Late Night Quickie

Haha, if I were you, I would be snickering at that title. But, alas, I am a child, and you probably are not.

Oh hey, bee tee dubs (yep, that’s right, I’ll be turning 13 next year), I am now officially a real boy! Those are Meghan’s words, not mine 🙂 Why, you ask? Because yesterday I voluntarily joined the social media world for the first time by getting on Instagram. Ok, I guess this blog is social media, but I view them differently. And regardless, I’ve never been on MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, or anything else EVER, so yesterday was kind of a big day for me. It was a close second to the day I got my braces off. That’s big. Anyway…if you wanna follow me I’m @ fitnesscreatures_bek. I’m really boring so far, though. I have all of 3 pictures up. Tempting, right? I bet you’re clicking ‘follow’ right this second.

In keeping with the challenge my boyfriend and I are doing, I’ve decided the best way to go about staying accountable to myself and everyone else is to take pictures of the food I’m making (not all of it, don’t worry).

Before this little picture show, here’s an update on our points thus far:

My man – 14/20

Me – 16/20

Ok, so, here’s what I’ve been eating.

chk swt pot fries

Baked chicken with oregano and grass fed butter and sweet potato fries with olive oil, cinnamon, and salt.

spin chk salad

Baby spinach salad with avocado, chia seeds, flax seeds, walnuts, chicken, and oil & vinegar.

Chk tortilla collage

Last night we ate at my boyfriend’s sister’s place. She made chicken tortilla soup and it was delicious. It was definitely worth losing a point for that meal! We also had spring mix with avocado and a balsamic glaze dressing.

FBC collage

I made that fresh blueberry crumble from Practical Paleo again. This time I doubled the recipe for the ‘crumble.’ I just didn’t think there was enough last time. Turns out, doubling it was probably overkill. It took a lot longer to cook and it wasn’t as firm when I finally took it out of the oven. Next time, instead of doubling it, I’ll do 1 1/2 times what the recipe calls for. Note to self: it’s a recipe for a reason, so don’t eff with it and maybe it’ll turn out right. Duh. I’m not a cook. Also duh…We blended up some frozen bananas and added it in lieu of the ice cream I really wanted. I haven’t been eating much sugar the last few days, so I probably ate half of this had more than my fair share last night.

Here’s the recipe since I didn’t post it last time.

Fresh Blueberry Crumble

2 pints (4 cups) fresh blueberries
Juice of 1 lemon
1 cup almond meal
1/4 cup chopped macadamia or walnuts (I used walnuts)
1/4 cup melted butter or coconut oil (I used grass fed butter)
2 Tbsp maple syrup
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 pinch sea salt

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 375 F
2. Place blueberries in 9×9 inch baking dish and squeeze the juice from half of the lemon over them. Toss slightly to coat them.
3. In a mixing bowl, combine the almond meal, macadamia nuts, melted coconut oil, maple syrup, cinnamon, and salt.
4. Spread the nut topping evenly over the blueberries and bake until the fruit is well cooked/bubbly and the topping is golden brown (about 30-40 mins). Enjoy.

Yummy 🙂

Last night, in order to earn my exercise and stretching points, I did this late night quickie: a 10 minute arm circuit. I worked it out while my babe watched Family Guy in bed. Um, jealous. It wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be, and it felt great to stretch after that.

Late night 10min arms 

Oh, and then my sweet, sweet boyfriend made me breakfast this morning.

smiley breakfast

Can he be any cuter??

Well, it’s almost the weekend, yay!!! Hope everyone has a good one!

What are you doing this weekend? Any fun plans? I’m joining a gym, going for a long run, and getting my nails done with Meghan and Mollie for our upcoming cruise.

Has anyone tried changing a recipe and completely messed it up? What have you changed to make it yummier?

Was anyone else really late to join the social media bandwagon?

– Rebekah

38 thoughts on “Late Night Quickie

  1. I joined IG a few months ago, which was definitely behind a lot of people and I am addicted. I LOVE IT! I don’t have a Twitter and I don’t think I’ll ever get one, but I have most of everything else hahaha. I once tried to make black bean cupcakes that failed so miserably. They didn’t rise, but they tasted good so I smashed them down, put chocolate chips on top and plopped them back into the oven to make impromptu brownies! Happy weekend!

    • I’m sure I’ll be addicted in no time! I feel ya – half of my Paleo cupcakes/muffins don’t turn out that great, but I just add some chocolate chips or almond butter and eat them anyway. I’m not going to spend that much time and not eat them anyway. Haha. You too!

  2. Bahaha loved the title 😉 and the reason for it…i hate working my upper body but that looks like one that even i can handle. You guys have the best quick workouts 🙂

    • Haha, thanks! Yeah, I feel like the upper body gets neglected too often, and I had been doing tons of lower body and cardio stuff, so this was a simple way to give my arms a little attention.

  3. I hate social media lol. I recently stopped using my personal facebook account and only have twitter and instagram because I probably should for my blog but I honestly don’t go on it all that often. I try to unplug as much as possible lately.

    • Me too! I’m glad someone else does. I got instagram for the blog, but I’m sure I’ll start posting things completely unrelated then I’ll be one of “them” in no time. Oh well. But really, if you’re not in my phone book (or one of my blogging pals!) then I don’t want to talk to you. Sounds harsh, but I just don’t want to.

