Bunny Wabbits

Warning: this post is extremely boring. Try not to hate it. Or me.

Super ambiguous sentence comin’ your way. This weekend wasn’t exactly the healthiest weekend, although it wasn’t exactly the unhealthiest either. Told ya.

Friday night we headed over to my boyfriend’s sister’s place to get some time in with his family. I ate a couple pieces of Little Caesar’s Pizza and a few bites of chocolate ice cream. It was a very Paleo-friendly meal. We picked up a few things at the store on the way home and decided to splurge and get some Annie’s Mac & Cheese. It was bunny-shaped 🙂 Everyone knows that bunny-shaped tastes better. Duh. I used coconut milk to mix the cheese in, and added some ground beef, bacon, and red bell pepper. Yummy.

bunny wabbits

Super healthy Friday night. I also felt bad for not working out, but seeing as it was my first day off in 10 days, I knew I needed to take a rest day.

Saturday morning I was going to make my delicious Paleo coconut flour pancakes. Sadly, I didn’t realize I was out of coconut milk until the morning of, so I altered the recipe a bit and made Greek yogurt coconut pancakes instead 🙂 They were pretty good, but not as good as the real deal, so there’s no use in posting the recipe.

yogurt pancakes

yogurt pancakes 2

And, in the lovely way that only Mollie can describe this, BAAAAACCCCOOOOONNNNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!!

After breakfast, we met up with my guy’s family at the mall for a little bit of back to school/ tax-free shopping. I don’t like shopping. I always find a reason NOT to buy anything. I’ll try on a million things (which is probably the most annoying part) and usually walk out of the store with nothing. So, I was kinda proud of myself when I ended up purchasing two pairs of shoes and 3 cami tank tops. I spent $34 total on the shoes and $5.40 on the tanks. I usually shop at good will, so the price point here was right up my alley.

new shoes

Also, I drive a Honda.

Oh, um, here’s something else I saw while shopping:

candy

Of course I told Meghan immediately. We were both extremely tempted but managed to resist the urge. Regardless, their marketing strategy is on point. Random, enormous candy stand in the dead middle of a crowded mall = genius.

Saturday night, I concocted a basil turkey burger, threw it over some arugula, topped it with a fried over-medium egg, and paired it with some sweet potato fries. Nom nom.

basil turkey

sp fries

  • Basil Turkey Burger – 1/4 lb turkey, 1 tbsp fresh minced basil, 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1/4 tsp black pepper, an itty bitty bit of goat cheese. Form into a patty and pan fry on medium heat in coconut oil for a few minutes on each side until thoroughly cooked.
  • Sweet Potato Fries – 3 sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2 inch thick pieces. Toss in olive or coconut oil, sea salt, and cinnamon. Place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake for 40 minutes at 425 degrees.

We worked out Saturday night – chest, triceps, and abs. I didn’t take any pictures. You don’t care about my dumb workout pictures anyway. Win win.

Sunday we woke up and had mimosas, then I went to the pool and read for an hour. Then I came home, started feeling a-w-f-u-l, took a three hour nap due to a massive headache, and after feeling nauseous for another few hours, I threw up. Thrilling day, right? I can’t remember the last time I threw up from just being sick rather than being overly drunk or hung over. Apparently it was the mimosas. I’m sure the heat didn’t help, either. That’s never happened before. I hope it never happens again. It sucked.

Our half is this Saturday. I was supposed to run 8 miles on Sunday, but my body preferred to feel like a s**tbag instead, so I didn’t run. Not so sure how I’m going to do with this half. I guess I’m just gonna run uuuuuuber slow and deal. I’ll get through it, but there might be some walking to report in the recap afterward.

This post turned from bunnies to throw up way too quickly. Sorry.

I hope none of this ruins your lunch today.

Do you buy regular-shaped pasta or fun-shaped pasta?

What was the last thing you bought when you went shopping?

Do you get sick when you drink mimosas?

– Rebekah

34 thoughts on “Bunny Wabbits

  1. I LOVE mimosas, but occasionally the champagne just is not my friend and I end up with a killer headache. This being so, champagne is still one of my favorite drinks. I never learn. No nausea, thank God. But still, I feel your pain. That is just no fun.

