How to be Unprepared

Here’s how unprepared Rebekah and I are for our half this weekend.

Item One:

Consume a ridiculous amount of greasy food that you NEVER eat a few nights before the race.

photo (10)

 photo (11)

 photo (12)

Fried pickles, cheese dip, black bean burger and fries. It’ll probably bite me in the butt later.

Item Two:

image001

Sign up for a race months and months in advance but overlook the fact that it is on a trail. Along with this oversight, don’t train on trails, just train on fancy sidewalks and pavement and treadmills. No worries, right? I’m sure I’ll say wrong after tomorrow.

Item Three:

Skip tons of long runs, especially the one the weekend directly before. Oops.

tumblr_mg9upeeMTJ1rct7z4o1_500

Item Four:

Sign up for a NIGHT TIME trail race. Who has ever run a half marathon at night? I don’t get it.

paranoid-parrot-meme-running-at-night

(Source.)

We have to spend all day waiting around and then when we get done, it’ll be late at night and pointless to do much else because we’ll be so tired. Hmm.

Item Five (the final reason we aren’t as prepared as we should be):

Do different workouts than normal the week leading up to the race so that you’re super duper sore leading up to 2+ hours of straight running.

tumblr_min3c6Xpuj1rya6a0o1_500

(Source.)

So if you follow these guidelines, I guarantee you’ll feel less than prepared come race day. Wish us luck, though I feel we’ll need more than that! 🙂

How do you prepare for a race?

Do you have a race this weekend?

ANY advice for trail runs (Lish, I’m looking at you!)??? We’ll take ANYTHING!

-Meghan

35 thoughts on “How to be Unprepared

  1. it depends on the trail; some are pretty flat, some are pretty technical. if it’s been rainy, you’ll need trail shoes that have treads for grip otherwise you may be slipping and sliding and have trouble on the hills. trails are a totally different animal; the uneven ground will wreak havoc on your ankles/knees if you haven’t trained on them but i don’t think you guys will be too bad since you are runners anyway… although the hills might be tough 😦 when i did trails the first time, my legs were ok except the day after my ankles were a little sore. more importantly, KEEP A EYE OUT FOR ROOTS AND LARGE ROCKS/STONES! stepping on those can trip you (ie. face plant) or turn your ankle (ouch) so keep a keen eye on the ground as well.

    most of all, good luck! and that stuff you ate = carb loading which = more energy 🙂

    • Thanks Kathy! At this point, we are both just ready to get it over with! 🙂 It’s supposed to rain, so that will be wonderful… Ha! Will post a recap first thing on Monday!

  2. Good luck this weekend! I think you’re going to surprise yourself, honestly. I do best when I go in not even thinking or caring about it. It will make it seem way less bad if you work it up to be terrifying!

    • Thanks girl! Yeah, I agree, I never really think too hard about races because frankly I value my training runs more than races… Have a great weekend!

  3. Omg lol…..I’m so sorry. I’d be a mess if I was in your situation. Just be careful of rocks! Especially since it’s a night! And just make sure your hydrated and didn’t eat anything that may not end well during the race earlier in the day. Otherwise I don’t have really much of any advice lol I’ve never ran a trail race, always wanted to. Hey, at least you can say you’ve ran one now :D. You guys will do great!!! Don’t worry.

    • GOOD point! Yay, another thing to cross off my fake bucket list! 🙂 Thank you for the love and support!!!!!

  4. Hahahahahahaha. I’m looking forward to your recap already! I’m sure you’ll be fine, and if worst comes to worst, you can run super slowly and laugh and chat and hopefully not feel sick the entire time. 😛 Best of luck and have a great weekend! (But really…who runs at trails at night?!)

    • Haha I think I’ll recruit Rebekah’s sarcastic writing skills and my vague recap skills to come up with a beautiful post about the race! Have a great weekend!

  5. LOL, this is my kind of post 🙂 however, #1- you guys are just about the fittest, most IN SHAPE people out there- you’re going to slaughter those trails. ( <—is that an expression? sounds like one right?) #2- you guys are great night runners! i have the blog evidence to prove it! and #3- all that delicious fried food will simply serve as energy. you guys are in your 20s! thats how 20-something metabolisms work! you could practically eat a vat of fried everything and be fine!!

