Wahhh! A 10K That Wasn’t…

^^^^ That’s my whiney voice. Ask anyone, it’s really pleasant to hear. Yesterday I set out in beautiful weather to run a 10K right by the governor’s mansion with The Senator.

PicMonkey Collagenota10k

I have a feeling my friends over at Art With Ms. K and Picky Runner would have LOVED running in that hot temperature yesterday…. 🙂

I did too, but discovered it will take some adjusting. My goal was to hit 6.2 for time and walk until I hit 7 miles (that’s the route I chose). Instead, I did 4.5 miles for time and still had to walk until 7 miles because I’m a moron and do out and back type routes. It could have been worse, but I’m still disappointed. One a better note, the Senator ROCKED it out. He was loving every second of the run and was irritated with me when we stopped to walk home. 🙂

image001 (1)

Sidenote – I LOVE having a Garmin watch. It makes me so happy.

Post run, I ate and then experimented in the kitchen again. I’m not fully sure what’s going on here because I used to not be able to even make Kraft mac n cheese and now I’m all about trying to make yummy treats in the kitchen. Who would have thought that the girl who set cookies on fire in elementary school would be making her own banana chips?

Perfectly Paleo Banana Chips

IMG_20130410_221154

2 bananas
1 tablespoon cinnamon
a little less than one teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

Mix all the spices together. Slice the bananas into slices that are about 1/2 inch thick. Place them individually on a cooking sheet lined with the beloved parchment paper and sprinkle the spices evenly along the tops of them. Bake them on 450 degrees for roughly 20 minutes. I’d recommend checking on them after 15 because some of my thinner slices decided to start burning around then while my thicker slices were perfect.

IMG_20130410_221431

Then, eat up! I love bananas and this is just another way to use them as a sinless dessert or snack!

How do you cope with weather changes when running?

What things have you royally ruined in the kitchen? Ha!

What’s your favorite way to eat nanners? 🙂

-Meghan

16 thoughts on “Wahhh! A 10K That Wasn’t…

  1. I’m actually not a big banana fan. I love banana chips (the crunchy processed kind) but because they’re so crappy for you I stopped eating them. Maybe I’ll have to try your healthy version 😉

    • Haha, I got the idea from a co worker yesterday and couldn’t resist trying. They weren’t very chip like though – I’ll have to figure out a way to get them crunch-a-fied! 🙂

  2. Ohhhh yes I would have been in heaven 😉 Not so conducive to running fast but I can try! Lucky for me, I get to practice speed today in the heat during our track workout. Or not lucky, since I really hate them.

    • I thought so! 🙂 so true, i typically run faster but it was still not too bad! that shorts and shoes tan line… not loving that so much.

  3. Yikes! Weather changes when running are no fun. (Though I tend to run in the evenings so heat usually isn’t my battle – it’s almost always unexpected drizzling, which I’m sure is equally as fun.)

    I love that you run with The Senator! I can’t wait to be reunited with my dog so we can go for runs together!

    My favorite way to eat bananas is to grill them! Otherwise I’m just an average “from the peel” kind of girl. Those banana chips look scrumptious though! And yay! They’re Paleo! Definitely going on my “to try” list.

    • I can’t handle weather changes apparently! I need to either join that band wagon of evening running or suffer and get up before work.

      YOU ARE SO FREAKING ADORABLE to call him the senator! It’s not his real name, LOL, but I LOVE that you just said that! I’m really laughing over here… 🙂 🙂 Paleo=instant happiness lately.

Speak your mind!

