Swimming with a View

Oh the perks of having friends in high places.

Literally.

Two of my very good friends live in a fancy high rise in midtown Atlanta and I love reaping the benefits of their hard work. πŸ™‚ Before I went over to their place to enjoy swimming on the top of a high rise, I got in a quick 5K. I didn’t know how it would go with the heat, but I’m still averaging sub 9 minute miles. This is 100% new to me – only 8 months ago I was averaging 10-11 minute average miles. I’m living proof that love and dedication to a sport will eventually pay off!

20130625_181811

The Senator has yet to adjust to the crazy heat and slowed me down just a wee bit.

Now where were we before I decided to gloat about my running? Ah, yes, my mooching skills. Those are paying off big time.

20130625_194403

Oh yes, that’s real life. And here’s some more real life for yah. Rooftop pool business.

20130625_195412

I tell yah, mooching, it’s so worth it.

20130625_195421

My man and I joined our friends for some friendly pool games and quality fun time.

Pool

The picture above doesn’t look real but it is, I’m not that good at editing photos so I promise it’s still real life. Yay for impromptu pool visits with friends and quality running time all in one night. πŸ™‚ Yay. Yay. Yay.

Oh, and if you can believe it – it gets better. My wonderful boyfriend surprised me with sushi and Brussels sprouts a la Whole Foods because I was craving sushi like WHOA last night. So sweet.

Sushi

Have you been using your neighborhood/community pool this summer?

Do your friends have amazing places you love to use them for visit?

Whole Foods anything – are you a fan of paying extra for all the loving they give? Yes. When I have the money, bring on Whole Foods. Typically, though, it’s a rare treat.

-Meghan

22 thoughts on “Swimming with a View

  1. Your night sounds perfect! God you and the senator should be on brochures for running and the benefits of it. You two look so darn happy, I love it πŸ™‚ Also, mooching is a legitimate skill. You are honing it quite nicely at that rooftop pool. Was the water warm or cold? A nice in between I hope. And kudos to your man for satisfying your sushi craving. Such a smart guy πŸ™‚ I’ve been craving sushi like a crazy lady as well and have yet to satisfy that urge. And I was actually considering hitting up the neighborhood pool tonight. We’ll see if I actually get my lazy butt over there though. And Whole Foods is a rare treat for me too as I live in the land of the poor scientists where free food and booze is in high demand. I do occasionally sucker Jim into buying me Wegman’s sushi though πŸ™‚ Happy hump day Meghan! Half way point has officially been reached! You show that GA lottery who’s boss! πŸ˜‰ Love you forever and ever amen! ❀

  2. Have you been using your neighborhood/community pool this summer? – Yes!! I use the pool shown above πŸ˜‰

    Do your friends have amazing places you love to use them for visit? – Any place is amazing with good company!!

    Whole Foods anything – are you a fan of paying extra for all the loving they give? I’ll pay extra!! I love Whole Foods…just need to go there more often! i can say I’m a huge fan of H-Mart!!!

  3. Awesome rooftop pool! Those are the things I miss a little about Manhattan – we had some pretty cool places there too πŸ™‚
    My apartment building has a pool, but I’ve never been in it! I laid out next to it on my b-day, but I should really make use of it in these horrible 95 degree temps!

  4. Whoo hoo for brussels sprouts!! And I would totally be a mooch too if I knew people who had places like that! And I love how hard core you are “Oh yea just ran a 5k before going, no big deal.” Sheesh

  5. umm….BEST FREAKING DAY EVER

    fancy sushi and fancy pools and no skin off yer back? yes, please! I don’t think I have ever swam in a rooftop pool before, but it looks super rad. Can I be friends with your friends, too? πŸ™‚

    I actually don’t buy much at Whole Foods, except for things that I can’t really find anywhere else, like bulk nutritional yeast and Earth Balance (omg, Earth Balance!). My favorite part about WF is cruising the samples πŸ˜‰

  6. Ughhhh i’m jealous haha…i keep telling joe i want a kiddie pool or he needs to convince one of his friends to put one in so we can use it πŸ˜› community pools kind of freak me out but private ones? All about those πŸ˜‰

  7. When can I meet this friend of your so I can commence mooching as well? DAMN – that pool looks beautiful with the city views. And congrats on your fast running – I know how hard it is! And props to the Senator for keeping up!

