Hair Did!

Thanks to everyone who commented with words of wisdom yesterday. I took everyone’s advice and ran with it – new shoes, compressed, kept it on ice when I was at home and rested it. You guys are so smart and that’s why we’re friends. 🙂

When I can’t workout because of silly pain in my Achilles, I choose to counteract any sort of hard work (physically and mentally) and just waste away. I kid, but really, I got my hair did last night and indulged at Sweet Tomatoes, a salad buffet with lots of ridiculous carbs on the side. We’re talking pizza, breadsticks, pastas, and breads. So. Good. Here’s some yummy salad for your viewing pleasure.

20130610_204251

I got that green stuff on the bottom thinking it was celery or something, but it was a bizarre texture and not delightful. Gross. I topped the salad with some olive oil and balsamic vinegar. I guess I’ve finally trained myself to really be disgusted by most salad dressings that those kinds of places offer.

I followed that with lots of bread and then this beauty:

20130610_210152

That’s chocolate lava cake underneath swirled ice cream. Uh huh, so good. 🙂

And then for the hair! Before, it was fake blonde hair. Now, it’s REALLY BRIGHT fake blonde hair. Just in time for summer. Now if only it would look healthier? Oh, no, that will never happen.

20130611_082819

Woo hoo I’m even more blonde than before.

In the world of activity, I did nothing. I sat at a desk for 8 hours yesterday and followed it with some traffic sitting, and then sitting in a hair salon for two hours. Lots of sitting, lots of eating, no activity. Obviously I’m not thrilled about it, but I do need to focus on rehabbing my Achilles so I can actually run smartly. Good news – after icing it and compressing it for a while yesterday, I am already feeling tons better. I think one more day off of it and I’ll be ready to run again! In the mean time, I’m hoping to get in a swim or something else that’s low impact.

In other exciting news, there will be a new pair of shoes for me to use in a few days and I cannot wait to test them out! It was a tough choice, but I think I went with the right ones. We shall see!

What’s your favorite salad dressing? Is it home made? Um, if so, please share with me. 🙂

Something you must have in order to enjoy your salad? –Sadly, mine is cheese. I must have it!

What are some good ways to workout that are low impact? I’m thinking yoga at some point this week, but I neeeeeed some cardio!

-Meghan

43 thoughts on “Hair Did!

  1. I’m glad you’re listening so that you can heal quickly!! Being injured sucks since it isn’t by choice. But you’ll be back in action before you know it. Love your hair!!! Also I want to check out that salad buffet place. The carb goodness all sounds too good to be true.

  2. Good for you for listening to your body and helping it heal — it’s understandably frustrating in the short term, but the long term benefits will be huge. 🙂

    As for salad dressings, I have two fave home-made concoctions: the first is a balsamic vinaigrette with equal parts balsamic vinegar and olive oil, with Dijon mustard and dried Italian herbs as the emulsifiers. The second is a Greek dressing, which involves equal parts red wine vinegar and olive oil, and uses dried oregano, salt, and sugar as the emulsifiers. They’re both super easy to whip up, and they’re way better than the bottled versions! 🙂

    • Exactly my thoughts. Just frustrating until then… 🙂 those sound amazing… i do some similar things but i love the idea of dijon mustard and italian herbs. YUM!

  3. You look even more beautiful than ever with your newly did hair! I didn’t think it was possible for you to get prettier, but then you went and did it! 🙂 Who cares if it’s fake, I think you make a great blonde, plus now you get to have even more fun than before. The blonder=the funner. Totally a grammatically correct word right there. And YAY for feeling better! That’s very important, I can’t live too long without seeing picture collages of you running, plus your gps watch, plus the Senator. I am in withdrawal already and it is awful! Feel better, stat! 😛 Have a great Tuesday, blonder than ever bloggy best! 🙂

    P.S. I love that you included “some weird stuff I didn’t know what it is” in your very professional salad photo. Hysterical 🙂

    • You are too kind. Did I pay you to be this nice to me? i don’t really even know how to respond to you! hahaha well here’s a deal – you post more pics of you in cute dresses and BEAUTIFUL natural blonde hair and I’ll resume my running and insta collages. 🙂 can we go for a bike ride together on our fakecation? i think that’d be a great ‘date’ night. hahahaha. god i’m bizarre and i’m in a super weird mood right now. it could be from the MnMs and my sugar rush…
      that stuff was nasty. i was so disappointed. 😦 LESS THAN THREE YOU!

