Homemade Almond Butter

AB4

Yesterday, Meghan sent me a recipe for some homemade almond butter that looked amazing! Naturally, I decided to make it immediately when I got home.

Here is the base recipe I used for this Homemade Cinnamon Vanilla Almond Butter.

It called for two cups of almonds, so it would make sense to use the entire 16 oz bag of almonds I bought, right? Because 8 oz = 1 cup? Um…I don’t know about that. I mean, I do know that 8 oz = 1 cup, but I feel like if I had actually measured out two cups, I wouldn’t have used the entire bag. When the ratio of the other ingredients didn’t quite match up, I decided the amount of almonds is where I went wrong. Not that I actually went wrong, because, I mean, come on, who doesn’t want more almonds? I just made some adjustments to the recipe.

Cinnamon Vanilla Almond Butter

  • 16 oz bag of roasted almonds
  • 3 or 4 tablespooons olive oil (depending on how creamy you want it)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla extract

AB1

AB2

AB3

AB5

Meghan thought this would be good for me to make because I already had the jars to store it in (you know how she loves to make fun of my jars). This is actually a former Trader Joe’s Almond Butter jar. Aww, it’s like the almond butter is going back to its home. How sweet.

Other than a bit of “taste-testing,” I haven’t eaten any of this yet. I can’t wait to try it out with some celery or an apple, ooh!, or a banana! Maybe I’ll have a party – one in which I just sit at home and slather almond butter all over all of those, then eat them…by myself. Someone now has plans tonight! It’s me. I’m going to be doing what I just described. Sorry that I explained that.

– Rebekah

8 thoughts on “Homemade Almond Butter

    • Maybe try half a cup at a time? I’m sure your food processor can handle it. Haha, thanks! For some reason, I LOVE recycling jars – they obviously come in handy.

    • Thanks! I actually really like the added flavor the cinnamon gives it. I might try some nutmeg next time, too, or even pumpkin pie spice 🙂

  1. Pingback: Almond Date Pancakes | fitnesscrEATures

Speak your mind!

