Spaghetti Squash for Dinner

Every Monday, I hang out with Ms. Mollie Hannah. Typically – we knock out three miles and then indulge in some Tin Drum…AKA Heaven. Last night, however, we switched things up! I’ve had a spaghetti squash staring at me, begging me, relentlessly, to be cooked so I finally gave in last night. We made up a random dish and it was so yummy! Here’s how it went:

Get your spaghetti squash baking after cutting in half and putting it face down in a pan with water, an idea from my lovely co blogger in an attempt to decrease olive oil consumption.

20130304_184509

Mollie and I let it bake for 49 minutes (yes, exactly) on 400 degrees. Whilst that was working in the oven, Mollie made a pesto sauce from what we had on hand in the MegBek household.

20130304_184124

Fresh garlic, garlic powder, dried oregano, dried basil, Italian seasoning, red pepper flakes, fresh cilantro and olive oil all went in the mix.

20130304_185308

Whisking away… 🙂

And once that was finished, we opted to do a circuit instead of a run. It was ROUGH.

20130304_191109

While we sweat it out, The Senator chose to be a lazy bum and watch us work – he gave himself a front row seat.

20130304_191753

So needy.

The spaghetti squash was close to ready once we finished the circuit, so I sautéed some mushrooms to add some extra flavor to our dish.

20130304_190105

Then it was time to remove the squash from the oven. Once it comes out – it just needs a little attention before it’s ready to eat. You have to take a fork and scrape the insides out of it. That’s how you get the ‘spaghetti’.

20130304_193825

Come to me, spaghetti ‘noodles’!

20130304_193830

All we did was transfer the goods to a plate, top it off with our home made pesto + sautéed mushrooms and it was ready to go!

20130304_194117

Ah, yes, we also added some goat cheese to give it a creamy texture and richer flavor. It worked!

20130304_194314

You know how I know for sure that it was a success? This picky girl, Mollie, GENUINELY enjoyed it. Therefore, it was good.

With all that scrumptiousness in my belly, I decided to go to bed early in favor of an early morning workout. I got up at 5:30 am and knocked out 10 miles on the bike. It’s not exactly what my favorite activity is but I’m trying to have low impact on my legs (injury prevention).

20130305_064142

With my cool down, I hit almost 11 miles. Yipee! I wish I had a real bike… Soon enough… 🙂

-Meghan

2 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash for Dinner

    • Haha glad I could turn you! 🙂 We need to make that more often – it’s healthy soul food! Let’s do it with chicken sausage/chicken and tomato sauce next time!

Speak your mind!

