don’t turn out like they are supposed to. I think this is because I have a terribly difficult time following directions exactly (which is ridiculous considering I am a teacher)

    OMG THOSE COOKIES LOOK DELICIOUS PLEASE FOR THE LOVE OF DOG SAVE ME SOME.

  3. Oof, starting next week I have to change my 6:30 workout time to 5:30 twice a week and I am NOT looking forward to it.

    This week I am running a 4K Tap n. Run race. At every K you have to drink a beer! Totally healthy, right 😉

    • I just tried to comment on my iPhone and it didn’t want to cooperate, eff my iPhone! Anyways, your boyfriends feelings towards goat milk is hilarious- gotta love butthole butter.. I haven’t tried the Birthday Cake Oreos, they sound like heaven!

  4. yumm cookies. true story- a few days ago my boyfriend asked me to help him do some annoying manual labor type stuff at his apt this weekend and i was like “no” and then without missing a beat he goes “i thought you’d say that, which is why i bought cookies and left them at my apt. you can only have them if you come over and help. deal?” and i was like “yes”. so thats what im doing this weekend because my love of cookies is that strong. i must try these bday cake oreos of which you speak.

    also nice work for doing such an early gym session and im glad you’re feeling better and goats milk sounds really gross and i too am horrible in the kitchen when making other peoples recipes. have a great weekend!

  5. Ooooh…the mug cake looks fabulous. I love that it’s single serve and doesn’t require a lot of ingredients. The chicken looks super tasty too! I’ve never tried goats milk before. I like goat cheese; although, I’m sure that tastes pretty different. I would definitely try it out though.

  6. waking up at 5am to workout is HARD but if you do it enough, it’s actually better because you get that out of the way and as you’re showering and getting ready, you feel so awesome and like, I JUST DID 45MINS OF INTERVAL LIFTING AND HAD BREAKFAST BY 6AM; WHAT DID YOU DO TODAY, BITCHES?! lol kidding (sortanotreally).

    and it’s good that you didn’t workout when you felt ill; i always do that and regret it because it just makes me feel worse.

  7. Thanks for the birthday shout out, girlie! Especially love the colors 😀 I actually found the same thing with honey dijon mustard…the grocery store’s brand was the only one that didn’t have any HFCS. It’s so weird, but hey, it works out for us, I guess. 🙂 YAY for getting up early and working out! I might have to do that starting next week because in Ohio I have the luxury of getting up a little later but in Houston at 5 temps are already in the 70s sooooooooooooooooo. Running at 5am’s gonna be oodles of fun.

  8. Butter from a butthole!?!? Hahah best line ever!! That mug cake looks amazing, you are killing me with all these yummy paleo foods! Have a wonderful weekend girl!!

  9. That paleo chick-fil-a looks awesome! I love stupid easy paleo…I also love that ecard about working out!!! Do I still have to work out if I just talk about it on my blog? I think it’s good enough! Have an awesome weekend ladies 🙂

  10. At least you made it out the door! I also wander around aimlessly when I’m sick as well. I’ll go back home and think to myself, “What the hell did I just do for the past hour?”

    PS: I didn’t even know you can buy goat milk! I’m not a fan of goat cheese so I think I’ll pass on that

  11. Hahaha love all those workout pictures…..I feel the exact same way. Hey it’s a start!!! 1 out of 5 is better than none 🙂 Ugh that mug cake, can I just say, I’m drooling, so attractive haha. Buuuuttt to be honest, mug cakes semi gross me out, I’m not sure why. Maybe because I microwaved my egges once and that was super gross, now I guess I relate mug cakes to that when I shouldn’t. Mug cakes didn’t do anything! Anyways. Those Oreos…..for reals, you should put them in a banana smoothie, only takes a couple. It is the best smoothie ever!!!! 🙂 Plans for this weekend, are lovely math homework, Eng homework, and maybe some Medical Terminology homework, all the while I need to fit in some time with the boyfriend where we can actually have a conversation (the only convo we had was yesterday – due to how much hw I’ve had)

  12. I saw that recipe for paleo chick-fil-a nuggets too!! I totally understand what you are saying with recipes not coming out right! This week was not good for the new recipes I tried making. They turned out ok, just not what I thought it was going to be. It gets VERY frustrating!! So next week I’m making an oldie but goodie, spaghetti squash and meatballs!! Those I know will turn out delicious!!! Believe me if I lived in Atlanta I would totally be at that 5k tomorrow! 😄

  13. I thought that paleo chick fil a was the actual thing. It looks soo good!
    And go Kroger… I’m all about that place haha, their store brand Greek yogurt rocks!

  14. I’ve finally been able to add you on feedly- I couldn’t do it for ages!
    I’ve never tried goat milk- I’m lactose intolerant but I’ve always stuck to soy and almond milk…not sure if goat milk has lactose??

  15. Pingback: More Spaghetti…and more other shit too | fitnesscrEATures

Speak your mind!

