Traveling Shenanigans

Ah, welcome back, Monday. I missed you terribly. I’ve been looking forward to you all weekend.

Um.

No.

Friday night I had some delicious eats, courtesy of my boyfriend and his grill! We had grilled squash and grilled zucchini cakes.

20130621_212200

Saturday morning, I ran 10 miles with a woman I’m in a professional club with. It was amazing to start breaking in my new Mizuno’s and simultaneously get out a much needed and successful long run. I was a happy girl. There was no soreness, no fatigue, no badness – just pure post run endorphins. Woo! I attribute that to tons of stretching, foam rolling and compression wearing afterward.

IMG_20130622_092059

I have to run a few more miles in them before I say so indefinitely, but I really loved these shoes. 🙂

I got home afterward, ate a quick breakfast, and my boyfriend and I headed up to Nashville to visit his friend who just had a baby! After the hospital visit, we explored the city and ate some amazing food!

20130622_195547

I had sweet potato ravioli (who knew that was even possible?) and it was the best way to kick off a night of hitting all the ‘famous’ country music spots. Caution: you’re about to enter a photo dump zone.

NashVegas1

NashVegas2

NashVegas3

And then we found this store.

20130622_214820

20130622_214828

And what had me really drooling…

20130622_214726

So, if I didn’t love Nashville before, I did after we went to that store! 🙂 Oh what I will do for some candy… or anything sweet…

The weekend ended with a home cooked meal from my parents that was just absolutely delicious and satisfying! They made salmon with a corn salsa and quinoa for the side. Amazing.

20130623_190147

After a weekend full of good times, good food and good company, I’m more than ready to relocate that thing I call a routine and get back at it! Time to start breaking in my new running shoes!

What did you do this weekend? Any traveling?

Are you a chocolate candy person or a sugary candy person? I don’t discriminate against either.

How do you recover after a full, fun, busy, indulgent weekend? 🙂

-Meghan

48 thoughts on “Traveling Shenanigans

  1. I’m sitting here drooling looking at the candy place picture!!!!!!! Love Nashville!! I do think that you should have made a Knoxville detour though :/
    And sweet potato ravioli?? YUM

  2. Yay for an AWESOME run this weekend 🙂 It sounds like my long run last week with SCRR…those are the best in my opinion 🙂 I love Nashville! Joe was stationed 45 minutes from it while he was in the army, so the few times I went to visit him, we stayed there and had a blast. Got to try some awesome eats there, including two of my favorite breakfast places ever: Pancake Pantry (yes we waited in line for an hour for those things) and another who’s name is escaping me but who was on Diners Drive-Ins and Dive with the craziest decor inside you could imagine 😛

    • They are the best – it makes the sport the best sport ever. That’s so cool, I had never been there before and totally loved it, in spite of my extreme dislike of country music (the new stuff, anyway). AH! I wanted to try that place so badly but we didn’t feel like waiting for it… So maybe next time. I heard it’s delish! Cool, I thought it was such an eclectic and fun city and I can’t wait to go back! ❤

  3. stawpppppp living my dream life. i want to go to ATL and nashville so badly. never heard of sweet potato ravioli either. Yum. and omg at the candy.

  4. YAYYYYYYYY A NEW MIZUNO FAN I CAN HARDLY CONTAIN MY EXCITEMENT!!!!!!!! (clearly, I can’t) I love places with bulk candy bins. One of the most important things about a store in my opinion. I’m all about the candy and the chocolate. It would be cruel to pick one over the other. Basically you had a winning weekend in my book 🙂

  5. 10 miles AND Nashvegas in one weekend. WOOP WOOP! So happy you saw Jackalope, too! Did you drink it?

    No traveling this weekend – just pool time and running and a little gym in between.

    I pretty much only like chocolate except for the occasional gummy bear.

    Recovery…keep drinking. I KID, I KID! Water and exercise and then pray for next weekend to get here soon!

