Weekend Recap

Happy Monday!!!

But for real – no. I mean, first off, I’ve never understood why people wish you a “happy (insert day of the week here).” Why do people do that? Is it colloquial? Do they have nothing legitimate to say? Do they just like hearing themselves speak? Do they enjoy wasting text messages? I mean, if your phone plan doesn’t include unlimited texting, that’s a hefty bill each month just from useless “Happy I-Can’t-Think-Of-Anything-More-Original-To-Say-To-You” texts. Ok, so let’s assume you aren’t living in 2013 and your phone plan doesn’t include unlimited texting. (Side note: I’m not insulting the people who don’t have unlimited texting. I’m insulting society for promoting such an impersonal and mindless form of communication to such an extent that it’s become our most common interaction with any other person.) Further, let’s assume that it costs you $.10 to send one text. If you’re one of these people and you’re sending, oh let’s say, three per week every week of the year with an additional 5 around the holidays, you’re spending over $16 each year JUST so you can send someone an completely essentially meaningless text. Forget about how much additional money you’ll spend receiving text responses to your silly well wishes. I guess I just wish people would be more sincere. I digress…

I hope you’re all having a glorious MLK Day off of work! Haha, I bet you don’t believe me after that rant. I’m at the office, but I’m still having a pretty glorious day thus far. I didn’t post anything this weekend because I don’t have a computer at home and it’s a bit absurd to attempt posting something on my phone or even my iPad. Therefore, you get to read about my entire weekend in one long, agonizing post. How much fun is that?!

The weekend started out with a visit to Starbucks to meet up with two girls I work/ed with at my weekend job: Jen and Madelyn.

Jen and Madelyn

They’re adorable. Jen (left) and I work together almost every weekend, and she’s such a fun friend that I still get giddy every time I see her at work. It’s a stupid amount of giddy. Plus, we’re basically twins with our same dark features and curly, curly hair. We never get to see Madelyn because she’s in school at North Georgia, so it was a nice treat to see her 🙂 She is the epitome of perfect: intelligent, hilarious, fit, beautiful, and an absolute sweetheart.

Friday night dinner consisted of some pan-fried chicken in olive oil with Italian seasoning, garlic salt, and pepper along with a sweet potato with cinnamon, and some sauteed mushrooms.

ChkMushPot…..

Ok. So. Listen. We’re about to get serious. I don’t really know how it happened, but Friday night a few little critters sneaked into my bed with me and stayed there pretty much all night. The only reason I know is because I found at least two still sound asleep next to me when I woke up Saturday morning. Upon realization of what had occurred, I knew what I had to do:

Animal Crackers

I LOVE Animal Crackers. Deeply. I always have. I always will. But, they’re detrimental to my health so they had to go. They’re by no means even remotely paleo and I know that if I let them live in my pantry, inevitably, they’ll end up living in my tummy instead.

Dinner Saturday included something I haven’t made in quite a while: kale chips. Per my usual lately, I paired it with some chicken. It was pretty good, albeit a little salty. I can never get the amount of salt right with these.

ChkKaleChips

I also kept them in the oven a few minutes too long. Does it feel like this is more a blog about how overcook the crap outta your food than anything else?? Seems we’re moving toward that rapidly. Although, I will say that I cooked my chicken perfectly: just long enough to ensure I wouldn’t contract salmonella.

…..

I would usually sit down on my couch to eat breakfast (we don’t have a dining room table yet), but the sun was bright and intense Sunday morning so I tried to take advantage of that. Although it was a bit chilly, I decided to open my “patio” door and sit down on the floor while I had a cup of coffee and ate my breakfast (which did not include any Animal Crackers). This is super lame, but it was kind of peaceful.

Sun Breakfast

I had a scramble with egg, spinach, apple chicken sausage, and considerably too much avocado. Yum. And as you can see by this picture, our “patio” measures about 1×7 making it a bit ridiculous not to use quotation marks every time I use that word.

A visit to Katy’s house brought more deliciously healthy food to my lips.

Fruit and Brie

Lots of fruit, brie, and these delicious Raisin and Rosemary crackers from Trader Joe’s. Again, not Paleo, but I just really couldn’t pass these up. So far, my weakness with this diet seems to be crackers of all things. I don’t even like crackers. Before these last couple days, I couldn’t tell you the last time I had a cracker. I’m glad I can’t even validate my indiscretions. I suck.

My visit also let me see lots of this:

Lux

And this:

Lux2

That’s Lux, and she is the most adorable baby ever. Obviously. I’ve known her mommy for about 4 years now and she is definitely one of my top 5 favorite people I’ve ever met. While I was over there stuffing my face full of crackers, Katy caught me up on her wedding plans to her boyfriend, Geoff. They’re having a beach wedding this May and I can’t freakin’ wait. Every detail of their big day is absolutely precious. Congrats to Katy and Geoff!

At this point, I’m sure you’re thinking to yourself: this girl be cray. is she really allowed to call this a healthy living blog if she doesn’t, oh what’s that thing called? That’s right! Work out!! And, of course, my reaction to that is to curl up in to the fetal position clutching my animal crackers (that I dug out of the trash) and rock myself back and forth to sleep. Sounds like I might actually burn some calories doing that. Moving on – I didn’t work out for a couple days this weekend, but made it to the gym for a quick leg workout on Sunday evening.

Sexy Legs

I only had enough time for 1 set of this, a few minutes of running, and a few more minutes of stretching before I had to go get ready for a breakfast for dinner potluck that Meghan and I were having at our apartment.

We had LOTS of mimosas and LOTS of this delicious baked french toast that Catherine brought.

Potluck CollageFrom left: Drew, Jacque, Catherine, Meghan, and Laura.

This is obviously not the part of the blog in which I talk about how we made healthy choices when it came to our potluck dinner. We had very healthy options in the fridge, but opted for that killer french toast, bagels, and alcohol instead.

It was a great way to close out the weekend 🙂

-Rebekah

3 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

  1. Pingback: 19? Or 16? | fitnesscrEATures

Speak your mind!