    I actually can’t remember the last time I had pasta. I irrationally have kind of removed pasta from my life as being too full of carbs. In reality, I should make nice with it because it is freakin’ delicious and I am missing out. In my less knowledgeable of days, I would order pasta with creamy cheese sauces when I went out all the time. Which is fine in moderation, but really who can be moderate when it comes to cheese?

    I enjoy your gym photos. Please feel free to include them in the future 😉 <33 Happy Tuesday!

    • Yeah, it super sucked. I need to remember that in the future. Yep, I don’t ever eat pasta. Like EVER. Dude, right. I love cheese pasta. Fettuccine alfredo was my all time favorite dish when I was little. Add some seafood and I’m in heaven. And a coma. Thanks girl. I’ll try to take some next time. A very happy Tuesday to you as well!

  2. I don’t think this was a boring post. In fact, it sounds like you had a pretty awesome weekend! I’m totally digging that mac n cheese and those sweet potato fries! Yum! And…I LOVE those shoes! They’re killer!

    • Haha, thanks. I really didn’t have much to report. They were both delicious. Thank you – I think I will wear them tomorrow 🙂

  3. yum mimosas are the best! (until they make you vom) sorry to hear about that! sounds like a lovely weekend up until that point though! and i love fun shaped pasta- i need to get the bunnies on my next trip to the market! nothing beats annie’s. i try not to shop also, but that means i cant try anything on. if i try it on, its harder to walk away from. its like an alcoholic just having 1 drink…

    • Yep, best and worst. So sucky. So true. Annie’s is wonderful. I like my mac n cheese to be without toxic ingredients, so Annie and I have a good relationship. Although she’s still made of grains, so that part of our relationship is a bit strained. Oh wow. I just made an accidental pun. I’m not sure if I should be proud or ashamed. The latter seems more appropriate.

  4. I totally buy the bunny shaped pasta, in fact I picked up more boxes this morning! You will do great in the half, just start hydrating and eating your watermelon and sweet potatoes and bananas (at least that is what I eat during the days before a race lol)…I don’t throw up from mimosas, rather, I faint randomly If I drink a sip too much of any alcoholic beverage. Not pleasant.

    • Yum! Good idea – I ate a sweet potato and half of a banana before my last half and it was perfect. Oh wow, that’s absurd. Doesn’t sound pleasant at all 😦

  5. Aw boo for a sick Sunday 😦 i’m sorry that happened! I have found that in the heat, my body does NOT handle alcohol well. I can have maybe one beer or one marg and then I’m done. Anything more and I know I’ll get sick. What will be will be as far as your race goes. I would say go into it looking to have fun more than anything…make an awesome playlist, put together a kick ass ensemble and run/walk/sing/dance your heart out for those 13.1 miles 🙂 then go have fun shaped pasta to celebrate since that’s always the way to go!

    • Hahaha. Such a great comment! Very good idea. I’ll just look really cute and not care that I’m gonna suck hard at the actual activity. Pasta and beer 🙂 Perfect.

  6. I love Annie’s Mac and Cheese – it just makes me happy, no matter what shape the pasta comes in. I wish had your dislike of shopping. I like to shop all the time and for anything! Good luck this weekend!!! You will do better than you expect 🙂

  7. I love Annies Mac n Cheese! Nom! Cute shoes too!
    So sorry to hear about your hangover. I’m surprised a few mimosas did that to you. Hmm.
    I love them but they do give me an occasional headache afterward.

    • Thanks! Haha, I don’t think it was so much of a hangover as it was mimosa poisoning. Is that a thing?? I’ve had a lot of people tell me they get headaches and tummy aches after drinking them.

  8. I don’t really buy pasta but when I do, it’s the boring whole wheat kind. i recently ordered 2 running hats because they were on sale for $12! i was waiting for them to go on sale (reg price $22) so I basically got two for the price of one. WINNING!

  9. After I saw your pic on Instagram for the pasta/ground beef recipe I picked up the Anne’s mac and cheese, the farm animal shapes, for my son and I added the ground beef too. My son loves it!! Thank you! I am always looking for “new” things to make him, he has been very picky these day 😦
    I don’t really like shopping either only when it is running gear related 🙂 I was just at my local running store a couple weeks ago!! Oh and thanks for the image of you throwing up! Yuck! That is never fun 😦 Hope it was just a one time thing 🙂 Love following you guys on Instagram!!