  6. Hahahahahaha ok, i know i shouldn’t laugh at this, but the way you wrote it and the gifs you used were too perfect. You guys have the best attitude ever about almost everything as far as i can tell 🙂 i love that you can laugh at yourselves and one another and just roll with things…definitely an inspiration to me when i get frustrated by things either out of my control or that i just completely missed haha. All i can say for this race (since i’m NOT a trail runner…or night runner for that matter) is have fun, chalk it up to another experience, and make some fabulous memories to share with the rest of us on Monday 😉 Good luck!!

    • i am expecting it to be more fun than serious and i’m super excited about that prospect! thanks lady!! enjoy your long run tomorrow (hopefully pain free!!)!!!

  7. ohhhh boy…haha…ok- don’t freak out. here’s the best pieces of advice i can give you..1. be prepared to run at a slower pace then you usually do. Trail running is a lot more taxing on the body and you just gotta slow it down a bit.
    2. trail specific shoes are good, but it’s probably a little late for that…not a huge deal, but be sure to watch your footing for rocks, roots, etc…all trails are different though, and yours may be groomed well.
    3. check your elevation gain/loss…if you aren’t use to running uphill/downhill for extended periods, that can be a bit scary if you aren’t prepared.
    4. fuel properly…trail races usually take A LOT more energy, so you need to make sure you are hydrating and eating.
    5. stretch afterward, foam roll, ice bath…you are going to use muscles you’re not use to using and ya may get a bit sore afterward.
    6. Is it seriously at night??! BE CAREFUL! And, wear a headlamp. Make noise so animals don’t jump out and eat you 🙂
    It’s going to be an experience no matter what and I am even more excited for you now!! Can’t wait to hear all about it!!!

    • you are so thorough, thank you! i didn’t even think about the fact that it will definitely be a different feel regarding muscle use! YAY i can’t wait to report back about how much of a disaster/success it will be! luckily it’s mostly flat with more downhill than uphill so that’s a relief. have a great weekend lady!

  8. Who cares, you guys are going to power through that bad boy and own that race! Can’t wait to hear the recap and good luck on the trails. 🙂

  9. ohhhh boy lol – just take it slow and you guys will be fine. Pace yourself and I may suggest you don’t try to PR…I don’t know from trail runs so I won’t even attempt to give advice nor do I run at night. I am useless here I think..eat some watermelon – good luck girls!

    • i was thinking about PR’ing but I’ve since changed my mind, great call… i’ll pr another time! have a great weekend and thank youuuu!!!

  10. I think I’m the only person that doesn’t like to know much about a race before i run it. I like the course, kills, terrain, etc. to all be a surprise so I don’t anticipate any of it.

    You two will be A-OK, I am sure of it :). Just have fun. If all else fails, you’re burning a shit ton of calories and you can reward yourself with something amazing afterwards :).

    • haha you’re so silly i love it! well i’m going to be prepared for our half – it’s supposedly super hilly, so your fave!!

  11. Haha, those are great tips! A trail run in the dark? That’s definitely adventurous! At least you have each other to lean on if it doesn’t work out as planned. No matter what you did or didn’t do to prepare, it sounds like it will be fun and I’m sure you’ll both rock it! 🙂

  12. Hahaha, oh gosh. You can do it!! A few years ago I went to the race expo for the Richmond Marathon & Half–my mom was running the marathon, and I was planning to meet her and do like, 5 miles, because I hadn’t trained. Well, I got so caught up in the expo excitement that I signed up for the half. I ran the half (in roughly the time I usually do), then met my mom at mile 17 of the marathon, planning to run a mile with her. The mile turned into two… then three… and I ended up finishing the race with her. That’s right–22 miles when I was planning to run 5. Hahaha. I can’t even express how sore I was the next day. It was unbelievable.
    My point is, you can do it. You don’t have to train perfectly, or eat perfectly, or even plan on doing it 24 hours in advance 😉 I can’t wait to hear how it goes!!

  13. Pingback: Weekly Recap: Workouts and Spencer Pratt | Fitness Moves You

  14. Sorry, just now catching up on all my blogs this morning! Hope everything turned out okay?! I have never done a trail race before and at NIGHT! You guys are brave!! My hubby did his first full marathon at night in Las Vegas and it was hard even for me (who wasn’t running it) to have to wait around all day. I think I would rather wake up at 3 in the morning for an early morning race.

  15. Pingback: I Almost Forgot! | fitnesscrEATures

Speak your mind!

