Fresh Blueberry Crumble

After an AMAZING weekend with lots of wonderful people and tons of fun activities, it’s back to Paleo for this girl. Strict Paleo. I’m really feelin’ it right now considering there was literally nothing Paleo about this weekend PLUS Meghan, Mollie, and I have a cruise coming up in a little less than two weeks (yikes, that’s soon!), sooooooo, yeah, Paleo. And I want to be ultra strict about it so I won’t feel as bad about all the pizza and french toast I’ll be eating at 2 am. Hi, my name is Rebekah and I eat Paleo so I can eat french toast. I’m not ashamed.

Anyway, my man and I have kind of created a game to keep us accountable throughout these next two weeks of intense dedication to our health. We tried a challenge like this a few months ago but it didn’t really work out so well, so we’re trying again, with simpler rules this time.

Here are the rules:

Choose your diet and stick to it – for me it’s Paleo and there is NO leeway.

Exercise every day – for at least 10 minutes.

Stretch every day – for at least 10 minutes.

Supplement every day – fish oil and vitamin D.

No eating out – it saves money and avoids bad calories.

Each of the above represents 1 point, with a potential to earn 5 points per day.

So, it’s pretty basic: 5 categories – 1 point each – Diet, Exercise, Stretch, Supplement, No Dining Out. If I fail to eat according to my set diet, work out, etc. then I lose a point for that category that day. We’ll log our points daily, and the player with the highest score at the end of two weeks wins. Don’t get too excited – the prize for winning isn’t anything glamorous. The loser has to buy the winner a delicious, calorie heavy chicken wing dinner at Taco Mac. Um, yum. And gross. And yum.

SInce Monday was the first day of the next two Paleorrific weeks of my life, here’s what I ate:

Breakfast 

For breakfast, I used grass fed butter and scrambled an egg with some chicken sausage and broccoli. I added a handful of raspberries for something sweet.

Chk

For dinner, my babe and I baked some chicken breasts brushed with garlic, lemon, and basil along with salt and pepper seasoned shredded brussels sprouts. We also sauteed some green beans with olive oil, red pepper, and lemon zest.

Chk3

We had a little date night, so he set these up for us so we could eat and watch a movie. How freakin’ adorable.

For dessert, we finished off the fresh blueberry crumble I made a couple days before.

Blueberry Crumble

It’s a super simple recipe. 2 pints of blueberries topped with a combination of walnuts (or macadamias), almond flour, maple syrup, lemon juice, melted butter, cinnamon, and salt. Bake for 30 minutes. This is one of my favorite Paleo desserts, by far.

Blueberry Crumble 2

Blueberry Crumble 3

Unfortunately, we didn’t have it with that delicious vanilla bean ice cream. We were going to blend up some frozen bananas as a substitution, but we were stuffed. Next time.

Last night we made steamed broccoli, baked brussels sprouts, and wild shrimp sauteed with coconut oil, garlic, and oregano.

All Paleo e’erythang!

Sorry.

Oh, yeah, and my boyfriend ate a piece of pizza, too. I don’t think pizza is healthy, but I could be wrong. And if I am, I want pizza too! Wahhhhh. Jeez, I can’t be sick of this already. It’s only been two days.

– Rebekah

35 thoughts on “Fresh Blueberry Crumble

  1. That crumble looks so good! I like the idea of a point system because I often feel like it’s all-or-nothing. Like, if I slip up and miss a workout, I sometimes then eat junk food and skip my next day’s workout, too. But, with the points, each day is fresh! Also, I’m super competitive and hate to lose 😛

  2. that blueberry cobbler looks GOOD. i give you so much credit to sticking to paleo, it cant be easy, although if i’ve ever heard of motivation its this: “Hi, my name is Rebekah and I eat Paleo so I can eat french toast. I’m not ashamed.” LOL. love that 🙂

    • Thank you! I really enjoy eating Paleo. Obviously I don’t do it all the time, but I feel the best when I do. Haha, I’m glad you like that. I’m a sucker for french toast.

