Sweet Potato Chips

It doesn’t get any more delicious than this, folks.

20130326_181449

After work yesterday I decided to be patient and make myself a snack rather than indulge in something quick and easy. Though this takes a good 20 minutes, it’s well worth the wait.

This served one person as a snack.

1 small sweet potato
1 tbspn olive oil
1 tbspn cinnamon
dash of sea salt

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Then, slice the potato – as thinly as possible. I intentionally purchase smaller potatoes so this task isn’t as daunting. Yes, the MegBek household has a food processor but this girl right here was feeling much too lazy to deal with the clean up of such a process. So, I sliced that potato with love, care and caution.

20130326_174821

Then I threw the slices in a small Ziploc bag along with the rest of the ingredients (cinnamon, olive oil and sea salt). I shook them up until I could see all the slices were covered with the ingredients. This is a lesson I’ve learned with these the hard way – you MUST take the time to give each slice a place on your cooking sheet. If you thrown them all on there all at once (like I used to do) then they’ll turn out soggy. They’re still quite delectable, but the texture is not on point. I line my cooking sheet with parchment paper, another lesson I learned the hard way. There is no replacement for parchment paper, for me, at least.

20130326_175228 

Then I let them bake in the oven for exactly 18 minutes. This is what works for my oven and I recommend checking them after 15 and figuring out what time is best for your oven. Practice makes perfect, I’m telling yah, I was a total novice at this a few months ago and now look at me! Perfect sweet potato chips coming ‘atcha!

20130326_181456

I quickly devoured those things up in no time at all!

I even bragged about it on social media.. All three platforms – Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. What can I say, I like food!

IMG_20130326_183035

Love Instagram.

Anyway, after that wonderfulness ensued, I moseyed on up to the local LA Fitness to work up a sweat. I recently joined so I can take up the fun sport of swimming while healing my leg injury – we’ll see how that goes! I opted for kickbox cardio. I’ve taken it before, many years ago, and remember it being a butt kicker. Side note, the LA Fitness I was at is brand spanking new and IT SHOWS. Wow. It’s glamorous. Here I am being creepy and taking pictures before class.

20130326_185407

I ran into some friends in the class too! It was great to have them there, especially because I am not nearly coordinated enough to kick box and I needed all the moral support I could get! One hour later and we were all soaking wet!

20130326_195951

They were good sports allowing me to photograph them! ❤ Such a successful Tuesday evening. 🙂

-Meghan

6 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Chips

Speak your mind!