    We have a pool at our apartment that we frequent, but soon we will be pool-less once we move into the house. Kiddie pool?

    Jaimi has a really nice pool at Eclipse…we should go over there and mooch :).

    I do all my grocery shopping at WF, but I try to stay away from the prepared foods (if I can help it) since they are so dang expensive!

  8. YAHOO for getting faster! Great job on the sub 9min miles!! Oh man, mooch away!! That view and pool look amazing. When it comes to splurging at WF I always do…simply because I don’t live near one, and it’s a once in a BLUE moon occurrence.

  9. It still hasn’t quite warmed up here lol. And until we are having warm nights, I won’t be using the bf’s aunt’s pool. Love giving Whole Foods my money! Bet they love it too. They are just way too good at making food for their own good! Woohoo, 9 minute miles!!! That’s great you’ve come so far in such little time :)!!!

  10. I love WF and pools, so this is an excellent post πŸ™‚ Good job on your running!!! You are kicking serious ass. I think you deserve sushi, by the pool, and a margarita πŸ™‚

  11. Oh my goodness, that pool is amazing… I need a friend I can mooch off too! And good job with the run speedy! πŸ™‚ Whole Foods – totally, but it costs too much so I try not to go there. If I go in with the intentions of buying just one thing, I ended up spending like $50. Oops.

  12. I have a pool and haven’t been in it since last summer. Huge fail! That rooftop pool is awesome. And brag away about your running!

  13. I lovvve whole foods. i got sushi from there on monday! and you have no idea how much i have pool envy right now. it is nearly impossible to find a rooftop pool in boston. and the community pools really freak me out because I have had a lifelong fear of drowning in crowded pools. yep- i was the kid who refused to go in the pool at birthday parties if i thought the other kids were being too rowdy, and i still refuse to get in if i don’t have my bubble of personal space. and way to be on your run!! you’re getting so quick so quickly πŸ™‚

  14. Great job on lowering your mile times! I’m stuck at around 9:45. I would be willing to sacrifice my time and add some endurance on. If I can run 5 miles straight at a 10 minute pace I would be so happy!

  15. The fact that you can run sub-9 minute miles when you started off at 10-11 gives me such hope. When I was in the middle of training for my first half, I could run 9:10ish pretty consistently but only for short distances, but now I’m on the higher end of 9-10…all this to say that I’m slightly frustrated with where I am right now compared to where I could be and you’ve definitely given me a little ray of sunshine. πŸ™‚

    Your pictures look so gorgeous–swimming with a view sounds wonderful. Unfortunately, I don’t have any friends whom I can mooch off of to swim with a view, so I’ll live vicariously through you. πŸ™‚ Sounds like an awesome day!

  16. Oh yes I have! I go to the neighborhood pool like 3 times a week, mooching at it’s finest. That really does sound like the best day ever! way to go on your speedy running, I’m in the same boat, it’s crazy how awesome it feels to see improvement. Great job!

  17. Rooftop pool? Damn girl, you are living the life. πŸ˜‰ And yes, dedication does pay off! I can hold a 9-minute mile without dying. The heat is making me run a little slower, and I’ve been very off with running consistently, but whatever. It’ll come!

    P.S. The Senator and your boy are adorbs. πŸ™‚

  18. Rooftop pools in the city? Can I come join? LOL! Sounds like the best night, and your boyfriend sounds so thoughtful! You two are adorable! Awesome job with your run too pretty lady πŸ™‚

  19. Pingback: Short Week, YAY | fitnesscrEATures

Speak your mind!