  3. I hope the paleo Gods are with you on this one, because it sounds tough! You can do it though, keep that hot wing dinner in sight! 🙂 After our discussion about how cheese is not paleo I kind of jumped off the wagon where you even consider going the paleo way. I like the idea of all the fruits and veggies and no refined grains…but cheese?! Girl I love nachos so freaking much I can’t even imagine. Tell you what, whenever you crave something non-paleo, tell me and I’ll eat it for you 🙂 I will balloon up and you will shrink…but I don’t care because it is my b-day week and I’ll do whatever I want…and then rush to hot yoga to work it off….maybe. Have a great day, Rebekah 🙂

      • Okay, but I have a few rules, mostly that 1- I will not eat olives out of a can and 2- I will need you to crave red velvet cake at least once….each day.

    • Hahaha. I love it. You could still do paleo and eat some cheese on occasion. I do that sometimes. I LOVE the eff out of some milk and it’s sad that I don’t drink it anymore, so every now and then I’ll get a latte or drink some at – wait for it – waffle house. And yeah, you can do whatever you want all week long. That’s the good thing about having your bday at the end of a week 🙂 Girl, can you sweat off all the crap I’m gonna eat on this cruise at hot yoga, too?! That would be amazing, thanks girl. Have a great day, too, Lesleeeeeeeeeeeeeee (mine is longer than Meghan’s) 🙂

      • I am sure this is opening a can of worms but. . . how in the world is butter considered paleo but cheese and milk are not??!?!?! (Please do not answer with LMGTFY)

  4. That blueberry crumble looks awesome! I would never have guessed that it was paleo…makes me pretty tempted to grab some almond flour from Trader Joe’s next time I make it there just to try it out! I like how you and your man are working together on this lifestyle change, too. i think stuff like this really brings couples closer and shows you how supportive you can be to one another 🙂 Good luck in meeting your goal!!

  5. Love Love Love Paleo! Defiantly the best way to get you feeling good again. I started Paleo a year ago, and a couple of weeks ago decided to finally just do the Paleo 30 day challenge again, which means no froyo. I totally understand what you mean! After the first week, I felt like crying(not really, but I was a little sad) because I seriously wanted froyo that bad. At least you only have to do it for 2 weeks 🙂 And for french toast?? I do mine for froyo, might have to change it up to french toast though!

    • Yay!!! for Paleo friends! It really does make you feel wonderful. Mostly because you feel so awful when you eat otherwise. Good job on the Whole 30! I haven’t had froyo in a while, and now I’m craving it 😦 Let me know just how amazing your froyo is when you get to have it again, and I’ll gush to you about my french toast.

  6. I need to look more into Paleo- I don’t really know what it’s all about. And you are lucky your bf will do healthy eating challenges with you- because my hubby is an ass and refuses to eat healthy and when I’m dieting brings candy into the house…Awesome.

    • Yes, please do! There’s a lot of info out there, but I think the BEST resource for everything Paleo/primal is marksdailyapple.com along with nerdfitness.com. Those are the two sites I read the most. There are also lots of Paleo blogs – paleOMG.com is my favorite. That and civilizedcavemancooking.com. Your hubby sounds like the Meghan of your household. Girlfriend sat there and ate candy in my face last night. So sweet.

  7. I like your plan! I am all about points and winning things,so that would be a good method for me too- haha.
    Everything looks really good – especially the blueberry crumble 🙂

  8. Those raspberries look scrumptious! I think next weeek I am going to change things up for my salads and use chicken sausage — you have inspired me! Also, pizza is healthy if you close your eyes and wish hard enough and/or cram it full of veggies. Also, CRUISE IN 11 DAYS WHY ISNT IT JULY 20TH YET COME ON FATHER TIME GET IT TOGETHER I WANT TO BE ON A BOAT IN THE SUN.

    • TJ has a ton of chicken sausages – some are better for you than others. Girl, tell me about it! I can’t wait. Hahaha, I’m gonna close my eyes and wish hard enough that the wings I’ll be eating with that boy of mine are healthy. Father time hahah. Oh you.

    • Thanks! That’s awesome, good job! You can do it! You definitely do. It’s the easiest of the recipes I’ve tried from the Practical Paleo book we both love so much! I’m making it again tonight for my bf’s sister 🙂 I know you have it already, but I’ll post the recipe next time.

  9. Pingback: Late Night Quickie | fitnesscrEATures

  10. Pingback: Weekend Recap: Paleo Coconut Pancakes | fitnesscrEATures

  11. Pingback: Positivity Rocks My Socks Off | fitnesscrEATures

Speak your mind!

