Runner’s Clubs Rant

Begin rant:

I love to run. I love other runners, even if they don’t wave at you as you pass them. I love the feeling of being outside and knocking out mile after mile. I love the runner’s high that comes along with running. Heck, I even like the silly fashion that goes along with running. However, last night, I learned that there is something I don’t like about running: running CLUBS.

Minding my own business and a little over two miles into my run, the senator and I were plugging along just swimmingly. Then, out of nowhere, a herd of people with all kinds of flashing lights (it was getting darker), reflectors and other obnoxious self lighting devices for visibility stampeded by me. I’m not talking a few people here – I’m thinking roughly 30 people on a tiny sidewalk. Maybe they couldn’t see me, maybe they could, but either way – some people ended up not moving and taking up the ENTIRE sidewalk, which in turn, caused me to partially run into a trash can/mail box combo. My phone and armband ripped off and fell to the ground and my headphones ripped out as well. When I pieced everything back together, my headphones weren’t working properly. I was pretty  upset – and honestly – almost cried. This run had been frustrating enough (my Garmin GPS watch wasn’t working properly and I was having a few other, let’s say, personal issues) and the last thing I needed was to be bombarded by a herd of runners who indirectly caused me to drop my phone and ruin my headphones.

Unhappy.

End rant.

Remember how I said how much I like the runner’s high that I get from running? Yeah, that’s likely the only reason I pressed on to make it through a tough (mentally) seven miles.Screenshot_2013-02-07-09-58-15

It was a better run than Saturday’s seven miles and it was another personal best for this guy right here!

jack 4

He was really pulling through in the end – I could tell he was feeling the pain of the speed we were going. Good thing he’s a senator and can handle these kinds of pressures.

In other news, roasted Brussels sprouts continue to make appearances in my daily consumption!

20130203_175547use

Covered with some eggs over easy style and you have yourself a delicious and nutritious meal. 🙂 They are much too easy to make once they’re all shredded. They are almost as good, if not better, than hash browns!

-Meghan

One thought on “Runner’s Clubs Rant

  1. Pingback: How to Make Brussels Sprouts | fitnesscrEATures

Speak your mind!

