Quinoa Fried Rice + Kickball

As a vegetarian and somewhat health conscious individual, I tend to avoid most carbohydrates because of how processed everything is today. I wish I had discovered quinoa sooner than a few months ago but alas, it’s in my life now – and it’s in my life to stay! It is packed full of protein, super easy to cook and versatile in many recipes. I’m always on Pinterest looking for recipes and when Mollie spoke about a few recipes she saw using quinoa as ‘fried rice’, I was sold. Asian food (whether it’s Korean, Indian, Chinese, etc.) is one of my favorite kinds of food! So we gave it a shot this weekend.

20130316_185645

It was quite simple to make. I prepared the entire package of quinoa (I bought tri color quinoa from Trader Joe’s) just because I like to have quinoa leftovers.

Ingredients
**This served three hungry people with leftovers
3 chicken breasts (on the smaller side)
1 red pepper
1 cup snap peas
3/4 cup shredded carrots
1/2 cup sliced mushrooms
2 1/2 cups cooked quinoa
1 clove garlic (for chicken marinade)
3 tablespoons olive oil (for chicken marinade)
salt and pepper (for everything!)
3 eggs
soy sauce (optional)

While that was cooking, Mollie marinated some chicken in olive oil, fresh pressed garlic, salt and pepper. She also chopped up peppers and mushrooms and left me with the appealing task of chopping up the onion.

PicMonkey Collagequinoa

All the ingredients requiring preparation:

20130316_181044(0)use

Once the quinoa was finished, Mollie prepared the chicken in a sauté pan.

20130316_183923

Then it was time to add all the ingredients to the cooked chicken, the quinoa (approximately 2 1/2 cups), the peppers, the onions, the snap peas, the shredded carrots and three eggs.

PicMonkey Collage55 

I like to cook my eggs in the same sauté pan as all my other ingredients so the flavors get soaked up. I separate the other ingredients from the eggs until it’s cooked all the way and then stir everything up together.

20130316_185500use

Ah, is your mouth watering yet?

Yeah, mine is too. Sorry about that. 🙂 Once it’s all ready, add soy sauce if you like (I did) or any sort of spicy sauce you please. It doesn’t need it, but I wanted to use soy sauce. Oh, and you don’t need to enjoy it with your feet up in gorgeous weather, but that adds to the delicious-ness of the dish.

20130316_185803

It also helps if you’re with The Senator, your boyfriend and your best friend whilst enjoying this delicacy.

20130316_185910(0)

Yum, yum, it hit the spot, especially after a day of playing kickball with incredible friends.

20130316_104240

Love all of those beautiful people! Can you tell how pretty it was? AND, even better, we tied our game! We don’t SUCK this season! Piedmont Park stole my heart on Saturday. I ran a couple miles with all these lovelies in this weather before our kickball game and was on cloud nine. Being with some of the best and greatest people on such an extraordinary day really takes me somewhere.

20130316_113610

And I also watched some people ‘lay out’.

20130316_113605

Farmer’s tan girl? 🙂

-Meghan

3 thoughts on “Quinoa Fried Rice + Kickball

  1. This recipe is soooooo good I think I could eat it everyday in some form or another. And what a lovely way to enjoy it on a sunny springtime porch with a pooch and some good peeps!

    Also, I did NOT get a farmers tan.

  2. Pingback: Do I REALLY Need That? | fitnesscrEATures

Speak your mind!

