Stuffed Bell Peppers

These are almost Paleo.

stuffedpeppers

We topped these puppies with goat cheese before we threw them in the oven. So, if you want them completely Paleo, leave the cheese off 🙂

I used two different but similar recipes for inspiration when I made these:

I decided I wanted the “stuffing” to have a more Italian taste to it, so here’s my combination recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 4 bell peppers (any color)
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 cup shredded cauliflower
  • 1 6oz can tomato paste
  • 3 tbsp fresh basil
  • 4 tbsp grassfed butter
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Pre heat your oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Cut off pepper tops about 1 inch from the top of the pepper and remove seeds. Save tops to replace when baking.
  3. Chop cauliflower and process in a food processor or blender (I only used a cup of what I processed, but it would probably be better to use more) and set aside.
  4. Add 3 tbsp of butter to a large pan on medium heat – add your garlic. Wait about 3 minutes and add your ground beef.
  5. Add 1 tbsp of butter to a small pan and add spinach. Cook until wilted.
  6. Once your ground beef is almost done, add spinach and cauliflower and finish cooking.
  7. Transfer contents of the pan to a mixing bowl and combine with tomato paste.
  8. Fill each pepper with your mixture, leaving 1/2 an inch at the top for cheese. Fill to pepper rim if you choose not to add cheese.
  9. Place peppers in a baking dish, replace pepper tops, and bake for 35 minutes.

stuffedpeppers2

Remove and serve 🙂

It’s funny that I’m eating peppers. If you tried to feed me one of these like 3 months ago, I would have thrown up all over you.

stuffedpeppers3

Just one of these was plenty, and I enjoyed the second one for lunch the next day 🙂

—–

Before I dive into talk about my workouts the past couple days, I think it’s necessary that you all witness just how dedicated Meghan is to working out her thumbs and her social media lobes (<—I’m a doctor so I know that’s a real thing). And how dedicated is she? So dedicated that she strengthens these muscles while she exercises! Two-in-one workout, anyone???

phone workout collage

She hates me in that picture ^^^^. Well, she always hates me, but she’s just a little more transparent with her feelings here. SO, she’s really good at Instagram. But of course you already knew that. Check out her last post for some super charming pictures from our Body Works class last night 🙂 Super charming aka I look like an idiot.

Anyway, this class kicked my ass. The one from last week, eh not so much, but this one, whew! We were both d-r-i-p-p-i-n-g. Also –  when I was explaining this very experience to my boyfriend last night, I thought it would be cute to tell him in the most dyslexic way ever by saying “we were swipping dreat.” Yep. And swip dreat is what we did. That’s just how intense it was!…I don’t have any friends. You’re not surprised.

After this class, I went back to the gym with my man to get in a legs workout. Not my best. I think I was kinda pooped from the class earlier.

legs collage

I’m hoping I can go up in weight soon. I’m not trying to push it though. I really want to focus on my form, and make it perfect before I move up. Quality over quantity. I’m not trying to get injured either, because, well, I’m not really a doctor.

This morning I got up, dragged my butt to the gym and completed this little puppy, courtesy of my better half and the other fitnesscrEATure, Meghan.

earlyam

When I say “little puppy” it makes it sound like a sweet, fun workout. So please don’t get it confused when I tell you that IT SUCKED – in the best possible way, of course 🙂 It had me swipping dreat, yet again.

I feel like Meghan lately with all this working out I’m doing.

It’s almost Friday!!!!! I’m doing a dance. I actually just did one in my chair so I wouldn’t be lying to you.

Bye.

Does anyone else work out this much? These last couple weeks is the most I’ve ever worked out – 2-a-days, what is that crap??

Is anyone else accidentally dyslexic like yours truly?

Does anyone loathe goat cheese the way Meghan does? I love it, but Meghan absolutely hates it, and girlfriend is the epitome of a cheese lover.

