Playing Catch Up

Since my last two posts have been whiny and lecture-y, respectively, I thought I should play a little catch up with what I’ve actually been doing this past week – you know, as far as healthy living is concerned.

Last week, I…

  • Ate lots of salads.

saladcollage

And for whatever reason, I’ve been CRAVING anything and everything spicy. Peppers, Cholula, and Sriracha have been staples in my food lately.

  • Made a couple new recipes

avocadoburger

Avocado Stuffed Burgers. This absolutely scrumptious recipe is courtesy of The Civilized Caveman (<— recipe). I substituted the sundried tomatoes for chopped red peppers. We topped ours off with goat cheese and wrapped the burger in iceberg lettuce. A side of oven roasted brussels and asparagus, to boot. Mm mm mm!

tacowrapcollage

Spicy chicken tacos in lettuce “shells.”

Ingredients:

  • 1 head butter lettuce
  • 1 lb organic chicken breast
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp Cholula
  • 1 avocado
  • 1/2 red bell pepper (or yellow, green, orange, whatever)
  • 1 tomato
  • 3 tbsp chopped cilantro
  • goat cheese

Directions:

  • Chop up all veggies: tomato, avocado, red pepper, cilantro, and set aside.
  • Heat coconut oil in a pan on medium heat.
  • Chop chicken into small, 1 inch wide strips and toss in cumin, garlic salt, and smoked paprika.
  • Add chicken to pan – cook on each side for a few minutes – coat with the Cholula when the chicken is almost thoroughly cooked.
  • Remove from heat and add chicken and toppings to 2 or 3 pieces of butter lettuce.
  • Add goat cheese and extra Cholula (if you prefer).
  • Hold it like a taco.
  • Eat 🙂

I don’t know about you guys, but I much prefer lettuce to conventional tortilla shells. After eating these, I felt satisfied but not overly full or uncomfortable.

  • Worked out

legsday

deadlifts

Got our squattin’, dead liftin’, lungin’, and calf raisin’ on at the LA Fitness near our place.

plank

Morning run followed by some really cute planking 🙂

* Plank-a-day – my best time so far is 3:15.

10miles

Ran 10 miles. That’s my first double digit run since our half marathon last October. Our upcoming half is in two weeks. Yikes! Side note: I am NOT a runner. It doesn’t come easy for me and I don’t enjoy it. The process usually goes a little something like this: I dread it, I suffer through it, I’m glad I did it. That said, I like longer runs at a slower pace better than the shorter, faster paced runs – partially because I can’t run very fast. I get my stride around mile 4 and, at that point, I can almost get into it, get inside my head, and not worry so much about the physical pain. Hopefully I can achieve that during this half. Poor Meghan is gonna have to wait like half an hour at the finish line for me – sorry, girl 😦

  • Made some delicious desserts

chocmuffins

chocmuffins2

Chocolate Chip Protein Muffins. Yummy and Paleo, courtesy of PaleOMG (<— recipe). I used almond butter instead of sunflower seed butter. Also, these are labeled as protein muffins, but you can substitute the protein powder for coconut flour instead, which is what I did. Based on the reviews, apparently when other people used the same substitutions, they took rock-like biscuits out of the oven. That sucks. So, before I put mine in, I added 1/4 cup of coconut milk. This did wonders. My muffins turned out perfectly – tasty and not dry at all.

mugcake

Three Minute Chocolate Mug Cake. As a quick treat after the gym one night, I made this mug cake. It was super simple and satisfied my sugar cravings.

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder

Directions:

  • Blend banana, egg, and cocoa powder (I did it by hand, or you can use a blender)
  • Pour mixture into a mug
  • Microwave for 3 minutes
  • Don’t burn your hand removing the mug from the microwave
  • Turn mug upside down onto a plate – cake will slide out easily
  • Serve by itself or with fresh fruit

Lemonbarscollage

Luscious Lemon Bars. This is one of the best Paleo desserts I’ve made thus far. All thanks to Danielle at Against All Grain (<—recipe). I usually don’t care much for lemon-flavored desserts – I guess they’re too tart for me – but this stuff is hands down amazing. Most of the Paleo treats I make taste Paleo, in that you can tell they weren’t made with traditional ingredients. This, however, tastes like a dessert from any other sugar and flour loving bakery. This stuff is well worth the effort.

  • Relaxed

fado

Friday night outing with friends 🙂

pool

Saturday pool time. And some beer pong for those guys ^^^^. Oh, and whoever designed our apartment complex should look into finding a different career. Our pool is surrounded by buildings five stories tall, which means you can really only get about 4 hours of sunlight down there before the buildings cast a shadow over the entire pool area. Genius.

rusans

sushi

Couples date night at Ru Sans.

reading

Sunday afternoon reading with my man. I can’t remember the last time I actually just sat down and read a book out of my own volition. It was really relaxing, but not so much so that it put me to sleep <— that’s been known to happen with me and books.

