Hodge Podge

I’m sure this has happened to all of us: you don’t really have adequate groceries to make a normal meal, so you pick out a bunch of random items (a hodge podge, if you will, and I will) that naturally shouldn’t be eaten together, then throw them in a pan and call it dinner. Then you do the hokey pokey and you turn yourself around…

So that’s what I did last night. The food thing, not the hokey pokey. I made an omelet with some strange ingredients.

Ingredients:

eggs

Chkomelet

2 Eggs
2 oz Chicken
1/4 c Shaved Brussels Sprouts
1/8 c Shredded Carrots
2 tsp Basil
Dash of Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder
2 tbsp Olive Oil

First, I whisked my eggs and added them to the pan.

chkomelet2

I like 3 egg omelets when I don’t want to add many other ingredients, but when my omelet contains the whole kitchen sink, I prefer to use 2 eggs. It won’t be as fluffy, but really I just need the egg to hold everything else together, and for that, 2 eggs suffice.

Once my eggs were mostly cooked, I added my mess of ingredients (which I had previously pan fried/sauteed with olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder).

chkomelet3

Lookin’ pretty tasty.

Last step: I folded the egg-only side on top of my hodge podge mountain side and let it cook for a bit longer. I threw my finished omelet and a few cashews on my plate, and enjoyed a thoroughly absurd, yet suprisingly delicious meal.

chkomelet4

chkomelet5

For a random assortment of food thrown together late at night after a long day at work, I wasn’t mad about it.

Yes, of course you may use my chicken-brussels sprouts-carrot-basil omelet recipe. You know you don’t have to ask permission.

——

Additionally, this: How to make a proper Banana/Sunbutter sandwich.

Ingredients:
1 Banana
LOTS of Sunbutter (Meghan is a F-I-E-N-D for this stuff)

First:

sun

Then:

sun2

Finally:

sun3

Don’t beat yourself up if you don’t get it right the first time. Precision is key here, people. Keep practicing! You’ll get there soon 🙂

At this time I’d like to give a SHOUT OUT to Jeremy’s face for making an appearance on the blog. You might recognize his lower half from an earlier post. Together, both appearances = 1 full appearance. You did it! Yay.

– Rebekah

One thought on “Hodge Podge

  1. Pingback: MegBek Plays Tennis | fitnesscrEATures

Speak your mind!