  4. i LOVE your hair you pretty thing you!! I want to go blonde soo badly, but my hair is so dark that would be a full time commitment to upkeep. alas, i’ll just have hair envy til I’m ready to commit 🙂 and i NEED some sort of protein in my salad to feel content- chicken, shrimp, tofu, egg, tuna- SOMETHING! have an awesome day chica!

  5. Sorry to hear about the achilles problems love but glad it’s feeling better! Fingers crossed for you for tomorrow 🙂 totally agree with you about salads needing cheese! Mine needs meat too 😛 and i like to dress mine with either almond milk and honey mustard mixed together or olive oil, some type of vinegar and dijon mustard/honey to hold it together…easy and delicious! Low impact wise, i’m a fan of the tone it up girls!

  6. LOVE your hair! It’s perfect for summer. So my favorite salad dressing is good old fashion Ranch, I reallllly love cucumbers on my salads and have lately become a big fan of adding olives, and I think that swimming/walking/exercises like planks (that burn calories b/c they are hard, but don’t require any impact) are good choices!

    • thankssss natalie! i love cucs too, and olives go on every salad lately! i have got to remember to plank a day. good call.

  7. Love the super blonde!! And hush your hair looks very healthy!! Yay for resting and eating good food!!! Thanks for showing me that delicious lava cake picture while I am detoxing..jerk!!!

      • I’m eating only fruits and vegetables! And a little bit of greek yogurt! You have no idea how bad I wish I could have some of that!!!

  8. Pretty much addicted to caesar salad dressing, ugh love that stuff WAY too much lol. Your salad on the other hand, just made me jealous and hungry….it’s not even lunch time yet. It makes me thrilled and enjoy my salad 10X more if it has jalapeno peppers, olives, and beef on it 🙂 Swim swim swim! It was the only thing I could do when I fractured my shins that didn’t hurt. Love your hair btw 🙂

  9. Blondie – love your new hair :). In my book the blonder the better! And I am so glad your Achilles is happier. I know the rest is killing you but for the best.

    Favorite salad dressing: Annie’s Goddess Dressing

    Salad craves: Cheese is a good one. Maybe spinach?

    Low Impact Cardio: Elliptical? Bike riding?

    • haha thanks oh my it’s so blonde though! everyone at work today is wondering if i dyed my eyebrows darker? i’m like, uh hair people, hair. 🙂

  10. That salad looks SO good! Lol. I know what you mean about just shutting down during time of injury – it can be like 0 to 60 in no time! When I think about going low impact, its all about yoga and swimming. Because I heart swimming!

    • i heart swimming too! more reasons to love each other! 🙂 the salad hit the spot for sure. good luck with your comp woes today! 😦

      • Thanks, m’dear! Fingers crossed, the hubby has called in the Calvary – his buddies who, like, work with computers 23 hours a day, when they’re not sleeping.

  11. Your hair looks GORRRGEOUS, as do you! I love it! I also love me some Sweet Tomatoes! I don’t have one where I live, but I love going when I visit my family in Arizona. I haven’t been since switching to a dairy free lifestyle though…HA!

    • haha thanks girl! thank you for finding me. if you are in seattle, i’m going to stalk, cough, read your blog everyday to reminisce.

  12. New shoes are so exciting!! So is getting the hair done 🙂 I’m going to need mine done soon too, I just hate to pay for it! haha. That salad looks awesome (minus whatever grossed you out) as does that dessert!
    Fave salad dressing = Annie’s organic lite goddess….sooo good!

    • i am way more excited at the thought of new shoes than new make up or clothes. Hmmm… you know you’re a runner WHEN..

  13. I always make my own salad dressings. My favorites are pineapple poppyseed and sriracha vinegarette. Store bought a are usually too overpowering for me.

  14. I find the elliptical to be low impact, as well as spin (even though it totally kicked my tush today)…I am not big on salad dressings. I use salsa, hummus, or even BBQ sauce instead of dressing most of the time.

  15. i can’t help myself, i laughed when i read the first line “i took your advice and RAN with it”. har har har. i used to try making homemade dressing, pretty sure i blogged about it back in the dinosaur ages buts it was uber boring and disastrous, and i gave up because i’m lazy. trader joes fat free balsamic forever. i need cheese (feta ftw!) and green bell peppers (pre-cut, of course, becauseeeee i am lazy fyi) in my salads. ❤ the hair. and lava cake & ice cream! yum! now i'm jealous, hungry and pouting.

    • You are the only person to notice that pun! 🙂 🙂 and reason one million and one why i love you!! haha don’t pout, it wasn’t as good as that picture made it look!! >)

Speak your mind!

