PANCAKES!!!

Sorry to shout. But – PANCAKES!!! Crap, now I’m shouting in color. Great.

So. I decided to do something crazy today. Ok wait. I decided to do TWO crazy things today:

1. Bust out the Food Processor that Meghan got me for Christmas, like…um…two months ago. Sorry, girl.

  • This thing is seriously fabulous. When I used it this morning, I wanted to kick myself for not using it before now. I’m sure Meghan had an even stronger desire to kick me than I did. What a great best friend for getting me such a wonderful and practical gift! In case you weren’t quite sure by now: she’s the effing best.
  • On a separate note, Meghan and I were talking this morning about how she likes to throw the the present I got her at me just for the purpose of being literally as belligerent as possible (usually when I’m driving us home from work, which = super safe). Sometimes I get the feeling I should throw my food processor at her, but then I think mm, better not. Because that would be murder.

2. Make pancakes with a different recipe! I know. Mind blowing.

  • But really, for the last Nth number of times, I’ve made pancakes using this recipe. It’s delectable, don’t get me wrong – and a great go-to pancake recipe – but I needed something new. 
  • So I decided to try Juli’s (PaleOMG) Banana Vanilla Bean Pancakes with Mixed Berry Compote. This was a great decision.

Ingredients (as per Juli):

  • 2 bananas, peeled
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons coconut flour
  • 1 vanilla bean pod
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ¼ teaspoon baking soda
  • sprinkle of cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup frozen mixed berries
  • 1-2 tablespoons honey

So, in picture/caption form, here’s what the process looked like:

Omg1

Combine your bananas and eggs in your food processor. (First, take half an hour figuring out how to put it together at 6:30 a.m.)

Omgcollage

Add your vanilla from one bean to your food processor – halve the pod and scrape out all the ooey gooey goodness inside. These little guys are expensive, but they smell yummy as all get out.

Omgcollage2

Finish your batter by adding the last few ingredients. That’s coconut flour (on the left) in a recycled jar. You’re welcome, Meghan. She just LOVES my recycled jars. You have to admit they come in handy for other recipes.

Omgcollage3

Make your compote! I used strawberries because that’s what Meghan allowed me to use. *Note to self: buy frozen fruit so you don’t have to mooch off your bf/roomie.
I made it while I all but burned my pancakes. Also, the recipe didn’t call for any oil for cooking, (and they weren’t really burning) but it prevents them from actually burning and the color is a lighter brown if you use a little bit of coconut oil – which is what I did.

Omg8

This made about ten 3-4 inch pancakes.

Omgcollage4
I spy, with my little eye…a black bear!

Top your little fluffy delights with your fruit compote and zerr eet iz! These were delicious, I just hate that they look burnt when, in fact, they are not.

Those weren’t exactly “captions” were they? I’ll work on that.

PANCAKES!!!

Ah, I see we’re back to shouting in black and white again.

– Rebekah

4 thoughts on “PANCAKES!!!

  1. Pingback: SkinnyLicious | fitnesscrEATures

  2. Pingback: Cauliflower (Maybe Paleo) Pizza | fitnesscrEATures

  3. Pingback: Sweet Potato Chips | fitnesscrEATures

  4. Pingback: Almond Date Pancakes | fitnesscrEATures

Speak your mind!

