Will Jack’s Mommy or Daddy Come Get Him?

So, that should be fun to discuss, but before that excitement, I would like to happily announce a successful run! My first run that felt good since my marathon happened last night and I am SO happy!

image0012

Yeehaw, 4 miles in about 35 minutes. AND, that’s not even the good part. The good part is that I feel so much better! My legs didn’t ache and stretching afterward was phenomenal. 🙂 It’s not much mileage, but I’ll build back up. Yay for the recovery process slowly coming to an end and for training for new things soon.

After the run, the Bek and I walked to Trader Joe’s in the rain with Jack (The Senator).

20130403_192227 

It was yucky outside to say the least.

So once there, I leashed The Senator up to a pole and went in to grab a few things. Don’t worry, he was under cover and out of the rain. That, apparently, was not good enough for him though. He was so belligerent that the management at the store felt it necessary to page his owner – and it went a little something like this:

Me-“Hey Cola, I’m going over here to try this sample Trader Joe’s has out, are you almost finished?”
Bek-“Yeah girl, I’m going to grab bac-“
Trader Joe’s Management-“Will Jack’s mommy or daddy please come get him from the front of the store? Again, Jack’s mommy or daddy to the front of the store please!”
Me-“OMG. Cola. Grab my basket. Use my wallet and pay for my groceries!!”

I immediately apologized and went outside to see what the problem was. I would have taken a picture but The Senator wasn’t sitting still long enough to be captured on film.

Mortifying.

I couldn’t believe just how hyper and anxious he was. He was screaming, yelping, jumping, barking, crying, and anything else you can think up that a dog would do when stressed out. I sat outside with him until Cola came out with all of our groceries. It was out of control that he was so worked up.

Oh, you thought I carried my own groceries? Nope. The girl Bek did it all! Wonder Woman herself…

20130403_194918

Yay for having a good roomie!

When we got back, after some major unloading, I cooked up some Brussels for the remainder of the week to throw on salad. As if I didn’t use enough balsamic yesterday, I decided to incorporate it again last night.

20130403_220033

I’m all about balsamic lately but I probably took it too far with this (I poured too much of that savory liquid on these).

Ingredients:
20 ounces shaved Brussels sprouts
5 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon olive oil
lots of pepper
some salt

Put all the ingredients into a large Ziploc bag. Shake them all up thoroughly. Dump out onto a cooking sheet lined with parchment paper. Place in oven at 400 degrees for 50 minutes and stir them occasionally throughout. Voila!

20130403_220115 

And, per my usual, I ate some with a fork before storing it for my salads this week. They turned out fantastic and taste testing led to quite a bit more…

Isn’t that how it always goes?

-Meghan

9 thoughts on “Will Jack’s Mommy or Daddy Come Get Him?

  1. Haha awww I’d be embarrassed by this too. My dog has done similar things to me when I’m with my family so we’ve stopped taking her out in public. It’s a problem…

    • Definitely a problem. I’m sure I was bright red and if my roommate hadn’t been there IDK what I would have done! AHH! Separation anxiety much LOL??

  2. This is what happens when crEATures try and raise a creature . . . he was probably just jealous of all the yummy Trader Joe’s samples you were getting. Or maybe he was trying to campaign for his upcoming election in the most raucous and obnoxious way possible.

    • He was jealous that he couldn’t walk around and sample the yummy rolls they had out! He sensed I was consuming carbs and wanted to partake, per his usual behavior. And yes, I can imagine his campaign was the real drive behind his behavior. Jerk-off!

  3. Pingback: Crispy Curried Sweet Potato Coins | fitnesscrEATures

Speak your mind!

