Cauliflower “Rice” & Candied Carrots

carrotsnrice3

Who doesn’t like a little alliteration in their blog post titles??

Last week I made a couple delicious and inventive side dishes – Cilantro Cauli-rice and Candied Carrots – by following two recipes fromΒ Practical Paleo, a book I’m practically in love with right now. See what I did there?

I really enjoyed making both of these; the recipes were really simple and they took two pretty boring vegetables and spruced them up into two exciting dishes in practically no time at all. Ok, I’ll stop with all the “practical” jokes – as opposed to practical jokes. Dear god…

Candied Carrots πŸ™‚

carrotsnrice2

Ingredients: carrots, dates, coconut oil, and salt.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees, toss chopped carrots and dates in coconut oil and a bit of salt, bake in oven safe dish for 30 – 40 minutes.

I baked mine for longer than the recipe called for because I like my carrots a little softer. If I’m going to cook carrots, I want them cooked.Β I don’t really know what that means.

Cilantro Cauli-rice πŸ™‚

carrotsnrice

Ingredients: cauliflower, 1 tbsp coconut oil, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and 1/4 cup fresh cilantro.

Chop up cauliflower and shred in a food processor (or with a grater); melt coconut oil in a skillet over medium heat; add shredded cauliflower and salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste; cook for 10 min; remove from heat; and add chopped cilantro.

carrotsnrice4

Looks like real rice, right? Sorry – more alliteration.

This “rice” is amazing!Β My co-blogger and BEST FRIEND, Meghan, is in love with this stuff. I mean, it’s an intense kind of love. For real – she went as far as to make something like five servings all at once and ended up putting to good use the one tupper ware container we own that is entirely too big for literally anything else. Good job, girl!

I also created a pretty good little circuit to get my heart racing and some sweat drippin’ for my workout on Thursday. (I used 15 lb dumbbells for the upper body exercises.)

Upper and Core

This little guy kicked my butt and I loved it! Hopefully I can use some heavier weights next time, that is, if they aren’t missing again. So weird – I think people are stealing the weights from our apartment gym. Or maybe they’re borrowing them? Because sometimes they’re there and sometimes they’re not. It’s certainly a mystery. But it’s not nearly as mysterious as it is really freaking annoying. Who steals/borrows weights from a community gym?? So strange and becoming a huge impediment to my workouts. (In all reality, I probably can’t curl 20 lb weights, but for the sake of complaining, I’m pretending I can :))

The entire MegBek household is feeling awful today 😦 Monday is no bueno. Hope you’re all feeling better than we are!

– Rebekah

20 thoughts on “Cauliflower “Rice” & Candied Carrots

    • Thanks! I think we’re both feeling a bit better today πŸ™‚ I’m glad I was able to convince you so easily! It really is delicious. The rice itself is good, but adding the cilantro makes this easy to inhale in one sitting. Let me know how you like it when you try it out πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, this actually turned out similarly to Chipotle’s cilantro whtie rice, which is awesome because their rice is super yummy. Better already – Meghan and I got up bright and early to get a workout in. Thanks!

    • They seriously were so easy to make. I never used to cook, and had I known it was this simple, I probably would have jumped on that bandwagon a long time ago. Alliteration is probably my favorite literary device of all time. Jeez, I’m such a loser, but I don’t care. Really, I just feel bad for Meghan. She has to put up with me after all πŸ™‚

    • I LOVE inch worms. I like trying different variations of them. Sometimes I do basic out-n-back with straight arms, but most of the time I do a push up in between. With this last workout, I went out to a straight arm plank, then down to a forearm plank, back to a straight arm plank, and back up = 1 rep. This worked my shoulders and core a bit more in between. I also love the stretch these give you in your hamstrings! Definitely try it. Cauliflower is so boring; this was a fun way to spice it up.

    • I love that we have the same book! I was talking to Meghan about you and your sugar detox the other day and how it was from the book I cook out of all the time – it’s such a useful tool! One day I’ll get my act together and try the detox. DEFINITELY make this. I’ve made quite a few of her recipes now, and this one is by far my favorite. It’s Meghan’s favorite, too, and she doesn’t eat Paleo nearly as often as I do. If I can win over a typically non-Paleo eater with a Paleo dish (especially one that I cooked), then I’m convinced it’s the best thing on earth.

      • wow I feel so special that I made it into your conversation. If you ever decide to jump into the sugar detox pool, I have tons of 21DSD approved recipes. Ok, I will be making the “rice” next week, along with my taco lettuce cups. Thank you, you convinced me! I will let you know how it turns out.

      • Haha, I was so excited that we were book twins! Ok, awesome, thank you! I’ll probably try it at some point this summer, maybe June, and I will definitely be contacting you for recipes, thanks! Yum! I was just talking about taco lettuce cups last night at work – wanted to make some guac and thought it would go well with those. Yes, please let me know if you like it!

  1. I like the recipes because they don’t use too many ingredients. You ever read some veggie recipes but for some reason they have about 30 ingredients? Nuts.

    • I completely agree! Sometimes I understand the need for a little bit of this and a pinch of that, but with veggie dishes especially, there’s just no need for all that mumbo jumbo. I can barely cook as it is and it takes me an inordinate amount of time to make the most seemingly simple dishes, so the fewer ingredients, the better. I’m not trying to be more confused and overwhelmed than I already am. I mean, I barely know where my kitchen is located – Meghan has to help me every time πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks girrlllll! Yum, that sounds pretty good, actually. Maybe some grilled chicken, cauli-rice, and some tomatoes or peppers?? Idk what else you put in a burrito that can be Paleo haha. This response was pointless. Forget it happened.

      • Not pointless — inspiring!!! That might be my dinners next week. (Did I say “dinnerS?” yes because I make a weeks worth at once…) This would be a great weekmealdinnerS. Cauli-rice, red peppers, onions (not for YOU), chicken, and perhaps even some Sriracha?? (not sure if thats Paleo) And for all the non-paleosaurouses out there some CHEEEEEESE!!

Speak your mind!