Whew! Sorry, that was a lot. I guess that’s what happens when you document your life through pictures, but choose not to display them anywhere for over a week. I’ll work on that.

Has anyone created or followed a good recipe lately?

Is there a particular form of exercise you don’t enjoy?

Do you make time for reading? What was the last book you read?

Peace an’ blessin’s,

Rebekah

49 thoughts on “Playing Catch Up

  1. i love wrapping stuff in lettuce shells too, in fact I might just PREFER it to traditional tortilla shells. and to answer the questions: 1. “have you created or followed a good recipe lately?” Nope. ive done a lot of ordering out lately. 2. “Is there a particular form of exercise you don’t enjoy?” running 🙂 3. “Do you make time for reading? What was the last book you read?” YES! the fran lebowitz reader was the last book i read and it was so funny it made my life. other things that make my life are THIS blog, chocolate for breakfast, and possibly those lemon squares- i love lemon desserts and i want to try those!!!

    • Yay!!! We’re the same! Lettuce shells and no running. Also, this blog 🙂 Haha. Ok, how about this – I’ll trade you some lemon squares for some chocolate breakfast. Deal?

    • It’s a great book so far, not finished though. Haha, bro workouts. Today is leg day. I’m kinda looking forward to it. Mine need some work.

  2. Oh my gosh all of these recipes look amaaaaazing!! Avocado stuffed in a burger?? holy yum! And look at you looking all awesome and stuff working out! You are one of those freaks that actually looks good while working out- I on the other hand look like I’m dying

    • Thanks!! Yes, verrrry yum. Haha, yeah right. Girl, do you see how puffy my face is during that run?? You’ll see that I look nothing like that when you come down here. That was horrendous. Regardless, I felt like I was dying, so we’re still the same 🙂

  3. Sounds like you’ve been busy! I love trying new recipes! My husband always says we hardly ever eat the same thing twice because I’m always trying new stuff. It’s just SO fun! Speaking of new recipes the chicken tacos and mug cake sound awesome!

    • Me too! I’m not a good cook, but I can usually follow a recipe. It keeps things from getting dull when you do that. I have to every now and then or I’ll cry from food boredom. Thanks, they’re pretty tasty 🙂

  4. Very nice! Those recipes look awesome!! And you’ll do great in the half marathon… you can do it! I don’t particularly like any cardio workouts inside a gym–I do the, but I’d so much rather run outside, go hiking, or ride my bike than pedal an elliptical. Ugh. It makes me feel like a hamster.

  5. Which one of you in that picture is reading Game of Thrones? I’m obsessed with the series and highly recommend stopping your life now and just reading all five books 🙂

    • My boyfriend just started Game of Thrones. Haha, I’ll give him that recommendation and let you know what he does with it. Chances are, he’ll probably act on it. He loves that series too 🙂

    • I’m sure you can. You just have to pinch the two patties together, so I assume a black bean burger of sorts would work best.

  6. I. Want. All. Of. Your. Food. Seriously. I’ve also been meaning to make the three minute mug chocolate cake, but haven’t quite gotten around to it yet. Tonight, perhaps? I think it’s so adorable that Meghan loves running and that you love lifting. Perfect complements. 🙂 Unfortunately, I’m not in your camp–I love running, but lifting is such a chore for me. (A chore that doesn’t get done as often as it probably should be…)

    • Hahaha, come over and have some. I’ll make you a mug cake and then you and Meghan can go for a run 🙂 Yes, yes we’re a good little team. I try to run more and Meghan is trying to cross train more. You don’t have to lift a lot. Try doing a cardio based class that incorporates some weights, like body pump, or body works, as LA Fitness calls it.

  7. Holy crap you’ve been busy! It looks like you and Issac did an awesome leg day. It’s probably my last favorite body group to work out so props to you for rocking it! And I want all the food. You can make me avocado stuffed burgers any day of the week. And that sushi. I just need it. When I come back to ATL we will go to that sushi place. And I will order one of everything and refuse to share. Because I am so nice. Seriously though, you put two recipes in one post. That is impressive. Plus I hate to bake but love to eat , so we could make a good team! You make the food and then I hoard it all. On a random note – is it Friday yet?! This week is stressing me out. I need some alcohol. Hope your Tuesday goes by fast, pretty lady!! 🙂

    • Hahahah, you’re absurd. It was a pretty good leg day – hope today is better though 🙂 It’s the group that needs the most work for me, so I gots ta do it. Ok, when you come back we’ll eat nothing but sushi and food that I cook for you. I’ll slave away in the kitchen and you can taste test and rate my cooking. I’ll only do this on the condition that you get me an apron that says “Igor.” Dude, nope. Ugh, I’m sorry you’re stressed. I wish I could send you liquor in the mail. Hope your whole week goes by quickly!

