Haddock Fish and a Salad

Hmmm, I’m seeing a trend in creative post titles recently… It’s a shame I can’t figure out anything better to call these things.

Saturday started out with a run. My goal was 13 miles but after a hefty cross fit on Friday night, I decreased it down to a quick and easy seven. I could hardly walk, let alone run a half marathon. I began with a hearty breakfast of eggs sunny side up.imagejpeg_2

Once digested, the SENATOR and I hit the road. We saw the most beautiful view of the skyline out there.

use this

And the senator wanted me to tell you guys that he achieved a personal best on our run! He ran seven miles which is the longest run he’s ever done! Good job to the senator.20130202_123826

Dinner preparation was next! I found a recipe for any kind of white fish you wanted to use on this cute blog and was sold once I heard olives were incorporated. The boyfriend and I chose haddock after picking from a dismal selection at Kroger.

So the recipe is super easy! Take the fish, cover it in olive oil and seasoning (I used Jane’s crazy mixed up salt) and top it with the following:
freshly minced garlic
sliced olives (we chose jalapeno soaked green olives for a punch of flavor)
sliced mushrooms
halved cherry tomatoes
fresh basil
fresh parsley

20130202_195700use

Once finished covering it in the goodies, set it in the oven on 400 for 15 ish minutes. The fish came out flaky and perfectly cooked with just an amazing mixture of flavors.20130202_202035

We paired it with a salad made of chopped romaine, sliced radishes, mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, olives, parsley and avocado. It was topped off with my home made salad dressing (balsamic vinegar, oil, salt, pepper and minced garlic).20130202_202336

So there it was folks – my fun filled Saturday! I never thought about the possibilities of topping fish with some of your favorite ingredients and it turning out great, but the haddock was a good fish to utilize for the experiment. It almost looks like a pizza with all those delicious toppings! 🙂

-Meghan

Speak your mind!

