Paleo-riffic Dinner Time

Wait! Stop! Don’t leave! I promise this post isn’t nearly as lame as the title claiming the content below.

I don’t keep promises, so you are excused from reading if you desire. 🙂

Delightfully Delicious Paleo Salmon Dinner (it’s a unique & creative name, don’t ya think?) This should be a doozy, it’s TWO recipes (ignore the crumbly looking things in the front, those don’t count and I can’t believe I have to fess up to what I did to make such a DISGUSTING concoction!).

20130407_181754

One item at a time here…

Cedar Plank Grilled Salmon
2 salmon filets
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
2 teaspoons olive oil
1.2 tablespoons basil
lots of cracked black pepper
sprinkles of sea salt
1 cedar plank
1 grill 🙂

This salmon was incredibly easy to make (and that has nothing to do with the fact that my boyfriend did the actual grilling part, I only seasoned it!). First, you must soak the cedar plank in water for about 30 minutes. Second, slather the salmon (make sure the skin is removed) in the olive oil and lemon juice. Sprinkle the rest of the seasonings on top evenly and THAT’S IT!

20130407_175100

See, easy for me, right? Then it needs to be placed onto the cedar plank and then into a grill. I’m not sure if this works in an oven… Anyone know?? It cooked in the grill for about 20 beautiful minutes before it came out and teased me with its scent.

20130407_181729

The salmon was the best!

Next up, Balsamic Pan Seared Green Beans

2 cups raw green beans
3 tablespoons balsamic
1/2 teaspoon olive oil
1 teaspoon garlic powder
salt & pepper to taste

Can we just rewind for a moment? How many times have I used balsamic in this past week? I mean, really, let’s try and diversify, Meghan. Balsamic isn’t the best thing out there. Or is it? I’m not sure about life today. Or love. Or anything in between. <—for my co blogger BeKaaah!  I have also prided myself, as of today, on being able to come up with different ways for saying, “Use balsamic in this recipe!” I had marinated, infused, now pan seared! Look at me go. Who knows what I’ll hatch up next!

Anyway, to make these suckers, put the balsamic and olive oil into a pan and let it heat up. Add the green beans and then sprinkle the garlic powder, salt and pepper on top. I covered the pan with a top and let them sear for about 15 minutes, stirring them a few times throughout. I think they could have gone on a little longer, too. Practice makes perfect folks!

20130407_181739

No, I’m not repurposing photos. I took several at different angles to accent the different foods.

That was before I tasted the third item on the plate, a recreation of the girl Bekah’s curried sweet potato coins. Here comes my confession – my recreation was DISGUSTING, and that’s being nice because I’m trying to keep things rated G over here on fitnesscrEATures. That stuff was downright awful.

When she made them, I fell in love. It was like the clouds opened up and the sun shined down upon me, and only me. They were so yummy and so gluttonous (but still Paleo!) so I wanted to recreate them except instead of frying them, I baked them. Worst decision ever. My boyfriend and I each had less than one full bite and threw them ALL away. I am not 100% sure what I did wrong here, but they surely did NOT turn out anything like the delicious ones my fellow blog girl posted about. Talk about life’s disappointments…. So sad.

With all that failure on my hands, I had to redeem myself. Enter, Paleo-riffic dark chocolate banana frozen yogurt!

2 frozen bananas
2 pieces of dark chocolate (over 72% for Paleo-riffic-ness)
almonds, for texture

Put all that junk in a food processor, stand back, and watch that machine do work. Once it looks like it’s all creamy and ready, it is ready to devour! I un-Paleo-fied mine with some whipped cream on top. Eh, I can’t be that perfect.

20130407_212940

Yeah. There’s really nothing better than that. Guiltless ice cream = happy Meghan. Happy Meghan = Meghan not throwing things at co blogger and roomie, girl BeKaaah. 🙂 I think it’s a win win situation here, folks.

-Meghan

5 thoughts on “Paleo-riffic Dinner Time

  1. Pingback: Wahhh! A 10K That Wasn’t… | fitnesscrEATures

Speak your mind!

