Piedmont Park + A Run

Greetings, fitnesscrEATures! I had the day off yesterday and soaked up everything great about a day off – eating, relaxing, catching up, etc. Friday I left work a little early to meet up with Mollie and Nadir at the park. It was a glorious day outside and we took advantage!

PicMonkey Collage

It was adorable. The Senator played in the dog park and then we played Frisbee out in the field.

20130215_154413

He was very happy!

PicMonkey Collage1

While it wasn’t a ‘workout’, it was still great to get outside and move around. We even played soccer with a little kid we met. It was a beautiful day!

Saturday morning I had a half marathon on my training plan. It was frigidly freezing and windy and honestly, my head hasn’t been in the game lately. Running has become very painful – my hips, knees (especially!), feet, ankles and lower back are all screaming at me. I went out and tackled my 13.1 but I haven’t been able to run since, not for lack of trying. It’s discouraging, but I’m trying to keep positive and do some different kinds of working out this week to build some strength and give my joints a break. In spite of the cold air and the pain, I set a personal best time for a half marathon:

20130216_132757

Two hours, one minute, exactly. I was thrilled with that time. In October, I did a half marathon in about 2:12. It’s only been a few months, but I’ve knocked off so much time, and I’m so happy! Plus, it was actually pretty outside, despite the cool temperatures.

20130216_132820

After my run, I came home to this:

20130216_155446

And, can you guess what I did next? I joined them. I was so tired from my run. 🙂 Oh, and if you were thinking I would share recipes, you are thinking incorrectly. I have been out of groceries and haven’t done anything except eat out and TRY to eat healthily, though, not always with success. Anyway, getting back in the grind this week will be great! I have another 5K race this weekend and am hoping that healthy eating + some time off from running will = success!

-Meghan

2 thoughts on “Piedmont Park + A Run

Speak your mind!

