Park Playtime!

This week has been a serious reality check in regard to my working out! While I do enjoy my running and have a half on the horizon with my co blogger on August 17, I have been neglecting strength work because, well, I am lazy about it. SO I nixed that behavior and hopped to it this week! I ended up doing FIVE rounds of this baby on Tuesday instead of three because I didn’t feel like three was enough:

Backgrounds_17856_20130709180419231

I was incredibly sore yesterday but the wonderful Sara @ fit.fun.femme invited the crEATures to workout yesterday! Duh, of course we’re in! We met up at the lovely Piedmont Park for some fun!

Piedmont

20130710_191731

Cola n Sara

I made sure to harass them while they planked….

planking

And I had to laugh, because, well, we took so many pictures that it was more like a photography meet up than a workout meet up. Either way, it worked. Loving Sara’s faces in BOTH planks! Too cute girl!

20130710_193824

We all collaborated and came up with this challenge of a workout:

ParkWorkout

Burpees will be the end of me. For sure.

20130710_193408

If I wasn’t sore before, I surely am now. But, we all got in a serious sweat and enjoyed being eaten alive and trampled by runners in each other’s awesome company.

It was pretty cool – we each came up with our own mini circuit and put them all together, all mixed in, to make one big one! We were barely halfway through and I was ready to call it quits! 🙂 That’s the sign of a good workout, right?

Note to us, for future workouts: NO outdoor planking. Ouch to the scabs all over our elbows. And gravel all over our legs. And bugs all over our bodies. Yummy.

Don’t worry, I have been running too. I ran 4 miles yesterday before work (who actually runs before work? It’s impressive if you do!) and am planning an enjoyable long run this weekend.

Do you ever create a workout, start doing it, and realize it’s not enough or too much? Yes to both and both are highly annoying. 🙂 But, both situations, it’s easily adjusted.

Do you find that doing circuits with people is a huge motivation? Yes, absolutely. I really exclusively do them with others. Never on my own, ain’t nobody got time.

Where’s your favorite place to workout? I’m all about the outdoors when it comes to running, but I might second guess this kind of a workout being held outdoors again…

-Meghan

44 thoughts on “Park Playtime!

  1. Look at you guys!! i love the cross-blog love!! i want to move to hot-lanta and workout with y’all!!! maybe it would finally get me accountable for my runs that i keep saying im going to do more of and then dont on account of it being too its too hot/too muggy/too breezy/ or too calm… my favorite place to workout is indoors- Bar studio!! yoga studio/pilates studio and the great outdoors are tied for 2nd.

  2. Ahhh I can only imagine the terrible scabs you must get from planking on concrete! And I have such a love/hate relationship with burpees–they feel like death, but at the end of them you feel like you’ve accomplished something big. Kind of like running fast. Funny how that works, huh? 😉

    • Yes my elbows hurt a ton today! I was like why do they feel like this? Duh, you dummy, you planked in the wild outdoors.

  3. Your Park playtime workout looks so good, that I will actually try to do it this weekend and let you know how it goes 🙂 Yes, I love doing circuits with others, that is the only way to do them! The only place I workout is outdoors! That’s the only way to workout, in my opinion. It has been years since I have been inside a gym and don’t plan to go back (unless its for CrossFit ??! 🙂 ).

    • Haha, it’s fun for sure, I definitely needed the motivation of those around me! I agree, I love workout out outdoors, but sometimes when it’s a bug city, it’s a little tough. haha crossfit. no way.

  4. That’s awesome that you guys were able to workout together! Working out with friends is so much more fun and definitely keeps me more motivated. I love working out outdoors; although, it has been super hot and muggy in my neck of the woods.

  5. I could never come up with a workout on my own. They never seem like enough, I have to add weights in there so I can’t physically get up the next day. Nor could I workout with others, I then spend too much time talking and doing “important things” like being the “official timer”. Love your workouts you come up with, may add it in to one of mine 🙂

    • Haha, we totally spent so much time socializing before and after, it was like we barely worked out! So I feel ya there!

  6. You guys are so freaking cute! I love the circuit training too! And YES for early morning runs! I swear by the pre-work workout…it just makes my day better.

