Herb Chicken

As Meghan and I were preparing today’s lunch last night, I decided to go ahead and make some herb chicken for the next couple days. I bought organic free range chicken along with a few herbs last night at Trader Joe’s. (Side note: thank you, Meghan, for all those creepy pictures of me that you so sweetly added to your last post.)

I love the free range chicken I get from Trader Joe’s. I’ve become extremely spoiled, actually, and I’m definitely a chicken snob. But whatever to that because the quality of this chicken is at least 17.6 times better than that of all the other grocery stores within a 5 mile radius of our apartment. Even the organic brands in these stores are disappointing. But, I digress…

Herb Chicken Ingredients:

7 oz Organic Free Range Chicken
1 tsp Olive Oil
1/2 tsp Basil
1/2 tsp Oregano
1/2 tsp Fresh Parsley
1/2 tsp Garlic Powder

Herb Chicken

I’m trying to get better about guesstimating how much olive oil I’m using because, inevitably, I think I’m only using a tablespoon, when in reality, I typically find that I poured out half a cup. I’m also really bad at guessing ages. I don’t know how to remedy that one, though, because you can’t measure ages…Wow. So, anyway…I’ve made it a point lately to measure it out at each meal. The olive oil, not your age.

I added 1 tsp of olive oil to a shallow, glass baking dish. After cutting my chicken in to smaller strips, I rubbed each piece around in the oil until they were completely coated. I then seasoned them on each side in this order: 1. garlic powder, 2. basil, 3. oregano, 4. fresh parsley. I tend to be a bit meticulous about things like that. Because obviously, switching the garlic powder and oregano would have made a world of difference in the flavor of this dish.

Herb Chicken 2

I love that this picture tells you that it’s 1953 and I’m cooking this meal in my taffeta dress, heels, and an apron while I anxiously wait for my husband to arrive home, in which time I will attend to his every need and desire, even after having slaved away in the kitchen all night. Then I’ll put the kids to bed.

Meghan was cooking some brussels sprouts at 375 degrees, so I just popped my chicken into the oven at that temperature and cooked it for about 20 minutes. It came out perfectly, which is worth mentioning seeing as I have a tendency to overcook chicken. I think I’m just deathly afraid of contracting salmonella. Anyway – yum.

In all its glory:

Herb Chicken 3

I divided this up into two 3 oz portions and paired them with some veggies. They’ll make for a healthy lunch the next couple days 🙂

– Rebekah

Speak your mind!

