But I Don’t Wanna…

Among tons of other excuses, the simple, basic, go-to excuse for me is today’s title. I just don’t want to get out of bed, I just don’t want to go to the gym, I just don’t want to go for a run. I have said all these things, and many more, since becoming an ‘active’ individual.

But you know what’s even louder than that voice?

f78c3e48c49c59ab8431c647da1541a3

(Source.)

The positive one cheering me on. The nice voice, calmly reminding me that working up a good sweat 5-6 days a week is healthy for me and will help me be a happier individual. The sweet voice telling me that I need to make the right decisions to help me become a better ME. And thank goodness the positive voice is louder than that belligerent voice – full of excuses and reasons to not do something that will benefit me greatly.

It hasn’t always been this way, of course, but it’s where I am now and I am grateful to be at this point. Last night, I wasn’t feeling up for the gym – but you know what? With my boyfriend as extra motivation atop my already renewed sense of excitement for working out, I got my whiney hiney up off the couch and worked up a killer sweat with this little circuit. 🙂

pyramid

When that was complete, I headed over to the treadmills, but alas, they were all taken. Elliptical it was for me and guess what? I didn’t hate it. I was dripping when I finished and pleasantly surprised at that fact.

la fitness

So to help me keep this positivity where it is, Mollie has tasked me with texting her everyday this week with one positive thing about my day – and it can be about anything. I’m loving her challenge to me and it’s helping me look for all the great things about my day – including my workouts! 🙂

Hooray for Wednesday!!

What’s the best excuse you’ve used to skip a task?

How many days a week do you workout?

What’s one positive thing that you have to share today? My boyfriend and I are officially flying to Seattle for vacation in early December!!!!!! But, more on that for a whole other post!!!!!!!! 🙂

-Meghan

49 thoughts on “But I Don’t Wanna…

  1. Love this post! There are plenty of things I don’t want to do, but once I make myself do them, I feel so much better. I always try to focus on the positive rather than the negative. Life is so much easier when you do!

    I work out 5 days a week and I love every minute of it! There’s nothing like the feeling after a good sweaty workout!

  2. Oh I LOVE that idea of mollie’s to text one positive thing about your day every day!! thats such a great practice to get into. i try to think of one thing im thankful for every morning to start my day. lets see one positive thing to share today… hmm, well tonight is date night with my dreamy boyfriend!! woohoo!

    • It really helps! When I was feeling pretty negative about life, the universe, and everything last winter it was soooo helpful to find one good thing about each day. Usually it was something stupid/weird/funny that a kid said but whenever you are having a bad day, its something nice to do 🙂

  3. I love it!! AWESOME positivity! And you’re soooo right about that little voice. Sometimes that sweet little one can be so helpful. I’m guessing it can be trained to be louder than the one that says “I don’t wanna!” Hmm… positive thing: I started running again this week. Yay! Thanks for the awesome cheerful post! And YAY for that trip to Seattle!!

  4. Numerous things I need to comment on:
    1- you said “whiney hiney” it essentially has made my day.
    2- HOW AWESOME IS MOLLY?! Can I text Molly one positive thing too?? Molly, are you reading this?!
    3-Love the Lulu top, I have it in red. Let’s wear them together and be patriotic.
    4-Did I tell you I got a Camelbak water bottle in pink after seeing your purple one up close and personal? I did, and I love it and it’s all because of youuuu!
    5-The elliptical is not my favorite but you go girl for making it work! If I do a HIIT workout on it, then it doesn’t seem too bad.

    Also, are you wearing really awesomely patterning capris? Or is it just the photo that makes it look that way? Either way I’m a creep for being so hardcore about staring at your pants.

    Have an AMAZING Wednesday, Meghan lovey! You are so bee-UT-tee-fulll! 🙂

  5. Such a great post. Everyone has those days when they’re just not feeling it, but the world seems 8000 times brighter once you’re done. 🙂 The best excuse I’ve used to skip a task: “I need to pee.” (My family wanted me to take Rosie out to pee, but I didn’t want to get off my butt or stand around waiting for her to pee, and I needed to pee…they then told me to take Rosie out and we could go pee together.)

  6. I hope today is filled with positivity for you! I definitely have days where I’m not feeling it. It happens. Actually that was me on Monday. Anyways, I understand the pain. Sometimes all we need is a friend to kick our butt out the door!

  7. I feel my best when I workout 5-6 days a week. One more occasions than I’d like to admit I’ve skipped a workout because I didn’t want to wash my hair.