      • It just becomes too much sometimes. We all need to remember what life is like without so much technology. Just a few days off facebook and I swear I forgot how often I used to check in with my newsfeed. I must be getting old but we kinda forget how to live without reporting it all, viewing it all, texting, emailing etc. I am all for unplugged! lol

  4. Wow congrats!! I am still not on IG, nor T (twitter) nor anything else really. like, remember that facebook account i set up for the first time ever a month or two ago? i. never. use. it. you know they say if you dont teach a kid to write in mandarin before his brain stops forming, he will never learn to do it? he may speak it, but he will never write real mandarin characters correctly… well, thats like me on facebook. i didnt learn when i was young, and now i cant quite get into it. ugh i should probably sign up for IG and T so i can start “liking” other people and get entered in blogger giveaways, but ahhhhhh. ok fine ill sign up. ill do it later. im so impressed by your 3 photos. i mean that without a hint of sarcasm. i would probably have one, maybe 2 at the most. have a great weekend!!!

    • That’s right!!! We signed up for FB at the same time, like within a day of each other. Yeah, girl, I was forced to for the job I quit recently and I still need to delete that crap. I signed up for IG bc I got a new phone that actually works and I told Meghan I would do it. No backing out now. Just embrace it. I’m with you on knowing/learning how to use it. I have no effing idea. Thanks! Maybe by Monday I’ll have 4. Ooohh, fancy. You too! And, p.s., COME TO ATLANTA!

  5. Hahahaha I was laughing at the title and wondering…..Ah, I know how you feel, I just keep telling myself two more weeks, two more weeks. Hopefully when I’m done with the Paleo 30 Day Challenge, I will still keep the sugar to a minimum (I think I just heard all hope go out the window)….Anywho, I’m the same way, I’ll change an ingredient or change how much I want of something, then I wonder why it didn’t work…..Hoping for a 9 miler this weekend, and just some relaxation before my big week next week! Enjoy your weekend 🙂

    • Haha, yep, I’m really dumb. Well, I eat like this most of the time, just not as strict. I’m not really dying to jump off the deep end and eat every cookie in the bakery section of the grocery store (or maybe I am), but it’s definitely difficult to say NO to even the little things. I like doing a stricter version of my diet every now and then bc it’s honestly a mental exercise. I know I can do it, so I test myself to see how far I can push my willpower. Usually it comes after a binge weekend that involved said cookies :(…You can do it! When you’re off of the challenge, try to limit your sugar intake to fruits and sweeten things with maple syrup, dates, and stevia. Read this article also – http://www.nerdfitness.com/blog/2013/06/17/everything-you-need-to-know-about-sugar/ – it’s super informative about what sugar does to your body, inside your body 🙂 Get it, girl! I’m only aiming for 6 this weekend. Have a good run and a good weekend!

    • Thanks, lady! Yay for another newbie 🙂 I didn’t realize how many people don’t participate. I love it. Have a good weekend!

    • I know! I don’t indulge in it all the time, and I really didn’t eat it for years, but I love it so it’s making an appearance every now and then these days. You can get it at Whole Foods, but I get mine at Trader Joe’s. I really only get the hard to find stuff at WF, because it’s just too darn expensive. I agree, girl. I wish I could do real ones. Let’s incorporate some into our circuit next week!

  6. Alas, I am a child too and thoroughly enjoyed your title. Also the bacon eyebrows on your breakfast from issac – so much effort! 🙂 And congrats on having a 10% lead on Issac with the points. Yes, I did the really tough math to figure that out :p I have a lot of time on my hands riding on Septa (cousin of Marta) right now so that’s the weird comment material I come up with. Seriously though – good job for winning haha you must be focused on the end prize of wings 🙂 I tried to make peanut butter siracha sauce last month for a chicken dish, and while edible, I will never be making that dish again. Have a great weekend, Bek!

    • HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! I really can’t handle your comments sometimes; they’re literally out-of-my-league amazing. Thanks for the math! Oh jeez, is Septa as bad as Marta. Nevermind. Don’t answer. Nothing is as bad as Marta. Oh wow, that sounds interesting. I mess up almost everything I cook. You too, Leslee & Co.!!!

  7. Haha right after I saw the title (before I scrolled down to see who wrote it), I was like yep that’s gotta be one of the fitness creatures! I as well am a 13 year old boy so don’t worry (;
    And that food looks fantastic- like ALL of it.

    • Hahaha, I’m glad you know our absurdly idiotic humor right when you see it. Thank you! Oh, and, eh-hem, when are you coming to Atlanta??? We talk about you all the time with Sara. Get down here now, please. Thank you 🙂 Have a good weekend!

    • Haha, thanks! That’s not the first time he’s done it, either. One time he used bacon and fish oil to make me a face. Precious.

  8. Welcome to Instagram! I noticed yesterday that you had an instagram, but I didn’t want to be all stalker-ish and start following you the second you joined. But today I will start following you. I might steal some of your meal ideas for my Whole30 I am doing now 🙂 I have had an instagram and twitter account for years now, but just recently started using it on a regular basis, or at least trying to. It is hard to try to keep up with everything and at the same time having to live your own life. Social media can definitely take up a lot of time. Ohhh…cruise? Do tell? I just want to live vicariously through you guys 🙂

    • Thank you! Haha, you can stalk me all you want! I was excited when I saw you on there 🙂 Very true. I’m still getting used to taking pictures of literally everything I do. Yes! Next weekend – we can’t wait! We’re going to Nassau and Freeport. I desperately need a tan. Haha, believe me, my life is super boring.

Speak your mind!