  8. So.Much.Food. I’m drooling! You make so much yummy food, I’m jealous, I need to get more creative lol. I make time for reading every night. I read before I go to bed. I have trouble sleeping, so this helps me to relax and go to sleep a little easier 🙂

    • Haha, I’m glad you think so! Girl, I’m not creative. I just stalk people on the internet until I find something I can cook with the ingredients I already have. Really, it’s lazy. Good for you! I wish I did that. Perfect way to go to bed. No blue light, no noise. Very primal 😉

  9. Omgggg those avocado stuffed burgers are the best!!! I haven’t made them in ages…that needs to change haha. Reading is my main form of winding down at night…i got away from it for a bit and my sleep suffered immensely (guess my mind likes to wind down by getting lost in a story 😛 ) so i won’t be letting that go again haha. Last book i finished was the aviator’s wife (sooo good!) and now I’m reading the wise man’s fear. As far as exercising i don’t like to do? Weights. I’m getting better since i know they’ll help me stay uninjured but i’m still not a fan. And i give you major kudos for doing half marathons if you don’t love to run. I love running and there are still days i hate it haha so there is no way i’d do it if i didn’t really enjoy it 😛

    • Yes, get to it girl. They were scrumptious. I’m really trying to get into reading. It’s definitely better than TV before bed. I’ll have to look into those two! Yes, weights will definitely help with that. I love them, but I understand how you feel because I try to like running but just can’t ever get there. Yeah, I think this will be my last half. I’ll continue with 5 ks from then on.

  10. I always have a love/hate relationship with running haha. Longer runs are hard for me to do alone because mentally I get bored..but once they are done I feel on top of the world! I am starting my training for my first solo half (my last two were with a running buddy) and I hope it all goes well!

    • I think this describes perfectly how I feel too. I just get super bored. I guess it’s because I don’t really like to just be alone with my thoughts – I like to be talking to people, so it’s not relaxing for me like it is for some people. I can hear my boyfriend now “Yeah babe, thinking is hard.” Haha. Great job on training for a solo half! You’re going to kill it!

  11. Last book I read was broken harbor by tana french and I loved it. I usually read before bed every night or while Matt watches ESPN lol looks like you’ve been having a good time lately!

    • I’m making those meatballs and cookies immediately! Thanks for the links. As far as Paleo baking goes, the muffins and lemon bars are the best tasting two treats I’ve made so far.

  12. So many of those recipes look/sound so delicious! I need to try some of those ASAP.. especially that mug cake. I crave dessert every single night, and I’ve been trying really hard not to have too much sugar, but that’s easier said than done haha. What a great week you had!

    • Thanks girl! The mug cake is a great way not to get too much sugar but still something sweet enough to curb your sugar cravings. I try not to eat much sugary fruit throughout the day anymore, so a banana for dessert is ok with me! And there’s all of 10 calories per tbspn of cocoa powder, so I think total it ends up being a little less than 200 calories. Not too bad 🙂

    • You’re literally the cutest! Please please please come over for dinner for real. We need to plan that! Or 4th and Swift! I ❤ u the most!

  13. You have been busy!! I always get nervous trying out new recipes but also really glad when they actually turn out good 🙂 Funny you bring up reading because on Sunday I actually started reading a book I got for Christmas last year and had only read 10 pages in, now I’m on page 33! Maybe in another year I will get to page 75 🙂 I do love reading though. I have a whole library of books at our house. I am currently reading Patricia Cornwell’s newest book, Bone Bed.

    • I agree. I get nervous too, especially because Paleo recipes are notorious for not exactly turning out how they were supposed to – the desserts in particular. But it’s always fun to try new stuff and if it sucks then I just eat it anyway and pretend it was amazing, even if it was barely edible. Good job! I’m shocked that I’m halfway through Ender’s Game because I never read, ever. All these good books! I’ll never have time to read them all. Let me know your thoughts when you finish it!

  14. I’m with you on the lettuce wraps instead of tortillas. Feeling satisfied is so much better than feeling overstuffed! Nice job on the 10 miler, you rocked it! And I will be making that lemon Paleo dessert. YUM

    • Yes, and then you can fill up on more of the good stuff instead of stuffing your tum full of bread or corn or whatever it’s made of, haha. Thank you!! Please make it and let me know how you like it.

  15. Pingback: WIAW: Trying New Things | Mangoes and Miles

    • Thank you! I haven’t been able to get back there again in the last couple days, but hopefully soon 🙂 I’m trying. We just joined a gym and I’m trying to get my money’s worth. Thanks for the encouragement!

  16. Pingback: Baking Inspiration: Living Healthy with Chocolate | fitnesscrEATures

  17. Pingback: WIAW: Trying New Things | The Small Victories

Speak your mind!

