Cilantro-Lime Shrimp Lettuce Wraps

Wanna know how many plans I had last night? I’ll give you a hint: it’s less than 1 but more than -1. At this point, if you’re saying something like “I bet she had .4 plans or -.2 plans,” then you’re really creative, but really wrong, and a bit illogical in your thought processes. Sooooo, you should work on that. The answer is ZERO, everyone. I had absolutely NOTHING to do. No work, no friends, no nothing. No nothing? Jeez. So, there’s something for me to work on, too. Homework for everyone!

Jazz Hands
(Source)

That’s almost how I felt last night. Except, I didn’t feel like some huge man hand had turned me into a puppet, making me pose in awkward positions for photographs captioned with one-liners from early 2000’s Kirsten Dunst cheerleading movies. I’m also not a cat.

After taking waayyy too long to shop for groceries (this is something I physically can’t do quickly), I wasted more time by chasing around a prescription at two different pharmacies. How much fun is that, you ask? So much fun. It was for a lotion – because apparently my skin doesn’t like our new laundry detergent – so Meghan and I have already had a lot of fun saying “It puts the lotion on its skin.” We’re pretty cool.

The whole way home (all half a mile of it) I pondered what I was going to do with a night entirely to myself. The way I saw it, I had all the time in the world. I could do whatever my heart desired, and no one was going to stop me. But what should I do? Write a nursery rhyme? Read to my stuffed monkey? Feed homeless cats outside my apartment? Feed homeless people outside my apartment? Knit a beret? Submit new words to dictionary.com? Create a scavenger, then do it myself? The possibilities were endless. Truly. So, with that in mind, I decided to work out then make dinner. Are you disappointed in me for that choice? I am.

For my workout…
…I completed two bodeefit.com inspired WODs.

AMRAP 20 Minutes

Complete as many rounds as possible in 20 minutes

  • 5 dips
  • 10 push ups
  • 15 squat jumps

3 Rounds

  • 1 minute wall sit
  • 1 minute forearm plank
  • 20 side plank hip raises (10 each side)

I altered each one a little. Honestly, it was to make it a bit easier. The push ups they wanted me to do made me laugh in a “you’ve got to be effing joking” kind of way. Oh, silly bodeefit people thinking I have any chest strength whatsoever. They’re a hoot. After the gym, I got to work on dinner. Glad it was relatively quick to prepare because Mama was a hungry bear. Well, there’s my nursery rhyme. Unintentional. And awkward because I think, of everything I listed, feeding animals or people should probably have been at the top of my list – not writing nursery rhymes.

Ok, back to dinner – I put together something simple, yum yum, and 100% Paleo: Cilantro-Lime Shrimp Lettuce Wraps.First, I got all my ingredients together.

clswrap

3/4 lb – Cooked, frozen shrimp
Bibb lettuce
1 – Tomato
1/4 cup – Shredded carrots
1/4 cup – Cashews
1 oz – Cilantro
1/8 tsp + a dash – Red Pepper
1/2 – Lime

I thawed my shrimp by putting them in a strainer and running cold water over them for a few minutes. I then got everything chopped up and ready to go.

Clswrapcollage

My shrimp were already cooked, so I didn’t want to heat them up for too long for fear of them getting rubbery. I don’t think anyone can appreciate rubbery shrimp. If you can, then good on you, dude.

I added a little bit of olive oil + the cilantro, red pepper, and cashews to the shrimp and carrots and put it all on low-med heat just long enough for the shrimp to get hot and the flavors to mix a bit.

clswrap4

clswrap5

Yummy yummy in my tummy…I guess I still had some mad rhymes left in me.

I plated up some bibb lettuce (I used a few leaves each time because they’re pretty thin), added a large spoonful of the shrimp, and topped it all off with some diced tomatoes. Oh, and some baby carrots on the side 🙂

Clswrapcollage2

I had two of these, and had plenty left over for lunch today 🙂

Overall, not a shabby noplansatallexcepttobealoserandhangoutbymyself kind of evening. Um, especially because I indulged in a banana covered in almond butter immediately after dinner. And I mean immediately. Like, plate in dishwasher -> one hand on a banana, the other wrapped around the jar of almond butter -> look like a dog trying to get the almond butter off the roof of my mouth, immediately.

– Rebekah

4 thoughts on “Cilantro-Lime Shrimp Lettuce Wraps

    • Informative, babe! Sounds like we REALLY need to know our target audience in order be effective, since nothing else is going to gauge it for us otherwise. As always, thank you for your patronage.

Speak your mind!

