Night Running

Yay or nay?

I’m going to have to share my humble opinion with you guys – YAY x 1 MILLION! I loved running last night in the dark with The Senator, the Bek, and the boyfriend.

IMG_20130425_221848

We rocked out an easy 5K with some seriously negative splits and chatted almost the entire way. It was a great way to shake out our legs and Bek had already done several circuits before so it was just a fabulous run overall. No goals, no intentions – pure enjoyment. 🙂 Sometimes, those are the best.

An update on yesterday’s cupcakes at the event:

They were a HUGE hit.

I mean, of course, I made them, after all!

Tonight, I’m running a 5K with the bestie, Mollie and our lovely and gorgeous friend, CA – who continues to make all kinds of blog appearances! 🙂 She’s going to be famous via fitnesscrEATures. Muahaha!

v5k-logo

It’s going to be awesome because there is a promised red beer at the finish line (like blood!) and it’ll be at 6 Flags over Georgia. Being a roller coaster lover, I’m absolutely thrilled about how my Friday will be spent: covered in fake blood, pretending to be a vampire and riding roller coasters. Yummy. Basically, citizens start in one area, vampires start in another and at some point they meet up and the vampires chase the citizens and rip their belts off. It’s like flag football, but awesome style! 🙂 Naturally, I’m signed up to be the evil vampire!

v5k-map-sm

Like the map says, I plan on celebrating eternity tonight! Ha!

And finally, what kind of blogger would I be without showing my raw excitement about it being FRIDAY!?!

images

(Source.)

Dwight Schrute is by far the sexiest man alive. I wish I could visit Schrute Farms one day and stay in his humble bed and breakfast!

What are you doing tonight?

Do you run in the morning, afternoon, or night? What’s your favorite?

Any travel plans this weekend?

-Meghan

25 thoughts on “Night Running

  1. I’m terrified of night running. But I think it’s because I usually run alone so it would be slightly scarier if I had to go by myself. And probably not very smart, either. I want to run a race at night someday!

    • No smart at all, my friend. 🙂 I wouldn’t do so if I wasn’t with a dog, a male, and another girl! Safety in packs, right? Night races are actually A LOT of fun – I recommend it!

  2. aw, that picture. last year i would have laughed at the idea of me being a morning person, but i’m finding that i am one! if i have anything to accomplish (workouts, groceries, blogging) i have to do it in the morning. that 5K sounds so fun! enjoy!

    • Seriously, I still laugh at myself for thinking anything will get done in the morning. I always set my alarm for like 5 am and then re set it for my regular waking hour after laughing at myself for even trying. Ehhh, maybe I’ll work on that next.

  3. We are twins. I ran at night last night after the gym and totally enjoyed it. It was my first night run and it was nice not to have to contend with the billions of strollers and little kids that usually take over the sidewalk. But my favorite time to run is in the morning because I think I have the most energy then. Happy weekend, girlfriend!

    • Naturally, we are the best twins in the world! Yipee for a great run, I didn’t catch that one on Daily Mile. I must go back and give you ‘motivations’! Such a silly program! Can’t wait to see what your wonderful weekend has in store for you! Suspicious little blogger girl!

    • LOL that’s the only way I feel 100% safe running at night is with all those people and the creature dog! thank you, you too!!

    • That’s my fave time to run too. YAY I know – Living Social deals are sometimes the best (that’s how I found the race!).

  4. I am incredibly jealous of your friday night plans!! I love coasters and it has been entirely too long since i’ve ridden one…must change that this summer. I typically run right after i wake up at 5:30 in the morning, but i went out for six miles with my run club last night and loved it, so that might have happen more often 🙂

    • 🙂 I saw that post! I don’t know how you can run in the mornings, I’m envious of those can do that! Yay I’ll ride one for you tonight! 🙂 🙂

  5. I used to do all my runs at night with my hubby, but since my son came along I now am an early morning runner. My favorite time is in the morning when the sun is barely making an appearance. I love it!

    • Morning running is winning the vote everywhere! 🙂 I might just have to give it a try and see what all the fuss is about!

  6. Oh my gosh! I thought about doing the Vampire 5K, but I would have wanted to get a large enough group together to get professional makeup and by the time I found it online it was too pricey… 😦 I can’t wait to hear what you think about it though! (The other hurdle for me was choosing Vamp or Citizen, haha!)

    I LOVE running in the morning, but have yet to master the art of getting out of bed in any kind of timely manner, so I usually end up running anywhere between 2 and 6 pm. I love sunset runs though! I’m always too much of a chicken to go running at night, but maybe I’d be less freaked if I didn’t insist on running alone.

    • I wouldn’t have done it had I not gotten it on Living Social for like, $20. It was WELL worth it, I loved that people were SO into it! Haha, I would definitely choose vampire – being chased is a scary thought so I didn’t even think twice about being a citizen. 🙂 Haha, I’m the same as you when it comes to running time frames. Getting out of bed in a timely manner is just unnecessary.

  7. That sounds like such a fun 5K! Have a blast. I typically only run in the morning, but every once in awhile I really enjoy running at sunset. Pitch dark is too scary for me!

    • 🙂 It was so much fun!! I wish I could run in the mornings. I see so many people out there but I’m never able to drag it outta bed!

  8. I am definitely a mixture of a night and morning runner…I like running in the evenings during the work week but on the weekends it’s always nice to get it out of the way first thing. That 5k looks like a blast, hope you had fun!

  9. Pingback: Frenemies | fitnesscrEATures

Speak your mind!