    • I’m glad I could provide some inspiration for your son’s meals 🙂 I’m a child so it would make sense that he would like the stuff I eat, haha. Me too! I bought 3 workout tanks the other day and I loved it 🙂 Sorry, girl! Not pretty, I know. But I figured I could share my best and worst days with all of you, as I’m sure we’ve all been through similar experiences, even if mine was mimosa-induced 😉 I know! I love following you too!!!

    • It was difficult. I stood and stared for a good 5 minutes and then my boyfriend had to pull me away.

  10. All that candy and sweet potato fries look soooo good! I love going to the candy shops, at least anytime I go somewhere and I know there is one. I will hunt one down when I go somewhere new lol. Last thing I bought was workout clothes!!! Haven’t bought any in a long time.

    • I love going to candy shops in other cities when I’m on vacation. There are great ones down in Savannah, GA and there was an awesome one on the cruise ship (although we never went :()

  11. Oh no! Sorry you felt shitty! And you got major willpower for resisting that candy- I so wouldn’t have haha! And the basil burger/egg combo sounds so yummy- I would have never thought to have an egg with that!!

    • Thanks girl! I NEVER get sick. Like ever. So this sucked hard. Oh well. Thanks! I was just adding whatever I could from what I had in my fridge. I could probably add an egg to everything I eat. I love them. Eggs on candy?? Maybe not.

  12. Okay, maybe I’m a super boring person myself, but I loved this post, ha!

    In fact, there’s so much that I need to make a list:

    – BUNNY PASTA. I always saw that shiz in the store and love animal-shaped anything, but yeah, it’s a little pricey. I’m glad to hear that it lived up to its awesome packaging 😀
    – I DESPISE shopping. I hate trying things on, I hate having to look through all of the racks, and I hate all of the selection at “regular” stores. Plus, I’m hella cheap. I’m like you – I’d much rather dig through Goodwill. Sometimes you find really good stuff!
    – Ugh, yeah, I try really hard to avoid mixing alcohol and heat because it always makes me feel kinda sick. I can handle a light beer or maybe two, but that’s about it. I hope you’re starting to feel better! It’s smarter to rest up and skip a run instead of making yourself feel even worse.

    • Hahahah, you’re the best! I never buy pasta so I was down to splurge on the cost a little. Plus, considering that all the stuff I buy regularly is so effing expensive, it wasn’t too bad. I’m so happy to have found another girl who doesn’t like shopping 🙂 I’m with ya – I’d rather sort through goodwill stuff than the stuff at regular stores. And some of my best items have come from there 🙂 Yeah I’ve never had a problem before with beer or liquor or anything so it was really strange that mimosas did this to me. I agree. I’m gonna make up for it tonight a little with a 6 miler.

  13. fun-shaped pasta tastes wayyy better than regular in my book, especially bunnies : -)
    -I love shopping but I tend to get post-shopping guilt, especially when I know I’ve spent too much on something. You got some great deals lady!
    -Mimosas are one of my fave drinks, but I can’t drink them on an empty stomach. Hope you are feeling better!
    You have inspired me to bake sweet potato fries with cinnamon this week, yum yum!

    • Bunnies taste the best ever! Yep, I’ve definitely gotten that guilt before, which is why I try to avoid it 😦 Glad I’ve inspired you to make them! They’re soooooooo good. Dip them in some almond butter. Yum yum.

  14. It’s science that shaped Mac and cheese ALWAYS tastes better! I don’t know what they do, but I always loved shapes way more! Sorry you got sick bah! I hate throwing up. Missing one run won’t kill ya, you will do great this weekend! It will be more of a mental challenge. Your food all looks SO good.

    • I think you’re right about it being science. I’m going to use that as my excuse from now on when I buy it – “but blissfulbritt said it was science…what? that doesn’t make sense? I don’t care. It’s science.” Whole conversation with myself. Thanks! I hope so 🙂

Speak your mind!

