Almond Date Pancakes

Almond Date Pancakes

Attention!!! I am now the best chef in all the land! Ok, not really, duh. But I did successfully make my very first original recipe. Yay for me using my brain and cooking things.

I love pancakes, especially Paleo pancakes, and I’ve been making a lot of them lately, as you can see here and here. The recipes I’ve been using have been scrumdiddlyumptious, but I was kinda itching to concoct my own (regardless of the strong likelihood that I would waste every ingredient and end up throwing them all in the trash). Nevertheless, I took my chances. Thus, here we are.

Yep, I thought it would be really cute to take this picture:

Almond Date Ingredients

Because, I mean, why wouldn’t you spend an inordinate amount of time on a Sunday morning afternoon placing each ingredient in its respective measuring spoon and then staging the rest of your ingredients around them?

Ingredients:
2 bananas
3 eggs
4 dates (pitted)
1 tbsp almond butter (homemade)
3/4 cup almond flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp nutmeg

(Recipe yields about 8 medium-size pancakes)

Combine bananas, eggs, dates, almond butter, and vanilla extract first (in a food processor or with a good ol’ bowl/wisk combo), then add in your remaining ingredients – almond flour, nutmeg, baking soda, and baking powder.

Use coconut oil or butter to grease your pan, add a large spoonful of batter (evenly), wait about two minutes, flip (carefully – they’re delicate), wait another minute, and…PANCAKE!

Repeat above over and over until you run out of batter. Top with fresh fruit and pure maple syrup. Mm..mm..mm.

Almond Date Pancakes2

These were preeeeettty taste-y 🙂 By that, I mean I’m surprised I didn’t send myself to the hospital from self-induced food poisoning.

Next, I’m going to try an original recipe for Paleo Dark Chocolate Chip Pancakes. And they’re gonna rule your world, so you should probably keep reading our blog to find out if that’s true.

– Rebekah

7 thoughts on “Almond Date Pancakes

    • Thank you! About a year ago all I could make was cereal 😦 haha. Agreed on the dark chocolate! We’ll have to see how they turn out 🙂

      • Still, there’s an art to cereal, especially with the cereal-to-milk ratio. I like to end up without any extra milk in the bottom of my bowl, and that’s hard to do with certain types of cereal! ;] Good luck with the next round of pancakes!

Speak your mind!

