Coconut Rice + Stir Fry

Be prepared to drool. 🙂

20130312_210530

I used the term ‘rice’ loosely because what you see above isn’t actually rice! Here’s what it was:

PicMonkey Collage66

In my fake fantasy world, the pre first step was to set the mood for Rebekah and me to adequately cook such a creative meal. 🙂

20130312_195232

Mission accomplished.

In the real world, the first step I took was to shred the cauliflower in the food processor. It was a very messy process. Then I coated the sauté pan with a little bit of olive oil and 1/4 cup of light coconut milk and added the shredded cauliflower.

20130312_200340

And I didn’t measure out those seasonings you see in the picture at the top, but if I had to guess I’d say the following:

a pinch of red cayenne
2 tbsps garam masala
1 tbsp garlic powder

20130312_200613

You. Guys. I was NOT liberal with this stuff. It is SO good. It really was the highlight of the dinner. While that was cooking, Rebekah got the chicken ready and I sautéed a whole ton of veggies! Trader Joe’s can always lure me in with their adorable marketing and last night was no different. This baby caught my eye and I was sold!

20130312_201325

The ingredients for this mix were broccoli, carrots, green cabbage, red cabbage, jicama (confession: I still have trouble with this. it’s not Jicama, it’s not Yicama, it’s Hicama, phonetically speaking, of course.), green bell peppers, radish and celery. I added some extra carrots, extra green cabbage (duh, who doesn’t just love green cabbage to pieces?) and some additional peppers for more colors. I also added three eggs at the end for some added texture and protein.

20130312_202218

And here’s the chicken Rebekah worked on. It was baked at 425 degrees for 20 minutes. She seasoned it with the same spices – garam masala, garlic powder, coconut milk and cayenne pepper.

20130312_205750

So the final product was DELICIOUS and aesthetically pleasing to boot!

This is my vegetarian version and the plate with chicken on it is on the top of the post. It. Was. SO. Good. <—why am I so into doing that? I don’t do it anywhere else in life. Weird-o.

20130312_210525

I practically inhaled that. When I was finished, I was still feeling gluttonous so I made some banana frozen yogurt. It’s incredibly complicated and difficult.

Step One: Freeze the bananas (2 per person, I’d guess)
Step Two: Put said bananas in a food processor and blend until smooth and creamy like frozen yogurt.
Step Three: Use your own toppings and EAT UP.

20130312_212715 

-Meghan

4 thoughts on “Coconut Rice + Stir Fry

  1. Pingback: Morning Sunshine! | fitnesscrEATures

Speak your mind!

