2 x 5K + 1 x 10K = ??

Okay, let me make that easier to get. Two 5K’s plus one 10K this week equals what??

A very happy runner girl.

It’s been too long since I’ve done much running (since the marathon) and the past two weeks have shown me that I can indeed still run, and run with some passion and fun! I almost forgot how much running means to me. Running has given me a life, taught me patience, given me hope and motivation and mostly, running has given me something to look forward to almost every day. Whether it’s a good day or bad – a run will only make me feel better. I owe running, and the running community and all associated blogs out there a big T-H-A-N-K-S because all the support and love + my excitement for running makes me a better, happier and stronger person. 🙂

Monday was a run for Boston – a 5K in 24:51 with another blogger, Mollie Hannah and The Senator.

PicMonkey Collage

Tuesday was another 5K with my boyfriend – an easy 30 minutes.

Last night was the 10K.

20130417_200033

Awesome. And proof for Her Happy Balance, I do have a red tomato-y face when I run, I promise!

20130417_195936

Literally, I was dripping with sweat. It was lovely, as shown my big goofy smile.

The temperatures have been pretty hot in Atlanta so I’m hoping that the more I get out there, the more my body adjusts and the more successful I can be over the summer (I typically refrain from running in the summer). Maybe I’ll try that thing – working out in the morning? Hmmm.. We’ll see.

I also did a fun ab circuit this week that I would have repeated again but my abs are SO sore! Such an odd place to feel such tenderness. Oh well. The co-blogger, Bek, and I did this one time through but doubled everything. I thought it would be easy… Why do I bother thinking, ever??

9bd678cf037165055c91e96b0af8544b

(Source.) < I couldn’t find the original source but that’s the pin I used.

Then Bek and The Senator decided to love on each other which was the cutest thing to watch post workout.

20130415_224428

How. Sweet.

IMG_20130415_224540

They are bunny wabbits! So lame. Love them both so much.

I also wanted to share my latest kitchen concoction – sweet potato wedge ‘fries’.

IMG_20130415_212202

Ingredients
2 smaller sweet potatoes (this fed two people as a side)
1.5 tablespoons fresh julienne basil
2 tablespoons cinnamon
1 tablespoon sea salt
3 tablespoons almond flour/meal
1.5 tablespoons olive oil

Slice the potatoes up into wedges. To do this, I cut them in half and then sliced them down the middle from there. It was not a very safe method – you are probably smart enough to do it better than me. Mix up all the dry ingredients in one bowl (basil, cinnamon, sea salt and almond flour). Toss the wedges in the olive oil until they are all nice and covered. Then, mix in the dry mixture so the fries get coated with all that good seasoning stuff! Place them on a cooking sheet lined with parchment paper and bake them for 20-25 minutes or until crisp on 450 degrees.

20130415_211928

I opted to leave the skins on for texture but you may do whatever you like!

Do you have any pets? Do you run with a dog?

What’s your favorite ab move when you’re working them out?

Sweet potato fries: do you like them or not?

-Meghan

19 thoughts on “2 x 5K + 1 x 10K = ??

  1. Girl, you are my favorite. Let’s just be best friends already 🙂 You do not look that tomato-y btw, but I enjoy the selfie! Awesome job on all the running this week! Also, Bek and the senator being wabbits is quite possibly the cutest thing ever.

    • Hey! This is Bek. Just wanted to say (as Meghan’s best friend) that I fully support you two being best friends – I’m okay with sharing. We talk about you all too often for you not to just do it already! Now that you have my blessing, please update your status on FB 🙂

      • Thank you so much for your blessing, it means the world to us! (I’ve decided I’m going to speak for Meghan too) We can be the three amigos! 🙂 I’ll tackle my FB status soon haha

    • I mean you took the words outta my mouth! All my friends are like “her happy balance and you are blog besties!!!” ahahha!! 🙂 LOVE it!

      • Hahaha!! The senator would love a new roomie!!!! hahahahah preferably someone who actually likes him! 🙂 jk, bek. if i ever come to PA i’ll be visiting you IRL. BLOGGER MEET UP!!

  2. LOVE LOVE LOVE SWEET POTATO FRIES! And those look amazing 🙂 I don’t have a dog yet 😦 More on that in tomorrow’s post actually haha, but hopefully that will change sometime in the next year!

    • me tooooo they are so good and i just started eating them – i used to dislike them! the horror! get your run on this weekend! 🙂

    • thank you thank you! dogs can either be the best or the worst running companions. mine can be awful and horrible one run and my motivation the next run. consistency would be great. haha

Speak your mind!