  7. This is awesome! I love the idea of meeting up with friends to do circuits in a park — that’d be perfect for both motivation and making the time pass quickly. I find that when I run with a buddy, it’s at least a bajillion times more fun. 🙂

    I love working out in the great outdoors, but I SO can’t handle the oppressive heat and humidity here. I need dry, mild weather if I’m going to be able to go outside…so basically, that means I have about one good month here in DC. Aaah, to live back West!

  8. So yesterday for my workout I cleaned Jim’s apartment. It was not your amazing circuit, but it broke a sweat…mostly because he never cleans on his own and I can’t stand to coexist in a mess. Also – I am ridiculously jealous. After spending the weekend with you, I feel as though I need to be invited to these park adventures…but then I realize that I am about 600 miles away, le sigh!! I want to play!!! And just reading your circuit makes my triceps hurt…so many burpees and planks and push-ups. I was on a kick doing a plank a day and then I got lazy? I don’t know what happened, but I stopped. I will be getting one in today, I promise! My favorite place to workout would probably be the gym by Jim’s place or the yoga studio. No wait, I change my mind, the beach. I love beach runs. Okay that is all today 🙂 Have a great one, beautiful girl! You all look adorable in each and every photo!! <33 Lub yew!

    • HAHAHA! Jim is a lucky man… I’m the other way around, Nadir cleans my room for me because as you witnessed, I’m a complete slob and take 0 care of my belongings. Whoops.
      IF YOU WERE HERE you would have been invited, do not fear my dear! 🙂 Yea, I’m hella sore today and it’s because I did circuits two days in a row. My body doesn’t understand what’s happening!
      You know, I am unsure about beach runs. It’s the sand factor – I’m scared my shoes will get messed up! LUBBYEWWW

  9. I run before work!! bbbuuuuttt I work at all hours so it might not count haha. I run after too, just depends on my mood! What an awesome workout, and how fun to collaborate with three awesome bloggers! That workout looks killer.

    • haha, that counts for sure! if i worked later on in the day, you best believe I’d be sleeping til the shift began. full sleep cycles FTW. 🙂

  10. Hahah I love the plank faces! And OHMYGOSH I feel you girl when you say how sore you felt after the strength training you did! When I take a break from lifting and come back to it, I can’t walk or lift my arms for the next couple of days 😉

  11. I’m not sure what I like more…the plank faces, fun I can see you had doing this workout, agreement that burpees are death or the workout itself (which looks rough but glorious at the same time 😉 ). I have definitely started doing a workout that I had to modify because I wasn’t feeling it either mentally or physically. Oftentimes, I’ll use another blogger’s workout as an inspiration or starting point and then tweak it to make it my own/more in line with what I feel like doing, which is what I did today. Always fun times 😛

    • Haha you can love all four things equally, I grant you that right! 🙂 I agree, I draw tons of inspiration from other circuits from other bloggers and put one together. It’s not that I don’t like other workouts, it’s that I have fun creating those suckers in pic monkey so i always gotta mix up my own!

  12. I am implementing a once weekly circuit workout at the park (or better indoor location)! That was awesome and sweaty and my quads and abs are soooo sore today. You two are the BEST workout partners. ONASSIS!

  13. I love that you guys met up and came up with your own circuit…looks like a great one too! i wish i had a workout buddy in Denver to meet up with!
    I am all about the outdoors when it comes to working out. You will not find me on a treadmill no matter the weather! Mountain biking, rock climbing, trail running, snowboarding…keep me outside and I am happy 🙂

    • I know you are all about the outdoors, I love it!!! I wish I was like that, I think that’s the coolest way to live. 🙂

  14. Circuits in a park is a great idea! I’ve actually never done that. Working out with someone else is always a motivator though– I feel like I’d be letting both of us down if I were to quit early or something.

  15. Wow. I can’t wait to try some of those circuits! You girls are rockim it!!! Love it!! Every time people post pics about doing jointework pits and stuff I get so jealous!! I need a fitness buddy!
    Oh and YES to both as well–too hard and too easy…. Bahh rarely get it right! Bit I gueys the “right” ones are the too hard ones that you suffer through anyways?? 🙂
    Have a great night !

Speak your mind!

