Shorter Distance Running

Thank goodness it’s Friday! 

Hm, is that what seems appropriate for me to post? I think so! 🙂 IT’S FRIDAY!

Anyway, my lunch yesterday reminded me of the famous Leaning Tower of Pisa:20130207_103816

That was a delectable romaine lettuce salad topped with my balsamic soaked cucumbers, carrots and avocados. I also had some pineapple, strawberries, a Lara Bar and a banana with sun butter. That sun butter hits the spot every darn day – it’s just sweet enough to satisfy my sweet tooth and prevent me from making bad decisions to buy candy.

I used that leaning tower lunch to fuel a short run. I am running a 5K this weekend and wanted to see how fast I could push it in three miles. I started on a bad note – I was TIRED! But, I ended up doing some decent splits after the first mile that was filled with small hills.

PicMonkey Collage

It was surely not my best run by any means, but it felt good to really push it toward the end. Someone else was feeling it – he could hardly move and was resting his head on me!20130207_203507

Then it got more pathetic as he proceeded to bury himself and pass out before the humans did.

20130207_223543

He is so dramatic. His dignity remains intact, for now, though – he has run 20 miles with me in the past seven days. He’s such a good senator!

I can’t make fun of the senator for kicking back early – we were tired as well and called it a night after our run! 20130207_203752

We almost didn’t workout. Per the usual, I am so glad I didn’t deny myself the physical activity my body was craving. As the famous mantra goes – you’ll never regret a workout.

-Meghan

Speak your mind!

