Getting back on track

So, during the holidays I think I managed to consume every last unnecessary calorie that I had avoided for the previous 11 months of the year. While I know that not EVERYONE indulges that hard, I know most of you did so I’m going to blame this one on peer pressure. Further, how can you realistically avoid eating an entire pecan pie in bed with your best friend in one sitting?? Come on.

Now that the holidays are more than over (it’s January 18 – they’re definitely over), I’m jumpin’ back on the paleo train. Really I’m running to catch the train, losing my breath, getting distracted by a squirrel or two, regaining my composure, grabbing the train with one arm, tripping over something…repeat…repeat…repeat.

Missedthetrain(Source)

So, that’s where I am. I’m eating as clean as I can, with the exception of a non-paleo meal mixed in every so often. My goal is to gradually minimize these indiscretions over the next couple months.

With that in mind, yesterday was a pretty paleo-rrific day. For breakfast, I made a couple over-easy eggs with some apple chicken sausage, grape tomatoes, avocado, and strawberries. It was pretty taste-y 🙂

Breakfast1

Obviously I just threw a bunch of random crap in my fridge on a plate and called it ‘breakfast.’ I know, I know – this meal makes me look like a highly esteemed cook. I really hate to ruin the ending, but I’m not. Blog over. The end.

After seeing that beautiful concoction, I know you can’t hardly wait to know what I had for lunch. Well, just take a breath or two, let the anticipation build, and allow me to show you just how uneventful it truly was.

LunchCollage

See? Listen, if you don’t get so excited right out of the gate, you won’t be disappointed the next time I post something this crappy. Just appreciate how pretty my arugula looks and don’t dwell on my stupidity. My salad also included raw cashews and free range chicken.

As mentioned, Meghan and I carpool to work pretty much every day. On our way home, we stopped at Trader Joe’s to restock our fridge. Here’s what our typical shopping trip yields:

ShoppingTrip

Question: What kind of bear is best? (Answer: black bear.) But seriously, here’s my question: what kind of loser precisely arranges all of her groceries on the counter so she can take a picture of them?? Don’t answer; it’s rhetorical.

After my nonsensical photo shoot with the groceries, Meghan and I went downstairs to check out our apartment gym. Since we just moved in, we haven’t really had time to take advantage of it yet. It’s about a 3 minute walk across the building and down some stairs to get there. That said, is it completely ridiculous that I almost went back inside, but instead whined the entire time (all 3 minutes) about how flippin’ cold it was outside?  I’m very dedicated to my physical health.

Workout Collage

First and foremost, I wanna give a shout out to the random dude behind me gettin’ it on the treadmill. You’re almost famous, man. Just a couple more appearances on this killer blog and you’ve made it.

I don’t know if you can tell, but both Meghan and I were feelin’ the green pretty hard last night. She walked into my room, looked at my shirt, and muttered “Is this serious??” In all actuality, she loves it; we match all the time, on purpose too. This just wasn’t one of those times.

In keeping with the theme, my workout consisted of the following circuit:

Green Circuit Workout

I had a really good workout and felt like I was finally getting back in to my routine. I’m looking forward to being super sore from this one. Hurry up, DOMS!

Dinner was tragic. I’m not going to show you how I WAY overcooked my salmon, so just trust that I did. I was a very sad bear. On the contrary, my brussels sprouts turned out quite nicely.

All right, well, this is way too much information for one post. K, bye.

-Rebekah

One thought on “Getting back on track

Speak your mind!

