Cauliflower (Maybe Paleo) Pizza

Based on the previous three entries in this here bliggity blog, it would seem as though I have removed myself from contributions in the life and love of this crEATure. It’s a good thing we don’t base our facts on assumptions like that, though, because here I am with something else to rock your world! Oh, and per the usual on Friday, I must tell you with a happy heart:

HAPPY FRIDAY!

It’s about time that I pick myself up and share this awesome discovery with you.

Cauliflower Paleo Pizza

20130224_200058

Ingredients:

1 cauliflower head
3 eggs
basil, parsley, oregano (fresh if possible, but dry is fine)
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/4 cup almond flour
3 cloves freshly minced garlic
+ whatever toppings your heart desires

First, you grate the cauliflower in a food processor or blender after removing anything green on the cauliflower. I chose the blender because as my co blogger already announced, she hadn’t opened her food processor until this week. So sweet. Good thing I have a stellar Ninja blender.

20130224_185938

You can kind of tell – it’s a fairly messy process.

Once it’s all blended up, throw it in a bowl and microwave it (to soften the cauliflower) for 8-10 minutes. During this time, turn your oven on to 425 degrees.

Once the cauliflower is out of the microwave, add the rest of the ingredients.

20130224_191808

Try to be smarter than me and remember that the bowl has just been in the microwave and will likely be very hot and could potentially burn your hands. Just an afterthought – of course. 🙂

Mix up all those goodies and have fun whilst doing so. Then, scoop out a decent amount of the ‘dough’ onto a pan coated with parchment paper NOT TIN FOIL. Spread thinly. Put in the oven for roughly 20-25 minutes, or until it looks like it’s browning.

While the crust bakes, get your toppings ready. We used green peppers, mushrooms, an assortment of olives and turkey pepperoni (which I realize isn’t Paleo, but everything else is and you don’t have to use it if you want to keep Paleo).

20130224_193626

During this prep time, you may realize how stupid you’ve been at the grocery store and have forgotten to buy tomato paste to make sauce. If this happens to you, here is your solution: home made pesto with whatever you have on stock.

Homemade Pizza Pesto
This made enough for 2 pizzas

1/2 cup olive oil
handfuls of fresh parsley, chopped up (I really can’t get enough of it)
4 freshly minced garlic cloves
salt
pepper
onion powder
oregano (dried)
red pepper flakes

I whisked all of that up until I had a pretty looking pesto.

20130224_193656

Once my pizza crust was nice and cooked, I topped it with the pesto and our chosen toppings.

20130224_195038

Oh yes, we also used goat cheese (not Paleo, but again, you can omit this).

20130224_195244

Once the toppings were on, the pizza went back into the oven to broil on high for about three to four minutes. You must keep an eye on it though, because it cooks faster than you think.

And alas, you have your finished product. I know, it looks too good to be true. Well, it is. I put cheese on top because that’s just something I can’t live without. 🙂

20130224_200058

Cut to me devouring my pizza like a champion because that’s my style.

20130224_204127

Clearly I’m a happy girl with this very yummy and satisfying meal. While I didn’t keep it Paleo, it is possible to keep it Paleo if you omit the pepperoni and cheese – which doesn’t take too much away from this recipe at all. As I stated before, you can put whatever you want on top! And remember, the crust hardly has any calories or fat (aside from the eggs + olive oil) so you can allow a small amount of freedom with your toppings. All the herbs and flavor really shine through and take over this dish. I highly recommend it!

One more time for good measure and for my co-blooger/roomie/bestie:

HAPPY FRIDAY!

-Meghan

3 thoughts on “Cauliflower (Maybe Paleo) Pizza

Speak your mind!

