I RAN A MARATHON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yes. That was a belligerent title. But COME ON, I ran 26.2 miles yesterday and I live to tell about it – that’s worth all those exclamation points, right? 🙂 Let me recap the Georgia Publix Marathon for you!

The Health and Fitness Expo was quite overwhelming – it was a huge crowd full of ambitious people and tons of vendors. It would have been a lot cooler had I been less nervous. Oh well. I still ended up buying a headband for the race day, impulsively!

Check out some of the action at the expo:

PicMonkey CollagePUBLIX

I have never had my name on my race bib before, it made me feel special and it also was adorable that throughout the race all the people passing out water and snacks would say, “Come on Meghan, you got this!” It was personal and adorable.

I got up on Sunday at 5 am to stretch and get ready. My nerves were present, but not in full force, which was perfect. It was just enough to foster a healthy excitement instead of an intense fear. Plus it was great that I was with my boyfriend and two solid running friends! Remember Channing? We ran together a couple of weeks ago. She ran the half and I was SO happy to have her with me for the first part of the course.

facebook_-1534953455

We even matched and got to watch the sun rise together. It was romantic, to say the least. Once the race began, we turned our music up and kept a solid 10 minute/mile pace – just where I wanted to be to be able to finish a marathon.

20130317_075446

The course was a tour of a few neighborhoods in Atlanta. I thought it would be a great race because of the constant change of scenery – and it was certainly that. However, if you view the map, you can see how high we climbed during the race – over 1,500 feet. When I tell you that race beat me up and left me out to die, it really did. The hills were non-stop the entire time. If I got any sort of downhill (I got really excited about this) it would be canceled out almost immediately with twice as much incline. All I can say is, I finished, and I finished strong. My goal was to do it around 4:30, but I didn’t come anywhere near that. I’m 100% okay with it though, considering that with thousands of elite runners participating, only 18 qualified for the Boston Marathon. That just goes to show JUST HOW TOUGH this course was.

image001 (2)

Yes, yes, it’s very slow. But again, I will TAKE it. Heavens it was SUCH the challenge. I can hardly walk today.

Post race, I stretched it out like crazy.

20130317_121248

And clung tightly to this bad boy:

20130317_121419

Yep. I ran a marathon.

I also had the BEST cheerleaders/support I could have possibly had – from all the texts and calls wishing me good luck to all the people telling me congratulations, it made all the difference in the world. At mile 22.5, Mollie and Nadir caught up with me and ran a part of it with me. That was a crucial moment, because I thought I was going to die at that point but their encouragement brought me back to life and revitalized my desire to finish strong.

929

Yep. Best. People. Ever.

facebook_-1599110540

And when I finally got around to ensuring The Senator got his fair share of daily exercise, I was too lazy to do anything other than throw the ball for him.

20130317_183205

Look at his floppy little tongue. Such a good Senator. 🙂

If I shared all the things I ate with you folks, you’d be mortified. Let’s just say both Willy’s and Taco Mac were a part of my day. Whoops! I guess I’m allowed since I burned about 3,000 calories. Marathon Shmarathon, I got this! Now I’m amped to travel for another one – considering I heard that this was one of the toughest in the country, I think I can hit that 4:30 goal this year in another state.

-Meghan

11 thoughts on “I RAN A MARATHON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. I am so incredibly happy for you and proud that I could literally cry. Awesome, awesome job! I can’t wait to run one with you!!

    • Thanks love! You’re so sweet!!! 🙂 I can’t wait to run one with you too – we’re running soul mates, right??? 🙂 🙂 LOVE!

  2. Pingback: How to Make a Salad | fitnesscrEATures

  3. Pingback: The Theme Here is L-O-V-E | fitnesscrEATures

  4. Pingback: What Marathon? | fitnesscrEATures

  5. Pingback: Double Races | fitnesscrEATures

  6. Pingback: Nashville Country Music Marathon and BYEEE! :) | fitnesscrEATures

Speak your mind!