  8. I rarely take full rest days because exercise is so a part of my routine that I feel off without it lol…that being said, I vary my workouts and choose active rest days such as going for a walk and only push the harder workouts as my body dictates.

  9. Ok the whiny hiny thing made me laugh out loud 😛 i love what you and mollie are doing this week! It sounds like a wonderful way to stay positive 🙂 Anytime i get in mood and don’t want to workout, i try to remind myself that it’s a gift to be able to do what i do ( run/yoga/whatever), and that usually helps turn things around 😛

  10. You know what my excuse is – I don’t wanna because I want to sleep. Except, those words never come out of my mouth in the morning because I don’t actually wake up long enough to utter them. I feel so unproductive compared to your kick ass evening. I got home last night, ate ice cream, read, fell asleep for 3 hours, ate more ice cream, watched the office, and went back to sleep. Hmm. I am now just a “crEATure” with a huge emphasis on the EAT part. BUT, for the positivity in this response – I’m ready to G-E-T I-T tonight with two classes back to back. Loving all the positivity yet again in the blogosphere – you and Runner Girl Eats are showin’ us up 🙂 Love this post girl, for real.

    • your excuse is a bunch of BS.
      your ice cream eating fest is a joke.
      you are so far from unproductive it’s ridiculous.
      you are affecting all effects in the world.
      you have always been, and will always be, a creature freak of nature (gumby).
      you failed at the two classes tonight and i’m furious.
      you are a huge butt hole. that’s it. nighty night.

  11. Love Mollie’s idea!! Hmmmm…..I’ll claim that my body needs rest lol then I don’t feel as bad about skipping a workout. Hooraayyy for workouts when you don’t feel like them though! They make the ones you want to do, that much better 🙂 Oh, and I just had to say this for the millionth time, I love your bright blue tank, too cute!!! Anyways, Boyfriends are great for that reason! Mine is always getting me pumped for a workout, when he’s gone I notice a big difference. The excuses start coming out of the bag ever week, multiple times a week. Woohoo! Can’t wait for the post about the December Vacation 😀

    • Rest days are absolutely important, especially when you do weights like you do! 🙂 Thank youuuu girly, it was so pricey so I’m trying to get all my money’s worth from it!! Aww, yay for you and your cute man! LOL me either, I want that vacation to come NOW!

  12. My excuse I always use is, “I don’t wanna!”. I was suppose to run last night a couple miles but started making too many excuses and pretty soon the sun had gone completely down. I don’t like running in the dark 😦 So, since I skipped last night’s run I am going to take Z with me on the trail and run a couple miles after my mom’s fitness group this morning! Thanks for motivating me!! 🙂 We are twinies! We have the same camelbak color! Love PURPLE!!! I workout 6 days a week and I love it!

  13. My excuse for not working out is pretty much always the showering thing. I hate doing my hair more than once in any given day, so unless I work out earlier in the day, that ends up being my excuse. Yay for Seattle! That city has been on my list of places to visit for YEARS (I actually considered moving there when I graduated from college), but I still haven’t been. That’ll be so much fun!

    • Haha, you can live vicariously through me when I visit. It’s where I’m from, it’s amazing and you should absolutely visit!!!

  14. I hear ya, I have these days often and every once in a while I will give in!! I must honor my bodies desire to rest just as much as I honor it while I sweat!! Way to get up and going!

  15. My excuse is sleeping! I wake up really early for work (taking two kids to school) that I’m home by 9:30 and feel like a one hour nap before a run. By the time I wake up, I’m just so not in the mood. I need to run before my nap or skip the nap all together. To do this, I need to not even look at my bed when I get home!

  16. I ripped open 3 calluses at CrossFit last night! I’m thinking that may be an excuse I use to skip my workout today haha. I need to at least pick up some tape and bandages before I workout!

    I typically CrossFit twice a week (I’m trying to bump it up to 3), I walk my dog a few times a week, and I get in some random low impact exercise here and there (spotting gymnastics, vball, other yard games).

    Positive thing: I’m only working 3 days next week and then we’re headed to a music festival 😀

  17. Nice work pretty lady! I think it’s safe to say we all suffer from hearing that voice every once in a while. I just like to think of the feeling I get after any sweat session; best feeling ever! Loving your purple camelbak…I need a new one and I may just copy you 😉 Yay for your booked vacation, hooray!

  18. Pingback: Blogging Inspiration |

Speak your mind!