    • I did drink the Jackalope! Not my usual style of beer, but you better believe I finished every last drop!! 🙂
      Yay for running together this weekend, maybe??? Hopefully??

  6. Congrats on your run again 🙂 So happy for you!!! YUM! I just adore grilled zucchini. Omg, Candy shops are just the best. I always apologize for the drool trail I have following me when I’m in candy shops lol. Hmmm that’s a tough question, I love chocolate, but I do love sugary fruit flavor candy. I usually stick to chocolate, only because I eat any kind of sugary candy, then it just has to happen every day. Next thing you know, I’m buying a bag of gummy worms every day lol.

    • Aw thanks girl! ME TOO! And we had been drinking, so I think it’s quite clear that I indulged in some serious candy. haha.

    • It’s a cute place! It was my first time and I can’t wait to go back! It was tempting. I love those kinds of stores!

  7. I need all that candy in my life right now! Drool, that looks so good! I like candy and chocolate for sure.

    Looks like you had a great weekend, glad you got in a good pain-free run too!

  8. You look adorable in every single picture ever. On the face of the planet. Adorable, I tell ya! Love the side hair poof thing 🙂 Did you save me any sweet potato ravioli?! That sounds so darn good. As does the salmon with corn salsa that your parents made! I did some squash grilling this weekend as well…so clearly I approve of that also. What candy did you end up getting? Did you skip the little weigh-me bags and buy the whole entire store? You did? Okay, well I’m coming by for some cow-tails and massive amounts of peanut butter candies! ❤ the crap outta you, girly. Have a wonderful Monday, pretty lady. Let's hope it goes by quickly!!!!

    • Ahhh the hair poof is in place because I got an AWFUL hair cut a few months ago wherein I received bangs I did not ask for. Now, the remain pulled back with a bobby pin and out of my face. Hate them. Anyway, haha, if I tell you I bought the whole store, will you come visit me for realzzz? Mk, I bought the whole store! Come nowwwwwwwww!!!

  9. What a fun weekend, you two are seriously too adorable! I love that he will be in pics with you ha
    Great job on your 10 miler, you’ve inspired me to try and get a longer run in the weekend, we’ll be traveling, so I’m not sure it’ll work but I’m gonna try!
    That food all looks so tasty, not to mention all that candy, lucky girl!
    So glad you weren’t sore and that you’re liking your new shoes, they’re so cute!

    • I know, he’s such a good sport. He’s so supportive it’s insane! Thank you, they don’t match with ANYTHING though.. Sad.

  10. I’ve never been to the East Coast! Isn’t that crazy? I’d love to visit all these cities that bloggers live or visit all the time.

    PS: I tried sweet potato ravioli once before too, surprisingly delicious!

  11. Okay so I just found out about this blog and I can’t believe I have didn’t find it sooner- you guys are hilarious, you run, AND you post pictures of amazing candy stores!? Yep definitely following you two 🙂

    Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend!

  12. I’m dying to go to Nashville. I hear its so much fun! I’m a chocolatey candy person 99% of the time but every once in a while I crave some gummy worms 🙂

  13. OMG! I would go crazy in that candy store!! Hope you got some good treats! I love both chocolate and sugary candy the same, I don’t discriminate either 🙂 It is always nice going out of town, but also really nice coming home and getting back into a routine. Glad you had a nice weekend! We didn’t do anything special over here. Next weekend we are going to Cleveland for a week, that should be fun (18 month old very active toddler on a 4.5 hour flight-sounds like fun to me :-/ ).

    • Haha I LOVE candy, sugary OR sweet, so I did go crazy! Awww, good luck with him, I’m sure he’ll behave! 🙂 🙂

  14. Jealous! Your Nashville trip looks like so much fun! I didn’t travel, but it was a pretty indulgent weekend. I tried to keep my eats pretty clean today, and I’m actually considering drinking some detox tea I found in the pantry.

Speak your mind!