– Rebekah

37 thoughts on “Stuffed Bell Peppers

  1. hahahaha this is so funny. i love a dyslexic statement that suddenly takes over and becomes a thing. in fact thats sorta how i came up with the name for my blog. also because i love things that rhyme. but where was i – oh yeah you guys are killing it with your 2 a days!! im so impressed!! also- i lovvve stuffed peppers, those look so good!

    • Haha, yeah I’m pretty sure I’ll start saying it on purpose and think I’m funny for a while then I’ll stop because Meghan will glower at me until I do. Probably best not to start. Thank you! I’m shocked I got out of bed today.

    • I actually thought of you and Brittany when I was writing this, deciding which kind of vegetarian option would be good in these. Lentils sound great. Quinoa sounds good too 🙂

  2. I hate goat cheese..it’s awful hahaha. I love that picture of Meghan..so good. WAY TO GO ON THE WORKOUTS!! BEASSSTTT!! Also, stuffed peppers are THE BEST!

  3. Hahahaha swipping dreat….now you sound like me 😉 i always get tongue tied when i’m really excited about something, really upset, or tipsy/drunk. I know how to keep things entertaining 😉 I love goat cheese on anything and everything…sandwiches, eggs, pizza, spoons…just like nut butters 😉 i’ll have to give these peppers a try! I’ve been wanting to make stuffed peppers for awhile so you just ensured they get mar next week!

    • Yummmy!!! I want some goat cheese on a spoon 🙂 Yes, please make them. I want some more pretty soon myself.

  4. I’m pinning this recipe because I will definitely be making it sometime in the near future. I love stuffed peppers, and this version looks pretty yummy!

  5. You should just come to my house and make me food every day. I feel like every time you post food, I immediately start drooling. (It’s really quite attractive.) And I think I’m going to have to disown Meghan as my friend. I don’t understand how it’s physically or psychologically possible to dislike goat cheese! Also jealous of your two-a-days! I wish my body was capable of being such a boss…but I’m a baby and need my rest or else I get injured too easily. 😦

    • “I wish my body was capable of being such a boss” Hahahahahaha. I’m seriously sitting here laughing by myself. You kill me. Thanks for all the compliments! I’ll let Meghan know that we’re new besties and she’s not allowed in the club. She’s been trying to get me to move out anyway. Why don’t you move here and we can get a place together. I’ll cook for you and we’ll have unlimited goat cheese at all times 🙂

    • Eh, I get it. I’m not in love with it either. Don’t get me wrong, everything is better with cheese. But I don’t NEED to have it. I think that’s been a pretty easy part of Paleo for me.

  6. I totally imagined you dancing in your chair while posting this! Too cute!
    I love stuffed peppers, they’re one of my favorite meals.
    And I think you are so smart for wanting to perfect your form before adding weight! I hurt my back doing body pump because I didn’t have great form or a strong enough core yet to handle the weight I was doing. It’s so much better to take your time and do it right!

    • Haha, it wasn’t attractive at all! Glad I was alone. Thank you. I think it’s the right call too 🙂 I hope your back has healed. Taking your time is much better – I’m not racing anyone.

  7. That bell pepper recipe has me drooling, yum!! Lol, multitasking with the texting and working out, I love it! I would totally do it too, if I wouldn’t knock myself unconscious with the weights or something!

  8. hehe you two sound and look like such fun work-out buddies, love it! Having a buddy to go to classes with and sweat with is the best.
    I’ve never tried goat cheese on stuffed peppers but I love the stuff so that looks great! Nice work with the 2-a-day workouts lady!

    • Yeah, it’s definitely fun to have a workout buddy, especially someone as belligerent as Meghan is 🙂 You’ve gotta try it then! Yum. Thank you!

  9. HAHAHAH best pics of Meghan ever. Seriously freaking hilarious. I love you two – keeping it real. Also those peppers look delicious! I’ve never thought of stuffing my peppers, but I’ll have to give that a go. I don’t eat beef, but I bet I could sub with some of my veggie meat stuff. YUM!

  10. Pingback: Chicken and Goat Cheese Stuffed Peppers | Chasing Chels

Speak your mind!

